We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski+Sauna+Great Ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend of skiing, and this was the best choice possible. It is a 3 minute walk from the Grands Montets télécabine, it has a haamam, sauna, pool, and outdoor jacuzzi, and a giant breakfast buffet for a reasonable price to get your tank filled before a full day of skiing. The rooms are very cute and decorated in a classic French chalet style--very comfortable beds. There is also a very nice bar/lounging area with a fire all day long. Non-downhill skiers will love the XC ski trail that is 2 minutes away, as well as the snowshoe trails nearby. We looked into staying here again this season but it is all booked up! We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majoringintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

I can't really draw fault on this hotel,for a three star it really offers a service that is pushing 4star. Superb spa facilities, (15m pool, sauna, steam, jacuzzi), a large lounge area with open fire, bar, pool table.

What did it for me was the attention to detail in all the fixtures and fittings, from tables made from old sleds to carved marmotts peeping out of holes ;-) the hotel oozes warmth and a feeling of a chalet rather than a hotel.

The hotel is in Argentiere, not Chamonix, but this is why we booked it. It is a hotel placed for those that want to ski (lifts and bus network on doorstep), and that may prefer entertainment from quality food and wines rather than clubs and pubs (that said there are a couple of bars that in the village for a late night bevvie)

Breakfast as others have said is continental, but then you are in afterall in France, and the selection offered and quality of the food was excellent.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but if you are after a lively resort hotel, then this is not for you, head to the main town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weebo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I've ski'd the chamnonix area for the last 6 years and this is the first time we've stayed outside chamonix itself and can't believe we havn't done it sooner. It's excellent location means you feel you are tucked away in a quiet corner of Argentiere and yet you are literally 3/4 mins walk from the Grand Montet cable car. There was so much snow when we were there we managed to ski (up and down hill) from the hotel to the lift.

The hotel itself was reasonably priced, had comfortable, clean rooms, an excellent health spa (pool, sauna, steam room, outdoor jacuzzi), very nice lounge area with roaring open fire for having an apre ski beer, bar, ski room with a free locker with a built in boot warmer for 4 pairs of boots and skis. On the last day they allowed us to store bags in the store room and use a shower in the laundry room - which was very handy.

The staff were generally very nice, in particular the guy who lit the fire every night and served behind the bar. We did have a minor "challenge" with a lady on reception when we asked for directions to a local restaurant.

Breakfast was good, no egg and bacon or waffles with cream but you're in France! so it's charcuterie and cheeses, baguettes, great coffee, fruit, pastries, cereals, fruit juice etc. Restaurant doesn't do evening meals so you need to venture outside.

The hotel does ski passes but you can also get them from the cable car station at grand montet where you can also hire skis.

On restauarants we did the circuit of restaurants recommended by a multitude of people. First up and arguably the best was "La Cremerie" - fantastic fondue - it's primarily a cheese based restaurant, finding it though isn't easy, it took us over an hour! Once you know where it is I reckon it's a 15-20min walk but well worth it. From the hotel you walk up to the cable car station, swing behind it onto the finish area of the piste and then walk up the left side of the piste, you should hit a road and see the tunnel that the piste goes over, follow the road to your left for another 5mins. You'll be in the pitch black, in the middle of a forest and feel you're about to be attacked by a weirwolf but be brave, stick with it and eventually you'll pass upon the warm glow of La Cremerie.

The great thing about Argentiere is it's about a third cheaper than being in Chamonix and yet you can still ski the same area. The Grand Montet is literally outside the hotel and Le Tour etc is only 5mins away. If you want to ski the Brevent area, best bet is to go to Flegere, uplift from there and traverse down the valley to Brevent. Advantage is free parking (if you are in a car) less transport time and more ski time. Parking in cham costs 8 euros roughly for abut 6 hrs.

If you're 21 and want pink vodka served on a bed of techno music, you might be better off in cham because Argentiere is at the quieter end of the scale but it's a brilliant base for ski-ing the cham area.

Hope this helps

Phil

PS: A tip for the hotel - 1) offer packed lunches and 2) ditch the pink plastic chairs in the bar

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just back from a short break at this hotel. Really enjoyed the Hotel. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Nice quiet location close to the lifts. Short walk to a choice of restaurants. Lovely breakfast good coffee, juice, breads, cereals, cheese and hams. Cosy bar area. Great sauna, steam, hot tub. All the right ingredients for a fabulous stay. I hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jupyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Due to some subjective reason we started planning our traditional New Year ski break too late in 2011 - it had already been October that year. And after getting "sorry, but we are all booked full" from both Hameau Albert 1er and Grand Hotel des Alps, we did some further tripadvisor search and at last found this "gem". The reviews were all glorious and admirable + we frankly speaking did not get any other worthy offers (99% of local hotels were fully booked for the New Year period), so we decided to book there 2 rooms (1 classic room for my parents + 1 Mont-Blanc suite for me, my husband and our child) and were waiting for our ski vacation with greatest expectations ever since. However, this is what we brought from there:
1. Location. The hugest mistake is to think that the hotel is located in Chamonix. It's NOT. Les Grands Montets lies in Argientiere, a small ski-in/ ski-out village 7 km from Chamonix. The area literally dies after closure of lifts at around 5 p.m. and if you're interested not only in skiing, but some nice apres-ski life (including unhashing walks through illuminated and nicely decorated city streets, dining in upscale restaurants, wine tasting, shopping, etc.) - forget about this place. The bus won't really help you: it runs incredibly irregularly with the last bus leaving Argientiere in 7:20 p.m. (and pray that it did not leave earlier without a prior notice - that also could be a case) and the last bus leaving Chamonix for Argientiere at 22:45 p.m. The taxi to Chamonix center is 35-45 euro one way.
2. Breakfasts. The hotel staff gives you a notice on the lack of onsite restaurant prior to the booking. However, they don't mention that your breakfasts will be cold served either. No hot cereals, no omlettes / fried eggs, no pancakes - same poor stuff everyday (and it's in France!!!) And even you one morning want a simple boiled egg, you will boil it yourself - in case you manage to find a place in a special boiler.
3. Rooms and room-service. Our "suite" was rather looking as a matchbox - too small and terribly law ceilings) - however, I must admit it was very nicely decorated in traditional chalet style. The room was equipped with L'Occitane toiletries which I also find as a plus. Cleaning was made everyday on a really good level. However, there're no teakettles in the room. We once tried to order a couple of teas in our room, but the reception offered us to go down for the tea ourselves - very welcoming, what else could be said ...
4. Wellness area. The fitness zone is reasonably good equipped, the same could be said about sauna and pool area. They also have so called outdoor jacuzzi - avoid it by all means, it contains unsafe quantity of clorine. Literally. I once tried. Never again.
5. Service. However, it there was a proper service at the hotel, it would be even possible to close the eyes on all objective minuses. But there is no service at all. Like, for example, we several times tried to get advice on local Argientiere restaurants. No result. We tried to book a taxi on our way back to Geneve. We've been offered to do it ourselves.And, finally, when we were leaving Les Grands Montets the girl at the reception did not even raise her head to say good buy. Her "service" apparantely finished when we cleared the payments. Not sure when and if it started - if it happened at all:(((

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olga_Perevertova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

If you are in Chamonix for skiing, as I was recently, this is THE place to be at.
Its almost possible to ski back to the front door from the Grand Montets system!

I found myself staying in the hotel trying to find something negative about it, it was difficult, believe me! Well, better/more stable/quicker wifi connection would be one of the very few details I could point out...

Spotless clean, extremely helpful staff, great spa/outdoors hot tub, good breakfast...
On top of that a good deal on a room with short notice!

Just book it!

Room Tip: Got a last minute deal on a ground floor room for disabled travellers. No views but for the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

As a family out to experience a white Xmas and fit in some skiing this hotel's location was ideal: within walking distance of ski lifts and at the foot of the mountains. Rooms were basic, though the common lounge areas were warm, cosy and welcoming, with pool table, gym and indoor pool. The staff were very friendly and even offered to drive us up the mountain to a nearby cremerie for traditional local cheese fondue, to allow the children the opportunity to toboggan back down the hill after dinner, which added to the whole experience. Would recommend this hotel as a great base to explore the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
4.8 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Montana
Hotel Le Montana
#3 of 4 in Argentiere
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Grands Montets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Grands Montets

Address: 340 Chemin des Arberons | Argentière, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £126 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Grands Montets 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming luxury hotel in Argentiere, at the top end of the Chamonix valley, is an enchanting place facing Mont-Blanc. It's only a few steps away from the famous Grands-Montets ski resort, as well as from some of the most beautiful Summer hiking paths. Whether you are visiting Chamonix for the first time or you have stayed with us before, we will do our very best to provide an impeccable service and ensure you have a fabulous stay in a warm and relaxing atmosphere in a 4 stars hotel in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Les Grands Montets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Grands Montets Hotel
Les Grands Montets Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing