We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and under parr ski resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Over priced and under parr ski resort hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

After paying an inflated rate for a week during feb half term and being flippantly allocated a room that resembled a student crash pad over the road from the main hotel by a semi rude receptionist i was shock ed at the standard of poor service and accomodation On offer from this hotel. Do not expect anything other than basic over priced accommodation with poor service.

Another warning -at breakfast Do not ask for a cappuccino!!! - if you do - and the waiter brings you a milky cold sized espresso just smile and say 'merci ' as I made the mistake of telling him that a cappuccino is usually slightly larger than an espresso and he had a basil fawlty style fit at me with a tirade of French swear words I had not heard since secondary school, ha
If you have already booked bonne chance

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear guest,

Your opinion matters, that's why we thank you for the time you spent writing about our hotel.

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize: it is not at all representative of our standards.

We hope to have the opportunity to gain back your trust during another stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    303
    124
    53
    35
See reviews for
239
320
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect. Gorgeous views of the mountains and very quiet. The hotel was clean but there were minimal toiletries in the bathroom. The staff at the reception were rude and gave bad directions. Everytime we asked for help, they were either bad directions or they were not helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks for the time spent writing this comment: it helps us to keep our level of quality.

We are happy that you liked our beautiful mountains, and that you appreciated the location of our hotel.

We apologize if our staff did not manage to help you find you looked for in Chamonix. Be sure that we would improve this point.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Poor reception staffed by a 'out of state' girl who gave wrong direction, booked wrong restaurant and does not know the code to open the ski door from outside the hotel. Queue is long and she seemed to take forever to get things done. Nobody came to her help even when the waiting line is long.

Rooms are good sized but wifi erratic and unreliable, rooms are old with broken down fixtures etc.

Hotel location is good if you want to stay at the Chamonix town centre BUT it is extremely BAD if you go there for skiing as the walk to the ski bus stops is a distance away (500-750metre away) especially with poles, boots and skis on badly maintained icy pavements.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drlawrencesoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guests,

In the first place, thank you for your comment and the time you took writing it.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize about that. Our staff - even if busy in this high season period - takes good care of all our customers, spending time with everyone.
Be sure that we take your remarks into consideration to improve this in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity of winning back your trust during another trip in Chamonix,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix Mont Blanc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stay in many hotels and this was the worst reception service I have seen for a long time. Waiting time was long, staff seemed to think that was normal and service was indifferent when one finally got it. You really have to develop a process to have more staff available on reception when demand requires it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, thank you for the time you spent writing a comment on your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that the service did not fully meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies. In spite of the fact that February is indeed a very busy period, we ask our staff to take time with every guest, maybe that's why you found that waiting at reception was too long.

Be assured that we would do our best to improve this point in the future, so as to meet our guests' expectations, including yours.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

at check in the front desk staff was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect english which made for a comfortable experience. our room (405) was clean and small but quaint and had a gorgeous view of the mountains. no complaints except the bed could have been more comfortable. the king size was literally two twin beds (not just box springs) pushed together with no mattress pad and only a fitted sheet and comforter. it was not exactly uncomfortable but wasn't what i normally experience at hotels. the location was very easy to find and the hotel also provided ski lockers free of charge which was terrific. the parking lot under the hotel was also convenient though a tight fit - i would not recommend if you have an suv. the train station was less than a block away and restaurants and bars were very close as well. my only wish was that the hotel had a hot tub as it's super nice to relax in hot steamy water after a day of skiing. overall a great stay for the price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debski_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear traveller,

We insist on thanking you warmly for this comment you took time to write and leave as an help for future guests and a means for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy that our staff and hotel met your expectations and enabled you to have great time here.

See you soon in the mountains of Chamonix !

Kind reagrds,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a delightful last minute find and fantastic value. Good for children with a separate area for their beds. Great view of Mont Blanc and a wonderful balcony. Breakfast catered for all tastes and was well presented. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for all types of holiday as it is convient for shops, ski hire, the slopes and the bus which goes to and from geneva airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spitfire4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear guests,

Always a pleasure to read comments as this one !

If you found our hotel by chance last minute, we hope that you will have opportunity to come back on purpose, to enjoy another great stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Mercure Chamonix Centre mid Feb 2013. Having spent the last three years in Switzerland and Austria, this was our first experience with the French alps, and it was not a bad experience at all.

The reception service worked very well. Check in went smoothly and information was clearly given in english.

The rooms are big with a lodgy design, two tv's, comfy sofas and a great bed in a separated part of the room. The bathrooms were ok, but the drainage at the bath tub was not good leading to water flooding the floor and and the carpet outside.

The breakfast at this hotel is magnificent. You have all you can wish for, frensh pasteries, bread, cured meat, cereals, fresh fruit, fresh pressed orange juice and a chef cooking omelets, creps, eggs etc.

The dinner was in the same restaurant as the breakfast. First night (saturday) was a buffet. The food was good, but there was a hugh group of party brits shouting and screaming making the experience less enjoyable. Luckily they were not there the other nights! The other nights there wàs a la carte. The food was all over good, and being included in our halfboard I think this 3 course dinner was great value for money.

As we went skiing everyday we kept our skies in practical lockers in the basement. There are free busses taking you to all resorts, but to Brevent we spent 15 min walking with ski boots. Not too bad at all.

The hotel is in the middle of the centre, rooms had good sound insulation, so we slept well in the great beds every night.

The bar area was cosy but chilly if you did not manage to get the spot in front of the fireplace.

We would recommend this hotel, and hopefully come back at some point.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building and not in the older part on the other side of the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petterak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guests,

In the name of all the staff , I would like to thank you for your detailed comment. It is very helpful for us (and for Trip advisor's readers as well) to get so precise reviews.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfast so great because we put great attention to our buffet.

We will be delighted that tou renew this great experience with us in the future,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Address: 39 rue des Allobroges, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#21 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing