We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chamonix - Breathtakingly beautiful”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2011

we stayed here for a week in January 2010 and feel in love with not only Chamonix but also this charming hotel, welcoming and very friendly staff, great sized rooms and excellent value for money. Make sure you ask for a Mont Blamc view, its worth it!! Loved the town and this hotel so much we came back in the Spring to see it again ...all the way from Australia!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed a night here after a week in a chalet and very happy with it, will definitely stay again. The rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated and have lovely views over the mountains, the staff were friendly, the small fitness centre had a lovely sauna. Overall it is really superb value. Ask for a room on the Mont-Blanc side if possible.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meleze74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Scratchy blankets on the bed was about the worst thing about this budget hotel in central Chamonix. It was the type of place where you get what you pay for - small, centrally placed hotel right on the river, serving a satisfactory buffet breakfast. Our room seemed to be near the main down pipe for everyones toilets which did make it a bit noisy during the night, but the staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful. Good value for money in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelclicktv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Stayed in lots of hotels in Cham' and this was our third stay at this place. It never lets us down. Whilst it's only '2 star', it has everything you need for a value for money stay in the town.

It's well placed, for the centre and all the key amenities within the centre are within walking distance. However, it's sufficiently tucked away to feel like its away from the hustle and bustle. It's clean and homely with helpful (albeit sometimes surly looking) staff.

It hasn't got all the bells and whistles of some of the other hotels, such as swimming pools and huge bar areas, but if you're looking for a hotel with stuff like that in a town like Chamonix, you're nuts. That said, the 'gym' it boasts is crap. The town itself has more than enough going on to mean you won't be bored for the time you're actually in the hotel.

The breakfasts are also superb and it has free, onsite parking, that doesn't involve any complicated shinanigins, which is helpful in Chamonix.

In a nutshell, the best value for money hotel in town by far, in summer, or winter.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattCarolineUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

If you are looking for a "full service" four star hotel as you would find in a large city, this is not for you. If you are looking for a hotel that perfectly matches the informality and friendliness of Chamonix, then L'Hôtel de L'Arve is probably going to appeal to you. It is a relatively small hotel and has a small staff (the staff that serves the breakfast is the same staff that cleans the rooms). Its location is ideal - not on the main street but only a few feet down a private drive and right on the river - a 5-minute walk to the center of town. Nearby is a complex where you have a laundromat, restaurants, shops, a grocery store, and a hotel that caters to tour groups. I would recommend that you request a room that faces Mont Blanc - not only for the view but also for the riverside location - the sound of the running river and the cool breeze from the glacial stream make sleeping just more pleasant! The breakfast is good - boil your own eggs, choose from a variety of breads and croissants, juices, cereals, cheese and cold cuts plates, yoghurt - something to please everybody. There is also Internet access available just off the lobby.
I have stayed here several times in the the past 10+ years and have never been dissapointed. I have also recommended and booked the hotel for clients who have returned with stellar recommendations and comments about the hotel. Again - this is not a 4-star hotel - and it doesn't advertise itself as such.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim4thetravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

A few minutes walk to the Savoy ski lift, connecting to the Planpraz cabin lift. Bus stop just around the corner, frequent free buses to all lifts, train station etc.
Very central and yet quiet. Friendly people, cosy, old-fashioned lobby&bar, excellent restaurant.
We payed 106 euro's for a superior room (with an extra sofa and sufficient space, view on Arve river and mountains) plus 10 euro's p.p. for a satisfying breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredP_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I fell in love with Chamonix and part of the reason was because of our stay at this little B&B. When we turned the corner to see the B&B both of us just smiled as it was just as warm and welcoming from outside as it was inside. It was warm, cosey, welcoming, central, clean and very reasonably priced. When i return to Chamonix i will most definitely return to Hotel de l'Arve. Breakfast was only 9 euro and was far superior to breakfasts that we'd been paying 16 euro for elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathomso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £66 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing