We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed central property with great staff and good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Mercure is superbly located in a quiet part of central Chamonix - so that you dont have tourist milling about on the street, but you can access all of that and more (shops, train station, high street) with a two minute walk! Full marks on location then.

The food served at breakfast and lunch was excellent and fresh. Great variety also. On the night I wanted room service and could not read the all-French menu card, a member of staff was very helpful in helping me find and select what i wanted. Speed of service was excellent and the portions were enough for two to share. Again, the food was fresh and tasty.

The rooms are not large but quite well appointed with basic amenities and the bathrooms are well proportioned. Hot water was available round the clock and that helped after time spent in the snow for sure.

Overall a great experience and one that I will remember well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main block, the one having the reception, the bar and the restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HindoostanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Sir,

We were please to read your message, first because it shows that you take time to comment your experience in the Mercure Chamonix Centre, and then because it means that we've managed to make your stay so pleasant.
I especially thank you warmly in the name of the restaurant staff who found your remarks about the quality of food so motivating and rewarding.

We hope that you will travel again to our beautiful mountains,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

We found this hotel clean and comfortable and very conveniently located for the town and railway station. Our room was very pleasant to stay in and the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PumpingPistons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your comment, so posiitive and encouraging to all of us.

We hope to have the pleasure welcoming you again in Chamonix.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Pluses: good bar, excellent breakfast, quite spacious room with a balcony and lots of cabinets
Minuses: quite far from the lifts (at least 10 min walk or unpredictable time by bus), ski room is unconveniently located, no signs of room service (maybe they have it but at least no menu in the room), reception desk small, so queues are quite often
The hotel needs refurbishment. Staff polite but not helpful in giving directions - we wasted a lot of time trying to understand how to navigate within the town - and the infrastructure of the village is very weird, so a precise advice on how/ where to go is essential, especially if you have only a few days

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shvedych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving this comment on our hotel: it is always pleasing for us to read that you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast and bar. It is as well very helpful to read about what was not so good, then we can improve ourselves. Sorry if the directions given by the staff were not precise enough, Chamonix is a small town, so usually people find their way quite easily: we will be more careful in the future.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here four night after extending our stay in Chamonix. We had stayed our first seven days at a catered chalet which just was not our cup of tea! We had a nice room overlooking the mountains with a balcony. No problems with noise. The train did come by at certain times but we were already awake. The bathroom had a tub which was nice to soak in after a long day of skiing. At night when the shades were pulled the room was very dark. We like to read and it made it hard. I do believe that there is one TV station that is English. The beds were comfortable and roomy. Plenty of space in the room to store bags. The hotel offers a ski storage downstairs.
The hotel is located near many shops and eateries, Bus stop is at the corner. Breakfast was overpriced and wouldn't recommend it. Not a lot of choices. Ask for a room in the main building. We did hear those rooms are better!
Overall, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building on the back side facing the the mountain.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I were supposed to stay at this hotel from Jan 20-21. I called on Jan 18 to request an early check-in as our flight would get us in at 7 am and we wanted somewhere to change and get ready to ski. I spoke to a girl on the phone and stated our name and dates of arrival. After some confusion, she passed me off to her manager. We were told all sorts of things, from "your stay of 6 nights" (no, one night) to "Is the name Jameson?" (no, not even close) to "we can't do anything because you booked on Expedia" (no, we booked directly through Mercure). I spelled our name and explained our situation multiple times in both English and French to the hotel, still to no avail. In the end, they admitted they could not find our reservation in the system, despite me having a confirmation receipt. After being told this, I panicked and booked another hotel in Chamonix, out of fear that we were not going to have a hotel. After a pleasant stay elsewhere, I found out that I had been charged $178 CAD by the Mercure for a stay we did not have, and for a reservation we were told did not exist! I've e-mailed the hotel and have not heard back, so now it's time to contact Visa...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank beachcomber09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January for 3 nights. We had stayed the previous year in a 2star hotel in the centre of chamomix and paid 100 euros a night less than this hotel, and the 2 star hotel was superior. The bedrooms are small and chilly. Balcony was a good size. Bath was not! Sadly a three quarter size bath. The breakfast was superb and so is the location, just by the railway station. The rooms were completely overpriced at 183 euros a night. Would not stay again. No tea or coffee making facilities and no English speaking tv channels. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

We thank you for the time you took to give your opinion on our hotel.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet all your expectations, and we note your comment about tea or coffee facilities in a room: this may be something added in the future. We are surprised that you did not find english channels on TV because we have several foreign channels.

We will anyway do our best to improve our services,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I had a rendezvous with some old friends we hadn't seen in about 5 years, and we had agreed to meet here at the hotel in Chamonix. We arrived after dark and left before sunrise. The only 'experience' we had of the hotel was the strangely laid out room (a single king size bed in a kind of "boxy" area flanked on the other side by another huge flat screen tv and two fold out beds posing as couches. We couldn't figure out why they'd ruin a perfectly good large sized room by breaking it up into smaller 'pieces' -- Oh, and one more thing -- the French really don't like English speakers. There wasn't a single channel we could find which was in English.

Room Tip: I guess I'd try to find out which were less "porous" than others, as I hear that you c...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear travellers,

We are sorry to read that our hotel did not correspond to what you expected. From what you write, it seems that you occupied a family room, with indeed a kind of separate area if there are four people in the room for them to have some privacy. As for the television, there are several foreign channels, including English of course. Our 24h/24 reception is there to help you if technical problems happen.

We would do our best to improve ourselves anyway, and hope that you will come back when visiting Chamonix again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel

Address: 39 rue des Allobroges, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#21 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £58 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing