We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Place Very Close to Ski Slopes”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place Very Close to Ski Slopes”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The rooms were very roomy with large bedroom and big bathroom and separate toilet. It was nice to have a little balcony to look out over the alps. Breakfast was a good set up but a bit disorganised (lack of bowls, plates, hot food etc some mornings) but overall pretty good. We could hire our ski gear from downstairs in the hotel with a discount as guests. The cocktails at the bar were a bit average as they were just pre-mixes - so would recommend finding another bar around town - and the swipe keys were difficult to use in the doors to get into the rooms. All in all a good stay and worth the visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grish068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    169
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
205
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Right in the centre of Chamonix with great access to shops, bars, restaurants etc. Very helpful staff and a surprisingly nice room (nothing special but good for a 3 star hotel). The buffet breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Since this was the only hotel we could find with availability and the reviews on tripadvisor were so mixed we were a little apprehensive, but couldn't have been happier! The location, food and staff were all excellent, so I can't really understand what others were complaining about..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I just returned from a trip to France where I visited several ski resorts and my favorite was easily Chamonix. We stayed at the Alpina Hotel which suited us perfectly. The hotel is situated in the perfect location right in the center of town. With a 30-second walk, you can find yourself on the main drag with countless shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel's rooftop restaurant has stunning views of the dramatic mountains surrounding the town. It's the perfect way to start your day while also enjoying eggs, coffee, sausages, bacon, the works.

One of my few complaints was that we had to pay for wi-fi.

All in all, this is comfortable three-star hotel with everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We booked a transfer from the airport via hotel. The plane was delayed and we let the transfer company know. They were not aware of our booking. We found another company 1/3 of the hotel price. Food poisoning after "breakfast" the first day. We were not that late for breakfast but there was very little left , just bread and cold sausage. (No tea coffee making facilities available in the room, husband had to go to bar all the time , tea was all I could keep down). Our pre-booked high performance ski equipment from ski hire in the hotel was not available on arrival. Eventually got the equipment from a store branch in the town but did not get performance yet were charged for it at the end of the holiday until we pointed this out. We booked the hotel online and picked the B&B option. Turns out we were charged for half board saying thats all they offer, the price being much higher than we expected. After the first breakfast we did not eat there and ate in other hotels paying for evening meals. It turns out that there were half board vouchers for other hotels we ate at. But we never received them. We did not ask for vouchers because until check out we were not aware that we should have had them. The rooms are a good size but are battered , unclean and very tired. Most of the reception staff were helpful (considering they were under pressure and under staffed). The management rude. All in all a frustrating stay. Left feeling very unsettled. Never Again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

If there was a zero option for service on trip advisor I would use it for this hotel. We stayed over New Year and were told that the hotel only did a half board option over this time period. However there were not enough staff to cope in the restuarant, we had to generally wait at least half an hour to get any kind of service and the manager in the restaurant was extremely rude. The staff in the hotel were clueless - when I asked where the nearest ski hire was I was directed to a shop around the corner only to subsequently find out there was one in the hotel, when we asked how to get to the brevent ski area we were directed to the wrong bus stop but then discovered a button lift less than 5 mins walk away which takes you to the cable car. We went the the mont blanc room which was large and comfortable however our friends went for the brevent room which was not so great. Great location however probably better places to stay in chamonix

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The hotel is nestled in the heart of Chamonix.. a short walk away is the town square with the shops, banks and casino. The other side has a huge meadow where one can walk while taking in the sights of the mist rolling down the mountains. A small river runs along the town complete with cute little wooden bridges. The dining and breakfast facilities were nice. All in all a fantastic experience for families as well as couples on a romantic break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#25 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing