We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect venue for a weekend in chamonix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Vallee Blanche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect venue for a weekend in chamonix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

i chose the vallee blanche online for my first weekend in chamonix because it seemed like a good deal - and it delivered! only to find that remarkably, my boyfriend had stayed there 6 years prior, and said it was as good as ever. perfect central location, very convenient to the telecabine, parking, town center, restaurants, trail runs, etc. the managers are extremely friendly, pleasant, and helpful. the rooms are modern and clean with comfortable beds; i didn't hear a single guest, just the lulling sound of the river all night. we stopped at their bar for a digestif after dinner, and were sad to check out after 2 enjoyable nights. we'll definitely come back; this value can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabominator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    95
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
80
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just stayed at la Vallee Blanche for 2 nights over the Easter weekend.
We were a large group if friends of 42 so we took most rooms at this hotel. The hotel is right in the center of Chamonix. Perfect to go out in town.
We had a mezzanine room so plenty of space for the 3 of us.
The staff there were lovely and spoke English.
Breakfast was really nice with fresh bread, croissants and also a selection of cheese, ham, fruits and yogurts.
Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced compare to what you have to pay up the mountains!

There is a lift so perfect after a day on the slopes!

There is also a room where you can leave your ski/shoes.

All in all a great place to stay in Chamonix with a warm feel and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotinghamFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at la Hotel Vallee Blanche for one night end of March 2014 traveling with a married, eldery couple.

Check-in/Check-out/Front desk ++++
Arriving at the hotel, it would appear the booking made via hotels.com/Expedia only included one person. The member of staff at the check in desk (a man of Indian decent with perfect English, can't recall his name) was very friendly and described the price for a double room was the same but we would be charged €30 for the additional bed.

Rooms +++
We stayed on the fourth (top) floor with a mezzanine in room #42 accessed by a semi-modern single lift. Windows faced south had mountain view and the river running litterary outside the window below us. View of Aiguille du Midi (3842 m asl) was accomodated via skylight window in the mezzanine floor. We all slept well in comfortable beds. The interior was old fashioned, rooms had hand-made wooden furnitures, all clean and tidy. Room was equipped with flat screen-TV, fridge with mini-bar, a safe and a bath tub. The window blind on the mezzanine floor was beat down and was due replacement.

Internet +++
The hotel has free Wi-Fi internet, one hot spot on each floor and one in the reception/bar/restaurant. Speed is enough for browsing normal websites. Wi-Fi password displayed on a sign in the lift.

Breakfast +++
Continental breakfast buffet served for an additional charge included yougurt, a selection of different bread, cheese and ham, bacon and eggs, orange and multivitamin juice, tea and coffee, cereals and fruits, and was served in the bar/restaurant.

Parking ++
The hotel offers parking for six cars just outside the hotel. Street parking is free of charge in the village but free spots can be hard to find at times especially when arriving late at night.

Atmosphere +++
The hotel has a nice atmosphere. We were lucky not to experience the old british "pub atmosphere" which should be banned in this part of the world. Loud music was played from nearby bars and discotheques but wasn't really a problem, at least not from were we stayed on the fourth floor.

Services ()
There is a small spa and a restaurant, none of which were utilized and hence, no review given.

Location +++++
La Hotel Vallee Blanche is located just around the corned of the main square in Chamonix, ideal for visitors wanting to park the car and explore the village on foot whether for skiing (easy access to cable cars), shopping or apres-ski.

Returning customer +++
During my last visit, I stayed at hotel Gustavia, this was my second choice as Gustavia was fully booked.

Summary/Overall view +++
We were quite happy with our stay. However, I will probably look choose hotel Gustavia as my first choice again when returning to Chamonix (based on first experience with a spectacular mountain view which this hotel may also offer from rooms facing north.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great location, friendly staff, good bar with great happy hour , we had a really good room next to the river ; breakfast basic but just whats needed when you want to fuel up for a ski. Nice surroundings - best hotel weve been to in Chamonix and pretty good value for money ; highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boduzafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We use the Hotel Vallee Blanche for our clients who book on our trekking holidays in particular on the Tour du Mont Blanc & Haute Route. The feedback we have received from our clients this summer has been great... it has a fantastic central location, good facilities and friendly helpful service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montblanctreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

we stayed here for 11 nights, the service were great!! can't complain . But the magnetic key and the door was driving us crazy. The key was so sensitive that everytime it touched my phone, it stopped working. And the door was a bit hard to open .

The room is sorta small but had a great view with big windows.

Room Tip: we booked one with mont blanc view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The town was busy during our weekend stay, and that may have contributed to our disappointment with this hotel. We had too much street noise at all hours in our front-facing room, from passersby to motor bikes to trash collection early in the morning. In addition, we had a lot of noise from other hotel guests arriving late. The door to our room seemed to provide no sound barrier, and we felt as if we heard every word spoken in the hallway by other guests coming and going. The bed pillows were very thin, and overall, our room and the hallways looked rather worn and beat up. If you're driving, be aware that the hotel has only a few parking spaces. Street parking in front of the hotel is pay only with a two-hour limit during the day. There is some free street parking nearby, but we had no luck finding a spot despite 45 minutes of looking. We ended up parking in a free public lot beyond the train station, about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. This stay was part of a two-and-a-half week trip to France with many different hotels, and this was the only hotel that we would not return to. However, for activities in Chamonix, the location was very good.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#19 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Vallee Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Vallee Blanche

Property: Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Address: 36 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Vallee Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Vallee Blanche a ete renove fin 2013 afin de vous garantir une qualite de service irreprochable. Bienvenue au coeur de Chamonix, sur les rives de l'Arve, ou l'hotel Vallee Blanche vous accueillera toute l'annee, dans une ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale. Cet ancien moulin du XVIIIe siecle a su garder tous les charmes d'un etablissement cosy, familial, a l'atmosphere montagnarde tout en proposant dans ses 26 chambres dont certaines pouvant accueillir 5 personnes et 2 chambres handicapees, un confort 3 etoiles moderne. Sa facade rose, en bord de riviere, s'elevant devant le Mont Blanc, en fait une des vues les plus photographiees au monde. Vous la reconnaitrez souvent dans les guides touristiques de Chamonix... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel la Vallee Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vallee Blanche Hotel
La Vallee Blanche Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing