We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weak Three star”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A weak Three star”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Disappointed in this facility..No real hot tub; just a small luke warm soaking tub. Not hot a all.

It is close to everthing. Did NOT like their in house ski rental shop. limited options. Food was plentiful but not distinctive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    169
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
205
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Heights, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Nicely located in the center of pretty much everything in Chamonix (the rating is mostly for the location). Here is a list of what I would find helpful about the hotel:

- Great breakfast buffet in the panoramic restaurant on the top floor. Amazing view of the mountains!

- Not the best WiFi connection in the rooms, but in the lobby, it's pretty fast! 2 Euros for 30minutes, 6 Euros for 24 hours, and if I recall correctly, 20 Euros for 7 days!

- The ski rental store offers a 15% discount for hotel guests and it's located in the hotel. Not a huge variety of the best equipments were available but the prices are good. The guy helping us was extremely friendly, generous and spoke good English.

- The hotel is very close to the Après-ski center (2-4 minutes away); bars, night clubs, restaurants (and McDonald's if interested). It's also very close to grocery stores and shopping areas.

- The bus stop taking you to the different mountains stop just in front of the hotel. That alone is extremely convenient. Different buses take you to different ski resorts (the name of the resort is written on the bus). The buses stop at different spots around the hotel (ask reception) depending on which resort you want to go to.

- Also, if you are planning on skiing at Brévent, you can WALK from the hotel up to the platter/button lift that takes you up to the gondola up to Brévent. If you take the bus, it will take you all around the mountain and it takes much longer. It's better to walk. Ask the receptionist to show you the way. They may not know because they told us that we needed to take the bus, but we asked the locals and they showed us how to walk there instead.

- The best and the closest bar to the hotel is the "Mix Bar". It had amazing music and a good crowd if you're into house/electronic music. And the little place next to it, called "L’ANNEXE" has THE BEST burgers ever and it's open late (around 2-3AM).

- On the weekends, or maybe just Saturdays, outside of the hotel, there is a Farmer's market with a HUGE variety of cheeses, breads, honey, meats, fruits, flowers, and everything else you can think of. A fun experience....super French!

- The spa at the hotel is good too and available to all guests. The jacuzzi smelt funky to me so I didn't enjoy it but the sauna and the steam room were great! They also offer a variety of spa packages, massage treatments, facials, etc. with reasonable prices.

- The staff were helpful. Be patient with them and explain things very slowly and in simple English. Also, the hotel didn't have power adapters/converters for US so take one with you! They did offer to charge our iPhone at the reception desk, which was nice!

Have fun! Chamonix's awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siiisiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Centrally-located and reasonably-priced are the only 2 good things I can say about the Alpina. When it comes to service, "inconsistent" captures the sometimes helpful but often dismissive attitudes of the front desk personnel. On a number of occasions we were given information that was misleading and even incorrect! The rooms are pleasant and clean, but are tired and in need of renovation. Street noise can be a real problem as well. If you are stuck with the meal plan ask about getting a voucher and using it at one of their other hotels as the Alpina food is mediocre at best (though the "surf and turf" dinner is fun). The WiFi service is annoying. After paying for a week of service, we were forced to reconnect with a long username/password multiple times each day. If you are in Chamonix for the skiing and don't care too much about accommodations, the Alpina is adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
319 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Getaway ski week end with a friend, we booked a twin beds room for two nights.

The rooms are fairly small and quite old so wouldn't rate it 3 stars but hey this is the mountain so who cares.
Inside you can find the minimum equipment needed (tv, fridge, safe, desk) even though the fridge was unplugged and the safe broken.
The bathroom is decent but the flush extremely loud.

On the other hand, the breakfast buffet was really delicious, and you even have a guy making omelettes and eggs on demand!
The bar is also nice, with a live band playing in the evening that gives a cool and chill out atmosphere while you play pool.
They also have a guy taking care of ski rentals in their basement (available morning and evening only) which can be quite convenient (the price is average and the shop outside in the corner was just a few euros cheaper)..
The staff was super nice and you can also buy you ski pass there (they have a self service machine to top it up).
We had free access to their spa center (sauna, hamam and jaccuzi) which was nice.

The hotel is very well located, right in the center of town and you only have to cross the street to reach the pedestrian street with all the restaurants and bars.
Moreover, the ski lift are just a 10min walk away!

Price was ok but be careful you have to pay extra for parking (or park further away in free public parking) and wifi.

Maybe not the most charming nor typical option for a week of skiing, but we enjoyed ou short week end there.

Room Tip: get a deal with free spa access and free breakfast to make it worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here on a long weekend. The position of the hotel is excellent and the front desk staff are very helpful. It's a 3 star, rooms could be bigger but that's just being picky. Half board is great value. Excellent buffet breakfast and 4 course evening meal. Underground parking if you remember to book it! Discount at the ski shop next door. Wished it had been a longer stay, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviethornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A pal and I stayed at the Alpina for 4 nights in January 2013.

The booking was made despite several underwhelming reviews advising Chamonix dwellers look elsewhere. One poor review commented on the insignificant number of electric sockets on offer. Another complaint concerned the tiny room sizes. Welcome to the wonderful world of Tripadvisor, where grumpy reviewers book the cheapest room possible and then moan about the hotel not being as salubrious as the New York Plaza.

Location: Fantastic. Slap bang in the center, with bus stops right outside the reception entrance that will whisk you to the nearby pistes. I visited two areas – Le Tour and Les Houches, both a 20mins drive away.

Those looking for après-ski action need not travel far. Rue des Moulins contains a dozen bars and pubs, which offer live music and DJs most evenings.

Room: Two blokes so a twin single was needed. Having paid half the nightly rates offered elsewhere, there was no surprise that the room wasn’t particularly large. That said, despite three large bags, my skis and 2 large 30something blokes, the room never felt crammed.

The room looked north-west, towards Le Brevent. A Snowy mountain range to gawp at every morning started the day perfectly. Some reviewers here have moaned about street noise ruining sleep, which worried this light-sleeper. No fears were needed and I enjoyed decent kips throughout, not once being woken by external shenanigans.

There’s a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna available (free) for hotel users. I treated myself to a back massage. 40 euros. Not really VFM but when can money be frittered away on such whims if not after a long day skiing?

I had the breakfast twice. Not bad but for 14 Euros this fails to pass any VFM test. However, it’s worth considering if you’re spending all day high up a mountain, where chicken and chips will set you back 22 Euros.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lupu21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

From what I can tell, guests in this hotel fall into two categories; package holiday skiers from Russia and those who couldn't find availability elsewhere in Chamonix (high season). We fell into the second category.

The outside of the hotel looks impressive, and there is a nice cosy lobby and bar. But while the rooms are clean, they are very shabby and old. I could have done with some extra power outlets - in these dated rooms I had to push aside the bedside table to reveal a floor-level socket. When I needed a second socket (not unreasonable as a 21st century traveller!), I had to unplug the minibar fridge. The room layout itself was frustrating, with an unnecessary partition and 2 wardrobes just taking up badly needed floor space. The toilet was separate from the bathroom but it was not possible to sit on the loo with the door closed. No in-room tea/coffee. No bedside reading lights?! €216 per night by the way.

There is a spa with overpriced massage treatments, but you can use the perfectly acceptable jacuzzi, sauna and steam room between 3pm-8pm.

Like many others we spoke to, we had no choice but to book the half-board option and thus enjoy breakfast and dinner included on our room rate. The food is good and the staff work hard up on the top floor restaurant. However it all gets a bit 'samey' after 5 or 6 days, the same waitors, the same bread, the same guests, etc. Nobody's fault, but it starts to feel like a holiday camp after a while.

Mandetory tedious experience story: There is an a-la-carte menu - always provided as you are shown to your table - and on our last night I asked if I could order from that, rather than eat the fixed set menu for half-board guests. I was informed however, by the man in charge, that because we didn't reserve a table in the a-la-carte section of the restaurant 24 hours in advance, that this would not be allowed. At this point, that section of the restaurant was empty but for 3 tables, and remained that way for the entire time we were there. Rules for the sake of rules. The man in charge, incidentally, could really improve the atmosphere by relaxing, slowing down a little, and not clicking his pen intensely while pacing around the room giving the impression that these silly guests were disrupting his well-ordered restaurant.

Front desk staff were largely of the chocolate teapot variety (although some were friendly). I asked for assistance to book my transfer back to Geneva and was just handed the phone from behind the counter - and I thought concierge was a french term!

I was tired and bored of this hotel after 5 days. I don't recommend this hotel if you are just looking fo a bed in Chamonix. My advice is to keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (accessible via the stairs) so you don't have to rely on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirecteurAlpina, Directeur général at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear jodyodea,

We sincerely thank you for your comments that help us improve the quality of services we offer.

We are trying to answer them in a clear way whenever possible in order to better meet the expectations of each of our clients.

Russians customers:
As we are in Chamonix, and, getting closer to the Russian Xmas (January 6th) we have indeed Russians guests, in the hotel and on the slopes, streets, bars, restaurants...
They are not two categories of clients but many different! For example, in December, we had 'only' 29 different nationalities in the hotel (in 2012, guests from 68 different country stayed in the Alpina).

Hotel and rooms layout:
The hotel was built in 1970.
The outside of the hotel was totally renovated in 2006.
The restaurant on the 7th floor was totally removed and rebuilt the same year.
The bar and lobby were refurnished in 2010.
The rooms and bathrooms are renovated during every seasonal closure to match a 21st century traveler needs: extra power socket, bedside light, and so on. Because of quite a short period of closure between seasons, some rooms are not yet renovated.
The-coffee making facilities are indeed compulsory from 4**** hotel, the bar is at your disposal to serve any hot or cold drinks.

Spa:
As you mentioned, the access is free for the hotel customers, from 3 to 8 PM.
Massages are provided directly in the hotel with direct access from your room, by exteriors professionals. Prices are clearly mentioned at the reception, in the rooms and in the spa itself.
Those prices are not more expensive that the ones you will find in town.

Half-board:
Effectively, half-board for 5 or 6 days means the same service for 5 or 6 meals.
In the half-board menu, 4 courses menu, you always have: a starter, a main course (meat or fish, to choose on the spot), cheese board and a dessert.
Buffets (Italian and Savoyard) are served twice a week to 'break the routine'...
Of course, you have more than a chance to see around same guest, same staff, etc.

Regarding half-board basis and facilities, as mentioned in the room directory in your room, you have the possibility to test the other restaurants of the Best Mont Blanc Group as we have 3 hotels, and then 3 restaurants. By asking at the reception, you can be given a voucher with a facial value and use it in our others restaurants.

Regarding the half-board within the hotel, the alternative we offer is explained on the very first evening by the restaurant. As it may not be properly understood, or just forgotten, it is also specified on the menus in the lifts:
"Possibility of changing the half-board menu to the "Surf & Turf" option
Reservations beforehand - 24 hours in advance
Extra charge of 5€ for any booking on the same day"

This 'rule' is just for us to be certain to have enough of everything for every guest and to guarantee the freshness of the "all you can eat buffet" provided in the Surf & Turf formula...
This was not supposed to be "rules for the sake of the rules".

"Le Vista" is opened to take orders and welcome guests until 11PM, so the 3 tables you mentioned were certainly not the last and only 3 of the evening.


Front desk staff:
A proper "Concierge service" is also a 4**** service.
We do our very best to provide this service depending of the rush the reception can held at any particular moment of the day.
Transfer to airports is usually provided by the hotel own shuttle.
As we have only one shuttle, or if you prefer to use another shuttle company, we might call for another shuttle service. We usually do the booking for you.
At this time of the year, we have some trainees from hotel schools. Despite the fact that hotel staff speaks English, some of them might think their level of language is not sufficient and gave you the phone in order to avoid misunderstanding.

Our three hotels are HOTELcert, witch means we do provide quality service of this sort. The annual mystery visit has just been done, without any mention about this point.


Your full comment is transmitted to all of the staff involved, and this answer is provided by the managers of all the services involved.
We apologize that these points were not up to our usual services and strive to overcome them.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing