We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want to stay here!”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Trondheim
1 review
“You want to stay here!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel lived up to, and beyond, the expectations that we had! It is super sentral, most of the staff is helpful and nice and there is a very nice breakfast included! We arrived with a car, and there was no problem with the parking in the garage. All in all a very pleasant hotel experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marenids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    169
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
205
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June 2011. Beautiful season for chamonix. We had nice warm room. The best part about this facility is that almost every room has mountain view. The surrounding is scenic for a stroll in market along the canal. I would surely love to visit this town once again and would like to stay in same hotel and explore the town little more.
thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuneGirija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel's location- it is exactly opposite the bus stop for the ski buses which takes you to the various ski areas(makes lugging ski gear less of a chore) and just 20metres away is the start of the main thoroughfare for shops and restaurants! Hotel is convenient with a ski rental and storage area in the basement- another plus!

2 of us stayed end march/ early April at 119 euros a night with buffet breakfast included (brevent view, which i understand is smaller than mt blan view) Breakfast was decent with fresh juice, fruits, yoghurt, bacon, ham and eggs and various types of bread- for the variety I thought was great by French small town standards. the view at the breakfast restaurant was beautiful with a full view of the mountains.

Room was big enough for luggage and ski stash and had a balcony. Bathroom was clean enough, with a separate room for the w.c. Only the beds sagged in the middle a little. Otherwise no complaints. It is not the newest of hotels but decently clean.

It is a big enough hotel to have it's own bar in the lobby, which is nice enough and has live music on certain nights for après ski. There is a feel of security to the place- it is next to a main road, not at some back alley, so safe to come back late at night (Chamonix is generally
safe anyways).

Reception staff were helpful. Weather updates are posted in the lifts and at the front desk, showing which ski areas are open which was useful information. I didn't get a chance to check out the spa so no comments there.

The only downside was that we were on a low floor on the brevent side facing what we heard to be a good pub (called Mix) it was noisy at midnight which woke us up.

All in all a good experience, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapha_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Alpina for 4 nights on half board for a ski holiday. The Alpina was in a good location for access to Chamonix and the buses that go to Brevent and Grand Montet. The room was dated but clean and relativelty spacious compared with most of the chalet rooms we have stayed during ski trips. Where this hotel exceeds expectations is the restaurant, great view, great food. On half board you get the option of a set menu or a surf and turf which you cook yourself on a hot plate on the table. The spa does not look like much but I went in there for a 1/2 hour leg massage after a full days skiing and it was great... I went back the next day for another one.

Room Tip: Go for the 'Superior Room' which looks over Chamonix town centre (South), from the floor pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Right in the centre of Chamonix, rooms with great view onto Mont Blanc, good facilities and helpful staff. All very good value.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have great views. Brevent facing rooms are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowEasterBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just came back from Alpina. It is situated in the centre of town, surrounding by shops and restaurants. 10 minutes walk to easy slope (Le Savoy), bus stop just across the hotel that will take you directly to higher slope (Le Brevent).
The room was decent enough, old style but clean. It has enough space to store big luggage. Restaurant located on 7th floor with great view that not much restaurant in town has it. Great breakfast as well.
Definitely a place to stay in Chamonix.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikendayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Lets start with the strong points:

- Location, location, location.. Unbeatable since it is literally a few hundred meters aways from the main shopping street and SNCF / Montenvers train stations.
- Restaurant: Located on the 7th floor, it offers an AMAZING view on the Mont-Blanc mountain range and offers sufficient space so that you'll never worry to find any seats.. Breakfast offers a decent selection of pastries, fruits and warm meals. (Evening meal selection is quite limited but who cares, lots of restaurants within 5-10 min walk).
- Safe deposit .. big enough to accomodate 2 laptops
- For those that are interested in skiing: You can rent gear at the hotel
- Reception was sufficiently staffed and friendly.

What was not good:

- My room was on the 6th floor .. great as it is quiet.. except between 10 and 11 pm where every evening, you'll have extremely unpleasant noise of tables being moved around (realised that this was caused by hotel staff when restaurant closes). Avoid the 6th floor if you're planning to go early to bed..
- Room was alright and looked renovated (or at least well maintained).. but bathroom looked like it seriously needed to be refreshed (old tiles from the 70'.. and very, very small).
- Internet : They're charging 6 EUR .. per hour (?!?) Their "business center" .. is literally a desk, a printer and 1 PC .. and they're also charing 6 EUR / hour for that.
- Late check-in (4pm !).. although they agreed to accomodate me earlier.
- No aircon .. not an issue during my trip but certainly to consider during summer..
- Storage room is not really supervised .. although situated in front of the reception.. everybody walks in and drops/picks up luggage. However, they accept luggage with valuables to be stored in the reception itself..

Room Tip: Prefer high floor (to avoid noise from main street).. but avoid the 6th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#49 of 73 in Chamonix
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing