We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we thought it would be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpina Eclectic Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Right in the centre of Chamonix with great access to shops, bars, restaurants etc. Very helpful staff and a surprisingly nice room (nothing special but good for a 3 star hotel). The buffet breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

Since this was the only hotel we could find with availability and the reviews on tripadvisor were so mixed we were a little apprehensive, but couldn't have been happier! The location, food and staff were all excellent, so I can't really understand what others were complaining about..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I just returned from a trip to France where I visited several ski resorts and my favorite was easily Chamonix. We stayed at the Alpina Hotel which suited us perfectly. The hotel is situated in the perfect location right in the center of town. With a 30-second walk, you can find yourself on the main drag with countless shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel's rooftop restaurant has stunning views of the dramatic mountains surrounding the town. It's the perfect way to start your day while also enjoying eggs, coffee, sausages, bacon, the works.

One of my few complaints was that we had to pay for wi-fi.

All in all, this is comfortable three-star hotel with everything you need.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We booked a transfer from the airport via hotel. The plane was delayed and we let the transfer company know. They were not aware of our booking. We found another company 1/3 of the hotel price. Food poisoning after "breakfast" the first day. We were not that late for breakfast but there was very little left , just bread and cold sausage. (No tea coffee making facilities available in the room, husband had to go to bar all the time , tea was all I could keep down). Our pre-booked high performance ski equipment from ski hire in the hotel was not available on arrival. Eventually got the equipment from a store branch in the town but did not get performance yet were charged for it at the end of the holiday until we pointed this out. We booked the hotel online and picked the B&B option. Turns out we were charged for half board saying thats all they offer, the price being much higher than we expected. After the first breakfast we did not eat there and ate in other hotels paying for evening meals. It turns out that there were half board vouchers for other hotels we ate at. But we never received them. We did not ask for vouchers because until check out we were not aware that we should have had them. The rooms are a good size but are battered , unclean and very tired. Most of the reception staff were helpful (considering they were under pressure and under staffed). The management rude. All in all a frustrating stay. Left feeling very unsettled. Never Again!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

If there was a zero option for service on trip advisor I would use it for this hotel. We stayed over New Year and were told that the hotel only did a half board option over this time period. However there were not enough staff to cope in the restuarant, we had to generally wait at least half an hour to get any kind of service and the manager in the restaurant was extremely rude. The staff in the hotel were clueless - when I asked where the nearest ski hire was I was directed to a shop around the corner only to subsequently find out there was one in the hotel, when we asked how to get to the brevent ski area we were directed to the wrong bus stop but then discovered a button lift less than 5 mins walk away which takes you to the cable car. We went the the mont blanc room which was large and comfortable however our friends went for the brevent room which was not so great. Great location however probably better places to stay in chamonix

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The hotel is nestled in the heart of Chamonix.. a short walk away is the town square with the shops, banks and casino. The other side has a huge meadow where one can walk while taking in the sights of the mist rolling down the mountains. A small river runs along the town complete with cute little wooden bridges. The dining and breakfast facilities were nice. All in all a fantastic experience for families as well as couples on a romantic break.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Highlight of the hotel is the dining hall on the top floor which provides exquisite views of the alps from the glass windows (there are large ones, undoubtedly). And since we were part of organised tour, got a taste of great Indian food in the night in Europe!
Also made way to a casino which was about 5 mins walk from the hotel (complementary passes by hotel).
Hotel provides excellent location to plan excursions (ski slopes, gondola rides, backpacking amongst others) with to-do sites nearby. Hotel staff is very helpful to plan this for you.
Just outside the hotel, farmers' market is a busy activity on weekends. You can get freshest fruits and vegetables if you want some. There are vans serving hot dogs as well. And for the vegetarian ones, only thing I could find was a Cheese + Tomato Pizza.
Rooms were clean and decent, comfortably warm and staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gZm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#31 of 73 in Chamonix
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#32 of 73 in Chamonix
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Eclectic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Eclectic Hotel

Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £76 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Eclectic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its very contemporary architecture, the Hotel ALPINA looks great in the center of Chamonix. It is in the cradle of mountaineering, the meeting place of all the enthusiasts of mountain and wide spaces, that the hotel welcomes you. An ideal location for an unmatched mountain experience. For all those who aspire to modern and urban comfort in a beautiful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Eclectic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing