We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Valle Blanche offered us a great rate for a multi-day stay after we hiked the TMB. The friendly staff referred us to a laundry (much needed) and were generally very helpful. Breakfast was a nice buffet with good cappucino's. Our room overlooked the river and had a bathtub with a window that looked out to an incredible view of the mountains. What a treat after hiking! The room was large and we were able to get English BBC. A great stay and recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnuAKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice experience of a hotel that is near all the interesting attractions in Chamonix. The room was having a view over the river in the back. The room itself was humble yet the hotel was nice and cozy.

Room Tip: river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abusaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We only got to spend one night at the Vallee Blanche, but we enjoyed our stay a lot. It was the biggest room that we had in our 2 week trip to Europe. The location, like everyone else has said, is amazing, right in the mix of everything, and our room was right on the river so we fell asleep to the mountain water rushing through town. The room was nice, but the bathroom needed a little TLC. The staff was really upbeat and friendly. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mro888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Went to Vallee Blanche over christmas 09. this is an great hotel. The quality of the food was excellent even my fussy daughter cleared her plate every night!! Location wise i can fault it, about 50 yards from the lifts and same to the centre of alpe d'huez. booking up for next year!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki78Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The hotel posts a 3 star rating but it is more of a 2 star. It is in an old building with no safety exit in case of a fire. The rooms are not very clean and the beds are not comfortable. The breakfast is charged an extra Euro 10, is not worth half the amount. Chamonix is a high touristic area however and in general restaurants and hotels lack customer service and servers have a very indifferent to sometimes abnoxiuos behaviour if you dare to ask for a different table. The streets in Chamonix are filled with dog poops and most dog owners do not pick-up after their dogs. It is a pity in such a charming natural place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Not a fabulous hotel, but clean and excellent location. Friendly staff. We didn't try the breakfast. Probably a good value of Chamonix. We stayed here for the Mont Blanc marathon and the hotel is practically within site of the race start, which was incredibly convenient. No parking for the hotel, but parking was available in a reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CarlaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

I booked this Hotel from a recommendation given by the Tourist Info in Chamonix. Not having stayed in Chamonix before I was at a bit of a loss as to where to book especially due to the diverse nature of what was needed. The trip was planned to celebrate my Wife's birthday (a significant one!) and I needed accomodation for a group of about 14 friends, some excellent skiers, some never ski'd before. The mix of rooms was also tricky (singles, doubles, triples) as it was difficult to get confirmation on who was coming - the hotel were excellent pre-booking, very helpful and patient (Valerie answered Emails promptly - I later learned Valerie is the owner). They also helped with local recommendations for lunch and dinner bookings.
When we arrived we were able to check-in early and the man on reception (Désiré) called and confirmed all the local eatery reservations I had made as a matter of courtesy (very useful as my French is very poor). The rooms were exactly as you'd expect from a mainstream hotel in a ski resort (i.e compact) but well furnished, clean and in good condition. We had read reports on Trip Advisor that the breakfast wasn't up to much and at 10Euro per person per day extra we were prepared to be eating out, however we booked breakfast early for the first day so we could get out on the slopes without the hastle of finding somewhere else. We were pleasantly surprised, a slelection of different fresh breads, fruit, yogurt, cereals/museli, bacon and scrambled egg, the only criticism, and it's a small one, was the coffee wasn't up to much - put it this way, we had breakfast there every day.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for a ski trip. It is right in the heart of Chamonix (so a walk to either of the main lift stations) and Désiré will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#27 of 73 in Chamonix
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
#30 of 73 in Chamonix
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Vallee Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Vallee Blanche

Address: 36 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £128 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Vallee Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Vallee Blanche a ete renove fin 2013 afin de vous garantir une qualite de service irreprochable. Bienvenue au coeur de Chamonix, sur les rives de l'Arve, ou l'hotel Vallee Blanche vous accueillera toute l'annee, dans une ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale. Cet ancien moulin du XVIIIe siecle a su garder tous les charmes d'un etablissement cosy, familial, a l'atmosphere montagnarde tout en proposant dans ses 26 chambres dont certaines pouvant accueillir 5 personnes et 2 chambres handicapees, un confort 3 etoiles moderne. Sa facade rose, en bord de riviere, s'elevant devant le Mont Blanc, en fait une des vues les plus photographiees au monde. Vous la reconnaitrez souvent dans les guides touristiques de Chamonix... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la Vallee Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vallee Blanche Hotel
La Vallee Blanche Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing