We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B great sitting areas”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B great sitting areas”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here two nights on our European visit to mount blanc hiking. This was nicely located near the river so you could get your bearings. The rooms were good size nice areas to store things. Breakfast was delicious, even had eggs scrambled. Email ahead for gluten free bread. Didn't have any on hand. Nice fruit.
The bed was comfortable no fan in room but we didn't need it. The best was the sitting areas and game room with pool table ,fooseball table, books to read. Lots of couches tables and chairs to,play games. Computer to sign in at the airport. Croissants available all the time and a tea time in the afternoon 4-5:30 pm. Nothing I could eat but they had coffee and hot water for tea. Great views of the mountains from our room window and the front door. Nice pizza (local) right next door if it's pouring rain. You can buy multi pass at the front desk (for lifts)since you have to give a deposit. Worth it if you go up to après du midi and back and anything else.
Also have free transportation cards at the desk. Very nice family with giant Saint Bernard dog. They have a elevator but you still might need to carry 10 steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    213
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
104
272
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a very large apartment which allowed my wife, daughter and myself to each have a separate room. Although we had views of the carpark, we also could easily see some spectacular mountains out our windows. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, and the entire apartment appeared to be brand new. My wife, my picky 12 yr old daughter, and myself all loved this apartment and it helped make Chamonix the best part of our 2 week stay. All cooking utensils and stove, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker allowed us to cook meals at the apartment. The staff was very friendly in my opinion and there was a free afternoon tea, as well as an indoor climbing wall and some stationary bikes. All of us thought this was a fantastic place to stay. I would consider the poor reviews not representative of the great majority of people who stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baybee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a spacious room with sofa bed and balcony and beautiful view of snow capped Mont-Blanc. Location was perfect…only 1 block off of old town. Easy walk to gondola and train but may want to consider taxi if arriving by train and pulling a suitcase. If arriving by car, car park outside hotel is convenient and free. Can walk to everything once settled in. Breakfast was generous buffet at typical European price of 12 euro. Afternoon tea was nice and staff was both helpful and delightful in answering questions, recommending restaurants, practicing our French, and in talking with them about area. We were glad we chose Hotel de l’Arve and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is great in all asspects, the size, the staff, the location and the value. i stayed for 4 nights in the apartment building and it was very great duplex apartment. it just needs a washing machine to be top perfect.

thanks goes to all the great staff of this hotel, they are very helpful and welcoming. definitely i will come back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desert_legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked an apartment nearly a year ago, thinking this would be a great way to spend time in Chamonix, a view of the mountains & the river, with a kitchen & room to spread out. However, on arrival we were informed that the apartments are at the rear of the hotel & your main view is of the carpark and the front of the hotel. We had one where the bedroom, bathroom etc was in a basement, not unlike being in a bomb shelter. The only view from down there was of the car wheels. It was very claustrophobic. That was not the worst part, more was to come. When someone moved in above us, they must have been playing musical chairs, as the scraping noise of the chair legs echoed throughout our apartment, it was impossible to get to sleep without earplugs. This went on when the apartment beside us was occupied. Sheer hell. Management, please note, put felt pads on each chair leg in all apartments asap.
The apartment itself was quite comfortable, except the professional designers must not have been involved, as the bedroom & shower are downstairs, but the toilet is upstairs in another bathroom, up a steep creaky set of timber stairs.
Very disappointing that although we booked almost a year ago, they chose to give us the worst apartment.

Room Tip: Don't choose a lower level apartment, stay in the hotel facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainerkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor,
I understand your disappointement following your stay as it seems that there has been a confusion and we missed explaining you properly the setting of the apartment at the time of your booking, I do apologize about this,
You have booked a standard apartment, all our 3 standard apartments are located on the ground floor with a basement room. Only the superior and comfort apartments are above.
We did give you the most spacious of our standard apartment (69m²),
Professional designers have been involved in the construction and did highly recommend us NOT to install a toilet in the downstairs'bathroom. It needs a water pump and having a toilet connected to a water pump causes many problems (it is very often blocked).
I do take good note of your remark concerning the noise of the chairs from other apartments and I will put felt pads very soon. Thanks about letting us know as we did not have a remark before and this can be an easy improvement.
I think that one of our superior room with a Mont Blanc view and a balcony in the hotel might have suited your expectations better...we could have proposed it to you if we had known you did not enjoy the apartment.
Make sure that we pay high attention to your comments and will be very careful about the description of this apartment,
Warm regards,
Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed three nights in the Hotel de l'Arve early June. Nice room with views of Mont Blanc, friendly and helpful staff, The hotel is conveniently situated within a couple of hundred metres of all the restaurants and an easy walk to the Gondola etc. Good Wi-Fi and excellent parking. Our only minor comment (which is not restricted to this hotel) is that it would be nice to have a refrigerator so one can freeze ice packs or bottles to keep items cool - it was quite warm during our stay. A good value hotel

Room Tip: Room 39 was very good - great views and small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is in the center of the city with parking in their own lot in front of the building. The river and Mont Blanc were right outside our balcony. The staff was excellent. The room was nicely done with a decent bathroom, although the towels were a bit thin. It was very clean and comfortable. The price was great and included an afternoon tea. The cable cars for Mont Blanc were a few minutes walk from the hotel. Many restaurants and shops nearby. A nice hotel and a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HisRegalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing