We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
318
256
38
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
256
38
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews climbing wall river view mont blanc rushing river helpful with directions free bikes good size bedroom apartment excellent location hotel breakfast star hotel games room wi fi centre of town private parking four nights lobby area
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here two nights on our European visit to mount blanc hiking. This was nicely located near the river so you could get your bearings. The rooms were good size nice areas to store things. Breakfast was delicious, even had eggs scrambled. Email ahead for gluten free bread. Didn't have any on hand. Nice fruit.
The bed was comfortable no fan in room but we didn't need it. The best was the sitting areas and game room with pool table ,fooseball table, books to read. Lots of couches tables and chairs to,play games. Computer to sign in at the airport. Croissants available all the time and a tea time in the afternoon 4-5:30 pm. Nothing I could eat but they had coffee and hot water for tea. Great views of the mountains from our room window and the front door. Nice pizza (local) right next door if it's pouring rain. You can buy multi pass at the front desk (for lifts)since you have to give a deposit. Worth it if you go up to après du midi and back and anything else.
Also have free transportation cards at the desk. Very nice family with giant Saint Bernard dog. They have a elevator but you still might need to carry 10 steps.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a very large apartment which allowed my wife, daughter and myself to each have a separate room. Although we had views of the carpark, we also could easily see some spectacular mountains out our windows. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, and the entire apartment appeared to be brand new. My wife, my picky 12 yr old daughter, and myself all loved this apartment and it helped make Chamonix the best part of our 2 week stay. All cooking utensils and stove, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker allowed us to cook meals at the apartment. The staff was very friendly in my opinion and there was a free afternoon tea, as well as an indoor climbing wall and some stationary bikes. All of us thought this was a fantastic place to stay. I would consider the poor reviews not representative of the great majority of people who stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baybee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a spacious room with sofa bed and balcony and beautiful view of snow capped Mont-Blanc. Location was perfect…only 1 block off of old town. Easy walk to gondola and train but may want to consider taxi if arriving by train and pulling a suitcase. If arriving by car, car park outside hotel is convenient and free. Can walk to everything once settled in. Breakfast was generous buffet at typical European price of 12 euro. Afternoon tea was nice and staff was both helpful and delightful in answering questions, recommending restaurants, practicing our French, and in talking with them about area. We were glad we chose Hotel de l’Arve and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is great in all asspects, the size, the staff, the location and the value. i stayed for 4 nights in the apartment building and it was very great duplex apartment. it just needs a washing machine to be top perfect.

thanks goes to all the great staff of this hotel, they are very helpful and welcoming. definitely i will come back again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desert_legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked an apartment nearly a year ago, thinking this would be a great way to spend time in Chamonix, a view of the mountains & the river, with a kitchen & room to spread out. However, on arrival we were informed that the apartments are at the rear of the hotel & your main view is of the carpark and the front of the hotel. We had one where the bedroom, bathroom etc was in a basement, not unlike being in a bomb shelter. The only view from down there was of the car wheels. It was very claustrophobic. That was not the worst part, more was to come. When someone moved in above us, they must have been playing musical chairs, as the scraping noise of the chair legs echoed throughout our apartment, it was impossible to get to sleep without earplugs. This went on when the apartment beside us was occupied. Sheer hell. Management, please note, put felt pads on each chair leg in all apartments asap.
The apartment itself was quite comfortable, except the professional designers must not have been involved, as the bedroom & shower are downstairs, but the toilet is upstairs in another bathroom, up a steep creaky set of timber stairs.
Very disappointing that although we booked almost a year ago, they chose to give us the worst apartment.

Room Tip: Don't choose a lower level apartment, stay in the hotel facing the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainerkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor,
I understand your disappointement following your stay as it seems that there has been a confusion and we missed explaining you properly the setting of the apartment at the time of your booking, I do apologize about this,
You have booked a standard apartment, all our 3 standard apartments are located on the ground floor with a basement room. Only the superior and comfort apartments are above.
We did give you the most spacious of our standard apartment (69m²),
Professional designers have been involved in the construction and did highly recommend us NOT to install a toilet in the downstairs'bathroom. It needs a water pump and having a toilet connected to a water pump causes many problems (it is very often blocked).
I do take good note of your remark concerning the noise of the chairs from other apartments and I will put felt pads very soon. Thanks about letting us know as we did not have a remark before and this can be an easy improvement.
I think that one of our superior room with a Mont Blanc view and a balcony in the hotel might have suited your expectations better...we could have proposed it to you if we had known you did not enjoy the apartment.
Make sure that we pay high attention to your comments and will be very careful about the description of this apartment,
Warm regards,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews