We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place on the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place on the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wonderful place to be while enjoying Chamonix. View of river from our large-feeling room was great. Nice people at reception: able to be helpful even though our French is poor, their English was great. The breakfast buffet was ample and yummy. Having a bar downstairs is nice, although we did not use it. The hidden gem is the grocery store in the "mall" right next door. This was great as it POURED down rain a bunch on our 2 August days there. Restaurants and Chamonix shops are all walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWesterbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    202
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
98
253
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

stayed for one night at the end of our Tour du Mont Blanc trip. The hotel is just in the center of town, close to everything. The room, staff and breakfast were all great. The price was very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Hotel l'Arve is perfectly located in the centre of Chamonix, next to the river that gives it the name and with excellent views to the towering peaks of the Aguille du Midi and others. Very friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms and an excellent breakfast choice make this hotel the perfect place to stay in Chamonix. And it is within easy walking distance of the three main attractions, the train up to Montenvers and the cable cars to Le Brevent and the Aguille du Midi. I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river as these have the mountain views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCostigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I returned to Chamonix for holidays after 40 years of absence with a 23 yold son. I really enjoyed staying in this small boutique hotel which can provide this friendly almost family chalet warm feeling. Although we stayed in summer, we enjoyed the wooden panelled walls in the different spaces at the entrance level. I recommend the buffet breakfast every morning (12 euros) in the restaurant room opening on the Mt Blanc chain of mountains to share the friendly feeling of starting your day with guests from all around the world for the same quality of life. I miss the selection of local soft cheese and crude ham... Our room was very nice, not so big, but opening on the mountains with the same "house" feeling. Very clean, no noises, nice beds, nice dreams.

Room Tip: The Arve river side is also the Mt Blanc mountains chain one. Can be noisy, the river, which is act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
288 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our experience at this property was excellent in every way. We were greeted by a friendly, caring staff. The sweet St.Bernard added to the atmosphere. Our room was a reasonable size and very comfortable. What made our stay particularly delightful was the sound of the rushing river water right outside of our room. The mountain views were also spellbinding. The sense of peace and tranquility when enjoying our balcony was memorable. Free on-site parking was convenient. Breakfast was good. It included more choices than typical morning French buffets. Since the property was situated near the town center, we had many nice dinner choices at restaurants that were only a five minute walk away. We plan to return to Chamonix next year and we will book this same hotel and even the specific room.

Room Tip: River and mountain view rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra-Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, but quiet, with a yard on the river to relax in, we enjoyed our stay here. Highlights were the great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff, including Basil (hope the spelling is right), the St. Bernard.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RonHamilton_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the nicely located hotel close to the center. Room was very clean and charming, the breakfast much more extensive than expected and the people were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay in Chamonix very much.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing