We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Locted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is our second visit to the Vallee Blanche. This is a rustic,but lovely little hotel in the very middle of Chamonix. Perfectly located for walking to restaurants and shops, also the tram up to the Mer de Glace and the Aguille du Midi. The rooms are cozy with armoires, good beds and clean bathrooms with heated towel racks. The staff is friendly and very accommodating, offering to walk our dog in the event we were out for longer than expected. The hotel is located directly on the river Arve, making it very picturesque in the snow. An adequate breakfast is served in the downstairs dining room overlooking the river. The restaurant and bar are open in the evenings; however, we ate outside the hotel and cannot review the restaurant. This is a very good value for a family outing.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the nicest with large windows overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

While the staff here was sweet, and the place itself is quite charming, the level of noise both in and especially outside of the hotel was unbearable. I suppose the windows must be thin, because when people were going to and then leaving from the local bars, it sounded as if they were passing right through our room, and we were on the top floor. We actually had to go and buy ear plugs to try and get some rest.

Not helping matters was the fact that on Sunday, the staff was loudly vacuuming and banging into walls at 9am, waking us up after we finally did get to sleep.

Again, cute spot, but not very restful at all.

1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

On arrival to the hotel we were very impressed by the location of the hotel. Literallly a 30 second walk from the centre of town with lots of great bars and restaurants.
We had booked 2 double rooms over the Christmas period for 1 week and were given rooms on the 1st floor. Both rooms were a decent size and had nice views of the mountains and the river which ran through the town, however for a better view, a higher floor would be required. The bathrooms looked a little tired, but showers etc. all worked to a high standard. The rooms also all had pretty and unique furniture which had been hand painted, which was a nice touch.
The staff at the hotel were always friendly and gave good advice on where to eat, ski, as well as how to get buses. They also gave us great discount passes for ski hire and transportation.
The bar downstairs was great and reasonably priced, we often came back here for a drink or two. However with our rooms being on the first floor right over the bar, music was played until 1am (and on some nights until 2am) and this could easily be heard in our rooms. So a higher room would be beneficial if this would bother you.
Overall the location of the hotel is great, and well worth the money paid. The friendly staff and nice decor also added to our positive experience whilst staying in Chamonix at the Vallee Blanche.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasidegeordie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Vallee Blanche is perfectly located for access to central Chamonix township right on the river across from the main restaurant and shopping strip and 5min walk to the shuttle bus and train station. The rooms are spacious with natural light (we shared a twin room overlooking the river on Level 3) with a mini bar, safe and modern bathroom and fresh towels provided daily. The hotel is older but absolutely comfortable with hydronic heating and openable windows.

We stayed for 11 nights during the pre season so the hotel was quiet and very relaxed. Alex (owner) and Désiré (manager) were so helpful throughout our stay recommending places to eat, hire gear, transport, weather info etc. We couldn't have felt more comfortable or better accommodated for. The breakfast was good value with full range of hot and cold options at a set price.

All up, for location, friendly atmosphere and rooms at a reasonable price I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying two nights in Chamonix earlier this month, and I'm very glad I chose Hotel la Vallee Blanche. The location was perfect, with our room overlooking the river and just a short walk to the lift (the Aiguille du Midi cable car). We had no problem finding parking nearby, as well as excellent restaurants and a grocery store.

The staff were very helpful and kind at check-in and at any other time we had a question or request.

Our room was of good size with large windows to let in sunshine, fresh air, and the wonderful views. The bed was supportive and comfortable. Our bathroom was spacious and the shower had good water pressure. The decor was homey and what I would call "Swiss Mountain style".

We did not have breakfast at the hotel, instead we chose to make use of the nearby market and bakeries. We did have drinks and dinner at the restaurant of the hotel our 2nd night and the food was very good and service was attentive.

The only suggestion I would make is to perhaps update the hallways a little, they are in need of a spruce. Also the bathroom floor in our room had some cracks, but these are just cosmetic touches. I want to stress I was very happy with the overall comfort of our room, and the convenience of the location. I will recommend Hotel la Vallee Blanche to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoffeeHound58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Excellent location close to the centre of town, as convenient as Chamonix gets with some lifts (just about) walkable and busses nearby. Rooms are fairly basic but perfectly adequate. Breakfast pretty good; pleasant enough "Irish" pub on site, but no noise issues in the rooms. Front desk staff very accommodating and helpful. Overall a pretty strong option for the money in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy_abstentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved this hotel. Our room was on the side of the river and it was wonderful to hear the water gushing by. It also helped keep the room cooler during the day and night. Breakfast was very good.

Loved the quaint furniture in the room and the bed was very comfortable. If we go again this will be the hotel we stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room if you like listening to river sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolverineRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#28 of 73 in Chamonix
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#16 of 73 in Chamonix
515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Vallee Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Vallee Blanche

Address: 36 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £106 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Vallee Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Vallee Blanche a ete renove fin 2013 afin de vous garantir une qualite de service irreprochable. Bienvenue au coeur de Chamonix, sur les rives de l'Arve, ou l'hotel Vallee Blanche vous accueillera toute l'annee, dans une ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale. Cet ancien moulin du XVIIIe siecle a su garder tous les charmes d'un etablissement cosy, familial, a l'atmosphere montagnarde tout en proposant dans ses 26 chambres dont certaines pouvant accueillir 5 personnes et 2 chambres handicapees, un confort 3 etoiles moderne. Sa facade rose, en bord de riviere, s'elevant devant le Mont Blanc, en fait une des vues les plus photographiees au monde. Vous la reconnaitrez souvent dans les guides touristiques de Chamonix... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la Vallee Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vallee Blanche Hotel
La Vallee Blanche Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing