We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, good location and good facilities”
Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Day 1 of Haute Route and 1 night only. The hotel is just off the centre of Chamonix, provides a good level of service and rooms are spacious. Not overly priced but not a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Manoir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was absolutely perfect. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Chamonix and would definitely return.

Location - just a 5 minute walk into the centre of Chamonix.

Staff - the owners of the hotel were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing or intrusive

Accommodation - a really pretty hotel with very clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast room had everything you could need with the opportunity to boil your own eggs exactly how you like them! There is absolutely nothing I would complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank showdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

A very cute place on the edge of the town centre. All the rooms have views of the mountains which I guess is the same with every place in Chamonix though. :-) The rooms are nicely made up and we thought we were in a "Heidi" movie. :-)
The personell wasn't terrible good at English and our French was even worse, still that wasn't really a problem.
Breakfast buffet was big and good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everton73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

It is misleading to see that the property is closed for renovation. As a previous reviewer has stated it is very much open for business. The bedroom was spotless, the linen crisp and fresh and the shower amazing. The breakfast was also first rate with quality produce and copious enough for anyone. It is also quiet and centrally located. How many hotel owners will encourage you to look through a telescope at breakfast to watch the first climbers reaching the summit of Mont Blanc? Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marmot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Stayed only one night at Auberge du Manoir, Mother's Day in France. The rooms are exceptionally well decorated, spotless and every detail considered. We had the two end rooms with 180 degree views of Mt. Blanc, Agui du Midi and the Bossons Glacier. Even though the weather was drizzly, the clouds parted often and we were treated to dazzling views. The owner and his wife met us at the door, were very kind about our early arrival and assisted us with finding a great place for raclette that evening. We had a beer in the lovely bar adjoining and leafed through some Chamonix guides while the resident Golden Retriever curled up at our feet. Access to the Hotel is simple, particularly if you are coming from the Mt. Blanc tunnel. Amazing experience, warm French people who genuinely care for your happiness. We had three ladies, one just turned 15, in our group, and the owner presented them with a lovely fuzzy teddy bear as we were departing. We will be back, for a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKKayaker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

A perfect retreat in Chamonix. We booked Auberge du Manoir after having read all the great reviews and were not disappointed. Upon arrival, we received a very warm welcome from the Owners who have gone to great lengths to ensure their guests feel comfortable. We had a lovely suite that was squeeky clean with first class linen and special little touches - fantastic shower! Breakfast was perfect and is served in the dining area providing something for all tastes as well as appetites! You will be hard pushed to find better accommondation in this beautiful area of France. PS. I love my little Teddy Bear - a parting gift from the Owners. We hope to see you again very soon.
Rod & Chris Knight

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Auberge du Manoir
Chamonix-Mt. Blanc

Upon arriving at the Auberge du Manoir, we were welcomed by its delightful owners and their sweet golden retriever, Orgeat. The inn has been in existence and operated by the same family since 1987. Their recent renovations yielded a beautiful, charming place with high-tech touches to ensure guests’ comfort.

Our room offered a great view of Mt. Blanc through the windows and from the balcony. The room was large and very comfortable—great bed—and the bathroom contained a wonderful shower. We loved the décor throughout the inn and dining room. Speaking of the dining room, the breakfast (10€ per person) was well worth it. We feasted on assorted pastries, breads, fruit, cheeses, jambon, yogurt, eggs, and more.

The Auberge is located across the street from l’Ecole Nationale de Ski et D’Alpinisme and is about a 5-minute walk from the main streets (read touristy part) of Chamonix-Mt. Blanc. We enjoyed the inn’s proximity to the shops, restaurants and spectacular slopes, but appreciated being able to escape to a quiet, relaxing atmosphere.

The inn’s listing on Trip Advisor suggests that it is closed for renovation. Don’t believe this... they’ve finished the project. We stayed there in early April 2010 and it was quite open! We were very pleased to find this little gem in Chamonix. The town is typical ski-touristy, which can be fun until you want to rest. The Auberge du Manoir let us escape the crowds and enjoy the owners’ fine hospitality and the beauty of the mountains.

When you go, scratch Orgeat's ears for us and have a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques_Catier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £71 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing