We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience!”
Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Based on the reviews I read on trip advisor, I was planning on staying at Auberge du Manoir during my trip to Chamonix, but the sheer experience with reservations has been rather disappointing. The executive/s has been very rude and displayed no signs of customer service. I wonder if anyone would want to stay at the hotel after this experience at the outset.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jayeeta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Responsable relations publiques at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

As discussed by email on October the 7th, we informed you that we had some problems with our phone line during the last week-end and that we apologized for the inconvenience. During our phone conversation the same day, we told you that we had unfortunately no more available rooms for the following saturday. In reply to the e-mail you sent after our conversation, we directed you towards two colleagues that could propose you an accomodation.

We thought we made all we could to help you with your stay in Chamonix and understand your disappointment of not staying in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great place to stay. Our room had an unobstructed view of Mont Blanc. Rooms are furnished nicely; lighting is great. Breakfast was a treat. Owners are friendly and helpful. Location is perfect; everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a wonderful three night stay at Auberge du Manoir - couldn't fault it for friendliness, location, delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, faultlessly clean. I would recommend the Auberge du Manoir to anyone staying in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ettenna1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks a lot for your comment :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely hotel! Staff and owners extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful Alpine design hotel inside and out. Rooms very well furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast fantastic - couldn't be better! No faults at all as far as we were concerned. We stayed 3 nights in 2 rooms and will happily return there.... except 2 of us are from New Zealand so unlikely to be back to Europe for some time. 5 star and priced accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013
Google Translation

Thansk a lot for your kind message !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We really liked this small hotel, clean, friendly and great views. The but is, they charge you for everything extra. After coming from Zermatt where everything was free, t,his was a shock. There was a significant charge for the hot tub, breakfast and they even refused to replace the coffee in the room after one day, and we stayed four.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for your message. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our establishment and the competence of our staff, which is important to us

Article 122-1 of the Consumers Act in France does not allow us to group sell, i.e. all services must be available for individual purchase. We cannot rent our rooms and insist that guests take breakfast, or rent our rooms and impose use of the Jacuzzi. On top of that, the VAT payable on room rates is different from that for use of the Jacuzzi, so we cannot include use of the Jacuzzi on the room rates.

All our rooms are equiped with welcome products. In high category rooms, we also propose 1 or 2 bottles of water, some tea and coffee in order to welcome our guests. For the rest of the stay, these drinks can be bought at the bar on the first floor of the hotel.

We sincerely hope that we have resolved any misunderstanding.

The hotel managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay, very friendly, very homely. Rooms were clean and comfortable with views of Mont Blanc. Loved the pastries with breakfast every morning. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdenJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for your comment! See you soon then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 5 day stay here and highly recommend the hotel. Lovely clean rooms, fresh towels everyday and beautiful breakfasts. Very friendly owners who made fresh yoghurt for breakfast. Great location close to town centre with beautiful views of Mont Blanc.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank To2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £71 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing