We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises, promises”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Kayak Point WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Promises, promises”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

They said they had a pool, er, actually its 3 blocks down the street and it costs $6E per person. And it doesn't open until 10 AM and closes at 7PM. The breakfast buffet used dehydrated eggs for the scrambled eggs, and the dining room had filthy corners and edges. There is no air conditioning but the balcony allowed good ventilation if we opened the slider and put a shoe in the main entry door jamb to prop it open a bit.
Its noisy, but Its in a beautiful spot and the views are amazing. They were out of plug adapters so we bought one in town and fried our blow dryer. As a retired contractor, I enjoyed the home center store in the hotel's lower level. They have very different products than what is available here in the state's big box stores. There is also a grocery store down there to help stock up on snacks, water etc.. The best lasagna we have ever had was in the small Italian place on the hotel's lower level by the river. There is an underground parking garage just across the river that is VERY convenient, and on Saturdays the plaza on top hosts a great farmers market. Its a poorly kept Travelodge type of hotel and the staff had both good and poopy attitudes depending on the person. I hated the misleading nature of the advert and the draped do not close, but you have to use the metal roll up door that covers the patio glass to make it dark, even at night. Also, we discovered the hotel has extensive exterior hollow metal trim that will wake the dead during a hailstorm.

Room Tip: If you get a higher room on the 5th or 6th floor that faces Mt Blanc, your views will be awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treesmiths3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    170
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
206
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Firstly, the views. AMAZING. Every room has a mountain view and the top floor restaurant with its extensive windows, including in the roof, is worth the stay alone. Staff in reception and restaurant are very nice and good at their job; breakfast is self-service with excellent choice of hot and cold, lots of fresh fruit, unlimited tea/coffee and bakery goods. Our family room was spacious and well equipped with flatscreen TV and minibar (useful to keep our own drinks and snacks cool - we didn't buy any minibar items). Ample hanging room and drawers for all our clothes and other stuff. Balcony had two chairs for sitting and enjoying the jaw-dropping view. But as for the bathroom and separate toilet, oh dear! Wall tiles with brown geometric shapes were all the rage in the 1970s, but they now are not only dated but shabby, chipped and dirty in corners. The wc smelt bad all the time and space was so tight you had to shimmy round the side of the toilet bowl to be able to open and close the door. With the rest of the hotel at such a high standard, I am baffled why the toilet and bathroom were so crummy. The bath and toilet themselves were acceptably clean, it was the walls and floor and the dirt, cracks and smells that were so off-putting. Honestly, the rest of the hotel, and our room in it, are all really, really nice.

Room Tip: Hotel is L shaped. Outside rooms have balconies, inside rooms do not and are smaller, but ALL HAVE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toloco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had what was probably a basic room. It was clean and reasonably comfortable.
We arrived after a long journey and our room was not ready. Ok we thought we will have a coffee while we wait. There was nowhere in the hotel to get a drink. We were also to discover there were no facilities in the room. The bar does not open in the summer in the evening either.
We ate in the restaurant the 1st evening. Food was ok, not special and service was poor. Staff disinterested. Found other far superior places subsequently.
Hotel in good position, close to centre but away from noise. Views were stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rooms are good...neat and clean..with simple décor. If you go to your balcony....its so beautiful, excellent view. Chamonix is a small town but a good place to go to glaciers. Very friendly hotel staff. Excellent food ...local and Indian both. Service is average.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelanalyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were delighted to find this hotel on our way through to Italy. The views from our room, and the restaurant were stunning - Mont Blanc in all its glory. We had a decent sized bedroom and another room with a balcony, a toliet and a bathroom - all for 89 euros a night. The decor was a little faded, but the rooms were clean. Wifi was available for extra cost, as was secure underground parking. The breakfast was amazing. It was the perfect place to explore Chamonix, as very central.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rectoryrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cluj napoca
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

July 2013,

Normal room nothing fancy except for the view that is absolutely fantastic. If you consider as a bonus the events organized in the evening right in front of the hotel you'll find this hotel perfect as base camp to start your trip around Chamonix.
Service regarding... is within standards. Nothing beyond expectations.... but everything by the book.

Room Tip: If you don't take Mont Blanc view.... nothing. Take the Mont Blanc view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our ski club booked this hotel last season. It is a great location for getting to all the ski areas around Chamonix. We had breakfast and dinner included and the food was outstanding. The hotel staff was helpful and always pleasant and accommodating. The is a great bar with great live music on the weekend. You are close to the downtown area restaurants, shopping, Aiguille du Midi to start the Vallée Blanche and the train to Montenvers Mer de Glace.

On the weekend there is an open market on the square right outside the hotel, and the views from the hotel are fantastic.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#34 of 73 in Chamonix
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing