We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room dated.”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, room dated.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week during September 2013 Hotel is ideally located in the centre of the town, with very helpful and friendly staff. The restaurant is located on the top floor and has some amazing views at breakfast time. We were half board, but only ate in the restaurant 2 nights, as the restaurant was closed the rest of the other nights we had to eat in a sister hotel, where the restaurant food was a lot better. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but a bit dated now.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    169
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
205
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Very good location with amazing views of the mont blanc mastiff
Very close to the aguille du midi cable car and montenvers station
Staff not very friendly and quite inflexible to accomodate any change.
Rooms are nice and clean and front facing rooms with balconies have amazing views with the river flowing right outside the hotel. Supermarket and atm cash machine available just outside the hotel. Very close to town center where all activities and restaurants and shops are situated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlCnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
460 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Possibly the best located hotel in terms of access to Chamonix town centre but still at enough distance to be quiet. One of the main bus stops is also just across the road.

On the reception the staff are welcoming and helpful even though they have to deal with quite considerable numbers of clients. Rooms are clean and tidy and free wifi (pretty quick too) is available throughout the hotel.

Only complaint is that it could do with some renovation - some of the decor is a little dated.

Room Tip: If you go for a room with a Brevent view then the highest floor doesn't actually get a view as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked a family room - received a good double bed and a single for our granddaughter. Very nice large balcony over looking scenic part of town and snow capped mountains. Large room with separate loo from en suite - very handy! Walking distance to many many restaurants but needed car to drive to cable way. Conveniently situated, would definitely recommend. Parking is just a few steps away - underground in safe garage. Must pay for parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travllingkochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Apart from us dragging our own luggage from the bus, I found the staff helpfull. The mountain view is wonderful, especially from the sixth floor! They took great trouble to serve us a barbeque like food with a big variety of dishes to prepare ourselves! It was quite some fun! The breakfast had a good variety of dishes and nice filter coffee...only some other guests messed by putting the cups under the wrong outlets etc. The Hotel is quite central which makes sight seeing comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the lifts, long corridots can be tiresome after a long days sight seeing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnsJacobsklets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayak Point WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

They said they had a pool, er, actually its 3 blocks down the street and it costs $6E per person. And it doesn't open until 10 AM and closes at 7PM. The breakfast buffet used dehydrated eggs for the scrambled eggs, and the dining room had filthy corners and edges. There is no air conditioning but the balcony allowed good ventilation if we opened the slider and put a shoe in the main entry door jamb to prop it open a bit.
Its noisy, but Its in a beautiful spot and the views are amazing. They were out of plug adapters so we bought one in town and fried our blow dryer. As a retired contractor, I enjoyed the home center store in the hotel's lower level. They have very different products than what is available here in the state's big box stores. There is also a grocery store down there to help stock up on snacks, water etc.. The best lasagna we have ever had was in the small Italian place on the hotel's lower level by the river. There is an underground parking garage just across the river that is VERY convenient, and on Saturdays the plaza on top hosts a great farmers market. Its a poorly kept Travelodge type of hotel and the staff had both good and poopy attitudes depending on the person. I hated the misleading nature of the advert and the draped do not close, but you have to use the metal roll up door that covers the patio glass to make it dark, even at night. Also, we discovered the hotel has extensive exterior hollow metal trim that will wake the dead during a hailstorm.

Room Tip: If you get a higher room on the 5th or 6th floor that faces Mt Blanc, your views will be awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treesmiths3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Firstly, the views. AMAZING. Every room has a mountain view and the top floor restaurant with its extensive windows, including in the roof, is worth the stay alone. Staff in reception and restaurant are very nice and good at their job; breakfast is self-service with excellent choice of hot and cold, lots of fresh fruit, unlimited tea/coffee and bakery goods. Our family room was spacious and well equipped with flatscreen TV and minibar (useful to keep our own drinks and snacks cool - we didn't buy any minibar items). Ample hanging room and drawers for all our clothes and other stuff. Balcony had two chairs for sitting and enjoying the jaw-dropping view. But as for the bathroom and separate toilet, oh dear! Wall tiles with brown geometric shapes were all the rage in the 1970s, but they now are not only dated but shabby, chipped and dirty in corners. The wc smelt bad all the time and space was so tight you had to shimmy round the side of the toilet bowl to be able to open and close the door. With the rest of the hotel at such a high standard, I am baffled why the toilet and bathroom were so crummy. The bath and toilet themselves were acceptably clean, it was the walls and floor and the dirt, cracks and smells that were so off-putting. Honestly, the rest of the hotel, and our room in it, are all really, really nice.

Room Tip: Hotel is L shaped. Outside rooms have balconies, inside rooms do not and are smaller, but ALL HAVE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toloco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing