We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Pleasant place to stay: location is very good (just near the pedestrian area), with a small shopping center around. The room we had was big, with a balcony (I really appreciate this option), with an excellent view to Mont Blanc peak. Quite good wireless internet connection but not as a free option.
Clean bathroom, with separate toilet.
We recommended to our friends so I would say it was nice to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoinar_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    169
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
205
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is an 8 story hotel right in the center of town. Very modern and up-to-date. Beautiful room with a balcony. Great new clean bathroom. Hair dryer. In-room safe. Refrigerator. You can get ice from the staff at the upstairs dining room. Really really nice large buffet breakfast. During ski season there is a whole other floor below for skis, boots, etc. No boots allowed in the hotel proper. Beautiful view of town from my room. Exc. color, flat screen tv. You can buy 24 hrs. of internet access for about $6.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Spent three nights at the Alpina in Chamonix. The location of the hotel is perfect, the view from the room of Mont Blanc is breathtaking, however the room needs badly updating. The separate toilet was tiny and together with the bathroom was covered in 1970's tiles. The hallways sported 'scuffed' wallpaper and smelt 'musty' it needs redecoration and updating, the carpets are stained and almost threadbare.
The staff were helpful and there was plenty of room for your car in the pre-bookable garage.
The cleaning staff were also pleasant and helpful. It's just that the hotel needs some money spent on it and completely updating the interior and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Neath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had read this hotel had been updated. Our room certainly had not been updated! Very basic with a tiny bathroom which clearly needed renovating. The public areas were a disgrace with stained carpets and grubby, shabby decoration which gave a very poor first impression.

We used the restaurant for one breakfast, never again. Very few staff, tables not cleared, food not replenished and coffee machines didn't work. Total waste of money, such a shame as the view was amazing. Didn't risk dinner!

Reception staff were not very friendly or helpful and as for the hotel bar, we never saw it open!

We have stayed in far better 2 star hotels in France offering lovely rooms, fantastic service and delicious food. Such a shame as the location is perfect and Chamonix is truly beautiful.

Room Tip: If I had to stay again I would ask for an updated room. For the best views you need a room at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smk911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Great center of city location with convenient access to shopping and grocery next door. Beautiful view of Mont Blanc! Average rooms -good size and average cleanliness. Great separate toilet. Stayed on Bastille night so loud due to much celebrating outside. Overall great value for that area. Receptionist very helpful with questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmeg77Indianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is located right in the center of this small mountain town. The rooms were spacious and clean; we had a balcony and awesome view to Mont Blanc. Food is excellent, the dining room again with a view. Staff was very professional and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here as part of an escorted bus tour. The view of mountains right from the hotel room patio/deck was incredible, as was the view from the restaurant/breakfast room. That was the whole draw for this hotel.

The room seemed old, tired, frayed,and was a little bit dark due to the wood covered walls, but at least wasn't too tiny or dirty. The best thing was the balcony. We took chairs from the hotel room out onto the balcony -- beautiful views! Bathroom was inconvenient: the toilet was in a separate room, or should I say closet? The shower and sink were in a separate room. Toilet room was very cramped and I am not a large person. Double bed and flat pillows. Everything seemed old and wel worn, but we slept well. Other than the not-s0-good breakfast, we had no complaints. But if we were staying more than one night, I would not want to stay there.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#49 of 73 in Chamonix
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing