We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tourist grade hotel with a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A tourist grade hotel with a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are clean. We had breakfast and dinner included in the price. We tried dinner 3 times. Once was just ok. The second time it was not edible, we left and got some food somewhere else. The worst was when we ordered a pork dish and were served a hamburger. The waiter just shrugged and did not offer anything else.
Breakfast is just average. Often the bread is a day or two old. Such a shame when the boulangerie is down stairs from the hotel


  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    168
    176
    102
    61
See reviews for
100
203
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for a short two night break. The room was basic continental style, with three in the room it was small but we weren't there for the venue but the location. As it was central there may be some noise - personally I found it ok, my room mate, a lighter sleeper, was disturbed. We took the half board option and I was very impressed - good five course meal, on the second evening we had the surf and turf ( you need to give notification that you will be deviating from the set meal), this was great, lots of choice with as much as you could eat! Breakfast was very good with a good choice.
The hotel is in a great location - a short walk to the gondola, and the valley bus picks up and drops outside the door. There is a small supermarket very close if you want to stock up on chocolate! The hotel has free use of a "spa" basically a sauna and jacuzzi - not the best but just right after a hard day on the slopes. The staff were very helpful, polite and courteous
Ski room and hire company in the basement which was handy. The ski school also visit every day if you need their services.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Just returned from a 3 night short break in Chamonix with my hubby. We flew to Geneva and used Chamexpress for the transfer to our hotel door. This worked out well, exactly as advertised.

The hotel was in a good central location close to town centre, shops, ski hire and ski bus stops. It was even in walking distance from one of the main ski lifts onto the slopes.

The bedroom was small but was clean and perfectly adequate for our short stay. It would have been improved with tea/ coffee facilities and more English speaking TV channels but they are minor gripes.

We were on a room only basis and did not use the breakfast buffet which was €14 per head. We did have the Surf and Turf 3 course buffet in the restaurant which was well worth the €25 per head. Check it out!

The hotel has a ski room where for a returnable deposit of €10 you get a padlock to secure your skis and plenty of space for boots.

We made use of the Garden Spa free facilities once. The sauna was lovely but the steam cabin was broken and the hot tub not so hot. Despite these problems we still spent a relaxing hour in there.

We paid about €89 per night booking in advance, but the hotel was quiet and advertising rooms from €69/75 per night.

I would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Alpina between Christmas and New Year. I had reserved another hotel outside of Chamonix because everything was so expensive. I was concerned about being "stuck" at that hotel as we did not have a rental car and it was along the highway before reaching Chamonix from Genenva. Our shuttle driver from Geneva offered to take us into Chamonix before dropping us back at the other hotel since he had another couple to drop in Chamonix, so we agreed. Their hotel was the Alpina. Smack dab in the in middle of the action and within walking distance to everything. There was a sign posted near the lobby door offering a rate MUCH lower than what I had found when reserving my hotel. I inquired at the front desk and got a room with a balcony facing Mont Blanc, plus breakfast for far less than I had reserved at the other, remotely located hotel. I quickly called the other hotel and was able to cancel with no penalty and we checked in immediately at the Alpina.

Yes, it's a tired hotel and in need of some TLC, but the staff were very nice and helpful, and the room was completely adequate, if old, but totally functional. We were extremely happy with our stay as we were able to walk out the front door and be in the middle of the shops and restaurants in literally just steps. The view from the balcony was awesome. There is a bus stop at the hotel to catch the free buses that run to all of the area ski lift points in the area. You cannot miss the ride up to Auguille du Midi on the cable car. We were there on a day with calm winds and crystal clear skies. It was breathtaking.

Again, the hotel is definitely not a posh 5 star resort, but the location is A++ and the accommodations we had were more than adequate. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djcrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Some of the reviews do not compare with my stay here. I have just returned from this hotel and found it to be very poor indeed. It seems that there can be large discrepancies regarding the rooms. Our room was tiny and extremely overpriced. We were being charged 5 star prices, presumably because of the time of year.
Although the reception area was clean and welcoming, the lifts and the floor we stayed on were awful. Carpets were very dirty. Worst of all the hotel allows guests to keep their very large dogs in the rooms which is a big turn off for me.
The breakfast was edible. We were also forced to take full board for our stay but it was so bad we availed of it on our first night only. In fairness, on checking out we brought this to the manager's attention and he didn't charge us. No problem with the staff to mention, quite helpful if called upon.
They also charged for internet use which I find very annoying.
Location wise it's great but all in all, very shabby and I wouldn't go back if it was for free!
This is the first time I've ever left a review of somewhere I've stayed, an indication of just how unpleasant it was.
Definitely visit Chamonix however, great place!!

Room Tip: Don't choose the 4th floor! Insist on a room with a balcony, think they may be bigger. Ask has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at the Alpina Hotel from 23 - 27 December 2011. We found the staff very helpful (going the extra mile to google places we wished to visit in Chamonix) and we were pleased with our room. We chose a superior room and had space to relax with a great view - as it appears all rooms have at the Alpina. We were particularly impressed with the food in the restaurant, which was varied and excellent. The location is fantastic, two minuted from all of the bars and shops in the centre of chamonix and opposite a bus stop to the ski areas.

We had a fantastic stay and would definitely consider returning. Chamonix is a beautiful town and we also got engaged during the holiday in a perfect setting.

Room Tip: possibly worth paying the extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesgi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here twice this year. It is clean and comfortable The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful. Location-wise it's fantastic and handy for everywhere in town. The spa and jacuzzi is slightly strange - and basic - so don't expect luxury - but price-wise it's very reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that over-look the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravels2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#56 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing