We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpina Eclectic Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 22 February 2013

stayed for 1 night to get a days snowboarding before a business trip.
paid £75 for the night on expedia.
great location.
lobby and bar are great.
restaurant better than expected.
rooms are 3 star independent hotel in france....

Stayed: February 2013
Thank GStar1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Disappointed in this facility..No real hot tub; just a small luke warm soaking tub. Not hot a all.

It is close to everthing. Did NOT like their in house ski rental shop. limited options. Food was plentiful but not distinctive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Nicely located in the center of pretty much everything in Chamonix (the rating is mostly for the location). Here is a list of what I would find helpful about the hotel:

- Great breakfast buffet in the panoramic restaurant on the top floor. Amazing view of the mountains!

- Not the best WiFi connection in the rooms, but in the lobby, it's pretty fast! 2 Euros for 30minutes, 6 Euros for 24 hours, and if I recall correctly, 20 Euros for 7 days!

- The ski rental store offers a 15% discount for hotel guests and it's located in the hotel. Not a huge variety of the best equipments were available but the prices are good. The guy helping us was extremely friendly, generous and spoke good English.

- The hotel is very close to the Après-ski center (2-4 minutes away); bars, night clubs, restaurants (and McDonald's if interested). It's also very close to grocery stores and shopping areas.

- The bus stop taking you to the different mountains stop just in front of the hotel. That alone is extremely convenient. Different buses take you to different ski resorts (the name of the resort is written on the bus). The buses stop at different spots around the hotel (ask reception) depending on which resort you want to go to.

- Also, if you are planning on skiing at Brévent, you can WALK from the hotel up to the platter/button lift that takes you up to the gondola up to Brévent. If you take the bus, it will take you all around the mountain and it takes much longer. It's better to walk. Ask the receptionist to show you the way. They may not know because they told us that we needed to take the bus, but we asked the locals and they showed us how to walk there instead.

- The best and the closest bar to the hotel is the "Mix Bar". It had amazing music and a good crowd if you're into house/electronic music. And the little place next to it, called "L’ANNEXE" has THE BEST burgers ever and it's open late (around 2-3AM).

- On the weekends, or maybe just Saturdays, outside of the hotel, there is a Farmer's market with a HUGE variety of cheeses, breads, honey, meats, fruits, flowers, and everything else you can think of. A fun experience....super French!

- The spa at the hotel is good too and available to all guests. The jacuzzi smelt funky to me so I didn't enjoy it but the sauna and the steam room were great! They also offer a variety of spa packages, massage treatments, facials, etc. with reasonable prices.

- The staff were helpful. Be patient with them and explain things very slowly and in simple English. Also, the hotel didn't have power adapters/converters for US so take one with you! They did offer to charge our iPhone at the reception desk, which was nice!

Have fun! Chamonix's awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siiisiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Centrally-located and reasonably-priced are the only 2 good things I can say about the Alpina. When it comes to service, "inconsistent" captures the sometimes helpful but often dismissive attitudes of the front desk personnel. On a number of occasions we were given information that was misleading and even incorrect! The rooms are pleasant and clean, but are tired and in need of renovation. Street noise can be a real problem as well. If you are stuck with the meal plan ask about getting a voucher and using it at one of their other hotels as the Alpina food is mediocre at best (though the "surf and turf" dinner is fun). The WiFi service is annoying. After paying for a week of service, we were forced to reconnect with a long username/password multiple times each day. If you are in Chamonix for the skiing and don't care too much about accommodations, the Alpina is adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Getaway ski week end with a friend, we booked a twin beds room for two nights.

The rooms are fairly small and quite old so wouldn't rate it 3 stars but hey this is the mountain so who cares.
Inside you can find the minimum equipment needed (tv, fridge, safe, desk) even though the fridge was unplugged and the safe broken.
The bathroom is decent but the flush extremely loud.

On the other hand, the breakfast buffet was really delicious, and you even have a guy making omelettes and eggs on demand!
The bar is also nice, with a live band playing in the evening that gives a cool and chill out atmosphere while you play pool.
They also have a guy taking care of ski rentals in their basement (available morning and evening only) which can be quite convenient (the price is average and the shop outside in the corner was just a few euros cheaper)..
The staff was super nice and you can also buy you ski pass there (they have a self service machine to top it up).
We had free access to their spa center (sauna, hamam and jaccuzi) which was nice.

The hotel is very well located, right in the center of town and you only have to cross the street to reach the pedestrian street with all the restaurants and bars.
Moreover, the ski lift are just a 10min walk away!

Price was ok but be careful you have to pay extra for parking (or park further away in free public parking) and wifi.

Maybe not the most charming nor typical option for a week of skiing, but we enjoyed ou short week end there.

Room Tip: get a deal with free spa access and free breakfast to make it worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here on a long weekend. The position of the hotel is excellent and the front desk staff are very helpful. It's a 3 star, rooms could be bigger but that's just being picky. Half board is great value. Excellent buffet breakfast and 4 course evening meal. Underground parking if you remember to book it! Discount at the ski shop next door. Wished it had been a longer stay, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviethornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A pal and I stayed at the Alpina for 4 nights in January 2013.

The booking was made despite several underwhelming reviews advising Chamonix dwellers look elsewhere. One poor review commented on the insignificant number of electric sockets on offer. Another complaint concerned the tiny room sizes. Welcome to the wonderful world of Tripadvisor, where grumpy reviewers book the cheapest room possible and then moan about the hotel not being as salubrious as the New York Plaza.

Location: Fantastic. Slap bang in the center, with bus stops right outside the reception entrance that will whisk you to the nearby pistes. I visited two areas – Le Tour and Les Houches, both a 20mins drive away.

Those looking for après-ski action need not travel far. Rue des Moulins contains a dozen bars and pubs, which offer live music and DJs most evenings.

Room: Two blokes so a twin single was needed. Having paid half the nightly rates offered elsewhere, there was no surprise that the room wasn’t particularly large. That said, despite three large bags, my skis and 2 large 30something blokes, the room never felt crammed.

The room looked north-west, towards Le Brevent. A Snowy mountain range to gawp at every morning started the day perfectly. Some reviewers here have moaned about street noise ruining sleep, which worried this light-sleeper. No fears were needed and I enjoyed decent kips throughout, not once being woken by external shenanigans.

There’s a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna available (free) for hotel users. I treated myself to a back massage. 40 euros. Not really VFM but when can money be frittered away on such whims if not after a long day skiing?

I had the breakfast twice. Not bad but for 14 Euros this fails to pass any VFM test. However, it’s worth considering if you’re spending all day high up a mountain, where chicken and chips will set you back 22 Euros.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lupu21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#31 of 73 in Chamonix
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#32 of 73 in Chamonix
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Eclectic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Eclectic Hotel

Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £76 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Eclectic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its very contemporary architecture, the Hotel ALPINA looks great in the center of Chamonix. It is in the cradle of mountaineering, the meeting place of all the enthusiasts of mountain and wide spaces, that the hotel welcomes you. An ideal location for an unmatched mountain experience. For all those who aspire to modern and urban comfort in a beautiful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Eclectic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing