We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 17 February 2013

at check in the front desk staff was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect english which made for a comfortable experience. our room (405) was clean and small but quaint and had a gorgeous view of the mountains. no complaints except the bed could have been more comfortable. the king size was literally two twin beds (not just box springs) pushed together with no mattress pad and only a fitted sheet and comforter. it was not exactly uncomfortable but wasn't what i normally experience at hotels. the location was very easy to find and the hotel also provided ski lockers free of charge which was terrific. the parking lot under the hotel was also convenient though a tight fit - i would not recommend if you have an suv. the train station was less than a block away and restaurants and bars were very close as well. my only wish was that the hotel had a hot tub as it's super nice to relax in hot steamy water after a day of skiing. overall a great stay for the price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debski_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear traveller,

We insist on thanking you warmly for this comment you took time to write and leave as an help for future guests and a means for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy that our staff and hotel met your expectations and enabled you to have great time here.

See you soon in the mountains of Chamonix !

Kind reagrds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a delightful last minute find and fantastic value. Good for children with a separate area for their beds. Great view of Mont Blanc and a wonderful balcony. Breakfast catered for all tastes and was well presented. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for all types of holiday as it is convient for shops, ski hire, the slopes and the bus which goes to and from geneva airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfire4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear guests,

Always a pleasure to read comments as this one !

If you found our hotel by chance last minute, we hope that you will have opportunity to come back on purpose, to enjoy another great stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Mercure Chamonix Centre mid Feb 2013. Having spent the last three years in Switzerland and Austria, this was our first experience with the French alps, and it was not a bad experience at all.

The reception service worked very well. Check in went smoothly and information was clearly given in english.

The rooms are big with a lodgy design, two tv's, comfy sofas and a great bed in a separated part of the room. The bathrooms were ok, but the drainage at the bath tub was not good leading to water flooding the floor and and the carpet outside.

The breakfast at this hotel is magnificent. You have all you can wish for, frensh pasteries, bread, cured meat, cereals, fresh fruit, fresh pressed orange juice and a chef cooking omelets, creps, eggs etc.

The dinner was in the same restaurant as the breakfast. First night (saturday) was a buffet. The food was good, but there was a hugh group of party brits shouting and screaming making the experience less enjoyable. Luckily they were not there the other nights! The other nights there wàs a la carte. The food was all over good, and being included in our halfboard I think this 3 course dinner was great value for money.

As we went skiing everyday we kept our skies in practical lockers in the basement. There are free busses taking you to all resorts, but to Brevent we spent 15 min walking with ski boots. Not too bad at all.

The hotel is in the middle of the centre, rooms had good sound insulation, so we slept well in the great beds every night.

The bar area was cosy but chilly if you did not manage to get the spot in front of the fireplace.

We would recommend this hotel, and hopefully come back at some point.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building and not in the older part on the other side of the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petterak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear guests,

In the name of all the staff , I would like to thank you for your detailed comment. It is very helpful for us (and for Trip advisor's readers as well) to get so precise reviews.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfast so great because we put great attention to our buffet.

We will be delighted that tou renew this great experience with us in the future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

this hotel is allmost in the middel of the town. Close to most of the shops and restaurants, and allso close but not walking distance to the ski areas.

The hotels superior rooms are very nice but remember to ask for the newly decorated rooms.

Nice but expensive breakfast.

The staff is freindly and efficient.

all in all a very nice stay

Room Tip: the newly refurbished rooms in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time spent writing this comment, because it helps us to improve ourselves constantly.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed Chamonix and your stay in our hotel.

We wish to have the pleasure to count you as one of our guests again in the future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Mercure is superbly located in a quiet part of central Chamonix - so that you dont have tourist milling about on the street, but you can access all of that and more (shops, train station, high street) with a two minute walk! Full marks on location then.

The food served at breakfast and lunch was excellent and fresh. Great variety also. On the night I wanted room service and could not read the all-French menu card, a member of staff was very helpful in helping me find and select what i wanted. Speed of service was excellent and the portions were enough for two to share. Again, the food was fresh and tasty.

The rooms are not large but quite well appointed with basic amenities and the bathrooms are well proportioned. Hot water was available round the clock and that helped after time spent in the snow for sure.

Overall a great experience and one that I will remember well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main block, the one having the reception, the bar and the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HindoostanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Sir,

We were please to read your message, first because it shows that you take time to comment your experience in the Mercure Chamonix Centre, and then because it means that we've managed to make your stay so pleasant.
I especially thank you warmly in the name of the restaurant staff who found your remarks about the quality of food so motivating and rewarding.

We hope that you will travel again to our beautiful mountains,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We found this hotel clean and comfortable and very conveniently located for the town and railway station. Our room was very pleasant to stay in and the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PumpingPistons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your comment, so posiitive and encouraging to all of us.

We hope to have the pleasure welcoming you again in Chamonix.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Pluses: good bar, excellent breakfast, quite spacious room with a balcony and lots of cabinets
Minuses: quite far from the lifts (at least 10 min walk or unpredictable time by bus), ski room is unconveniently located, no signs of room service (maybe they have it but at least no menu in the room), reception desk small, so queues are quite often
The hotel needs refurbishment. Staff polite but not helpful in giving directions - we wasted a lot of time trying to understand how to navigate within the town - and the infrastructure of the village is very weird, so a precise advice on how/ where to go is essential, especially if you have only a few days

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shvedych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving this comment on our hotel: it is always pleasing for us to read that you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast and bar. It is as well very helpful to read about what was not so good, then we can improve ourselves. Sorry if the directions given by the staff were not precise enough, Chamonix is a small town, so usually people find their way quite easily: we will be more careful in the future.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
875 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel

Address: 39 rue des Allobroges, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#18 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £93 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing