We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My room was in the main building so it was fairly 'modern' unlike what I had read in some other comments. The location was excellent and the view from the balcony was unbeatable. However, I do think that the check-in time was too late - 4 p.m.! Besides, the staff at the reception were not very helpful. And I have to agree with what some other visitors said. The hotel room was unbearably hot in the afternoon and when I asked if there was a fan, the receptionist just said 'non'. Period.

Please at least buy some fans and retrain your staff. They need to be a bit more courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazylump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

OK - so the positives first. The Mercure is pefectly located a stone's throw from the station and all the main action and lifts. If you lean out of your window, you can see Mont Blanc. We wanted a room with a bath, for that welcome soak after a day's hiking.

The rooms are OK, but we were very hot in mid-summer without air-con or fans. The decor is all wood and fabric. I have a thing about faux-fur stools and deep shagpile carpets - and these looked particularly insanitary. Both the bathroom basin and bath plugs failed; the former wouldn't keep water in; the latter wouldn't let water out. General housekeeping, cleanliness, toiletries/coffee-stuff replenishment was poor. The wi-fi was OK, but required tiresome re-registration (name/address) every four hours of use.

The most striking thing (apart from the thronging coachloads of package-tour Japanese literally packing the lobby area) was the lazy service. Too few staff, poorly trained. We had to fetch someone from the restaurant each morning for the Express breakfast in the bar. There was often no-one in Reception. We weren't surprised when our bill was a mess of overcharges, which they simply agreed to cancel since they had no idea what we had used.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The look of the hotel is very ,very nice from out side.The inside is a low 4 star hotel , rooms were very small even thought I book rooms for 3 persons. The view from the hotel by both sides were very good you see all the mountains of Chamonix. It is also nicely located and near from the town center which is a walking distance. Staff were nice and helpful . with larger rooms and a little bit of good service it could be a high 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The front desk staff is utterly useless & not helpful as they are clueless as to how to serve tourists, especially international tourists or someone who cannot speak French. The reception manager mr.clement is arrogant, unhelpful, racist and when forced to do things does it as if he is doing a favour. I stayed there with my family for 4 nights, and would have hated my stay there if I didn't get help from local information centers outside the hotel. Other things- I stayed in the new wing, it was summer time, in the absence of air-con, the hotel could not even provide a fan ( we have been to other places in Swiss, and with lesser 'stars' than chamonix mercure centre, which provided fans as it was a summer time). As a result, the room was extremely suffocating without a fan. If there is only good thing about the hotel, then it is situated right next to the railway station, but then this is a small place with many hotels within walking distance,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheethal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Craig_Tapper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

When we searched fir a hotel in Chamonix, we liked the this hotel on web. We were travelling with 2 of our kids. Therefore, we asked for a suite. Problem is, the "suites" are in a building accross the street from the main building and it has NOT been renovated. What you see on the web are the rooms in the main building which are a very good value. However, the suites still look like a room from the 80's...NOT GOOD! We complained and they offered us a room in the main building which are much smaller and no privacy for the adults...regardless, we accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

July 2013, Mercure Chamonix Centre

Yes, Mercure Chamonix Centre is better that Mercure. It is more than a convenient Accor hotel.
To start with Location: cannot think of anything better. Next to the train station, in the city centre, close to all restaurants and shops.
The view: cannot think of anything better. My room was overlooking the Aiguille du Midi. Impressive!
Breakfast: excellent. Eggs cooked to order, yoghurts, excellent coffee, charcuterie and fine cheese
Room: We've been upgraded to superior room: spacious, tastefully furnished, cosy
Parking: quite expensive (30 Eur /night), but there are free parking places not far from hotel; the receptionist was kind to explain me where and also provide a map.

Guess only negative is the lack of facilities. Was hoping for a swimming pool (as the weather was fantastic)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel

Address: 39 rue des Allobroges, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#21 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £63 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing