We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely return to this hotel”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our experience at this property was excellent in every way. We were greeted by a friendly, caring staff. The sweet St.Bernard added to the atmosphere. Our room was a reasonable size and very comfortable. What made our stay particularly delightful was the sound of the rushing river water right outside of our room. The mountain views were also spellbinding. The sense of peace and tranquility when enjoying our balcony was memorable. Free on-site parking was convenient. Breakfast was good. It included more choices than typical morning French buffets. Since the property was situated near the town center, we had many nice dinner choices at restaurants that were only a five minute walk away. We plan to return to Chamonix next year and we will book this same hotel and even the specific room.

Room Tip: River and mountain view rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra-Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Centrally located, but quiet, with a yard on the river to relax in, we enjoyed our stay here. Highlights were the great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff, including Basil (hope the spelling is right), the St. Bernard.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RonHamilton_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the nicely located hotel close to the center. Room was very clean and charming, the breakfast much more extensive than expected and the people were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay in Chamonix very much.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel L'Arve, at the beginning and end of our Tour de Mont Blanc. Our room was directly over the river, with a lovely balcony facing Mt Blanc and the entire massif. The hotel features a great breakfast, will store bags if you are trekking, and offers a lovely garden setting on the river for afternoon drinks. The staff were very accommodating.

Room Tip: the river rooms are all terrific...you can open your balcony door and listen to the rapidly flowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a room on the first floor that opened to the terrace. The terrace was very nice; it overlooks the water and has great views of the mountains. The room and bathroom were a nice size and not cramped. There is a grocery store nearby (go to the mall via the garden off the lobby). This hotel is in a great location and serves a classy breakfast.

Room Tip: First floor with terrace access was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChoosyAtlantaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this hotel and its chalet atmosphere. They have complimentary tea/coffee and cake everyday from 16:00-17:30 and we enjoyed sitting and relaxing in their spacious living room/lobby. The room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located right next to a bus stop that will take you anywhere in the Chamonix valley. It is also near the city center but not in the middle of it so there is a quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed two nights. Very clean, great breakfast, hot eggs in addition to all the French breakfast items, cheeses, cold cuts, fruits, breads, cereals, yogurt, croissant, hard boiled eggs. Kept our luggage in storage after we checked out. Very helpful and kind by keeping an ice pack for a leg injury frozen. Didn't mind getting it or returning it to freezer multiple times over 2 1/2 days. No attitudes, nice people. Parking, Wi-Fi, convenient location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dst2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £62 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing