We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sovietic quality rooms”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    169
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
205
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Booked this hotel for a climbing trip, triple room with a view of Mont Blanc. Rooms could be classed as a tad dated but all in perfect order. Excellent breakfast, good underground parking accessed by a lift and extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Didn't try the spa but we were offered passes and robes. Very well located just off the main streets of Chamonix. Will go back for the ski season.

Room Tip: A mont Blanc view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieLloyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent balcony view of Mont Blanc 2 mins walk to the village centre. Rooms massive if a little dated but I just fell in love with the place. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive but no more than anywhere else.
Fantastic place and great value hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel lived up to, and beyond, the expectations that we had! It is super sentral, most of the staff is helpful and nice and there is a very nice breakfast included! We arrived with a car, and there was no problem with the parking in the garage. All in all a very pleasant hotel experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marenids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June 2011. Beautiful season for chamonix. We had nice warm room. The best part about this facility is that almost every room has mountain view. The surrounding is scenic for a stroll in market along the canal. I would surely love to visit this town once again and would like to stay in same hotel and explore the town little more.
thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuneGirija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel's location- it is exactly opposite the bus stop for the ski buses which takes you to the various ski areas(makes lugging ski gear less of a chore) and just 20metres away is the start of the main thoroughfare for shops and restaurants! Hotel is convenient with a ski rental and storage area in the basement- another plus!

2 of us stayed end march/ early April at 119 euros a night with buffet breakfast included (brevent view, which i understand is smaller than mt blan view) Breakfast was decent with fresh juice, fruits, yoghurt, bacon, ham and eggs and various types of bread- for the variety I thought was great by French small town standards. the view at the breakfast restaurant was beautiful with a full view of the mountains.

Room was big enough for luggage and ski stash and had a balcony. Bathroom was clean enough, with a separate room for the w.c. Only the beds sagged in the middle a little. Otherwise no complaints. It is not the newest of hotels but decently clean.

It is a big enough hotel to have it's own bar in the lobby, which is nice enough and has live music on certain nights for après ski. There is a feel of security to the place- it is next to a main road, not at some back alley, so safe to come back late at night (Chamonix is generally
safe anyways).

Reception staff were helpful. Weather updates are posted in the lifts and at the front desk, showing which ski areas are open which was useful information. I didn't get a chance to check out the spa so no comments there.

The only downside was that we were on a low floor on the brevent side facing what we heard to be a good pub (called Mix) it was noisy at midnight which woke us up.

All in all a good experience, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapha_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Alpina for 4 nights on half board for a ski holiday. The Alpina was in a good location for access to Chamonix and the buses that go to Brevent and Grand Montet. The room was dated but clean and relativelty spacious compared with most of the chalet rooms we have stayed during ski trips. Where this hotel exceeds expectations is the restaurant, great view, great food. On half board you get the option of a set menu or a surf and turf which you cook yourself on a hot plate on the table. The spa does not look like much but I went in there for a 1/2 hour leg massage after a full days skiing and it was great... I went back the next day for another one.

Room Tip: Go for the 'Superior Room' which looks over Chamonix town centre (South), from the floor pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#51 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing