We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect open fire lounge for quiet apres-ski”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect open fire lounge for quiet apres-ski”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Stayed in this hotel for New Year and are planning to go back again later in the season.

Mountain spirit room was compact, but very nicely decorated with great views from the balcony. Gym was a little ropey, but pool, steam room, sauna and hot-tub were great.

Staff were really friendly most of the time and the breakfast was fantastic.

Location right next to Grand Montets lifts and beginning of bus route which was good for busy buses. Nice restaurants near by included La Flambee, La Rusticana and Le Dahu.

Best bit was sitting in the bar/lounge area with huge open fire and vin chaude in the evening. On some nights the hotel provided complementary nibbles, canapees and pastries.

  • Liked — The open fire and the outdoor hot tub
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank D0ugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    91
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
76
132
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed here for four nights in late August. We had a duplex room for two adults and two kids. The room is actually on two levels with the second level accessed by a staircase within the room. The kids loved their separate zone!
Our room had a Mont Blanc view - it is definitley worth paying the small supplement for this view as it is just breath taking. The view from the other side isn't bad but it does overlook the car park and the large car park for the cable car.
The hotel is excellently furnished with high qulaity fittings and finishes throughout. The reception staff were very helpful and gave great advice on where to go and what to see. They were able to provide us with the multi pass for the lifts as well which was just charged to the room.
Breakfast was included and was a large buffet with plenty of choice for adults and children. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as the menu isn't really suited to kids however there is a good selection of restaurants in the village within an easy 10 minute walk. You should note that the hotel is in Argentier and not Chamonix (about 10 minutes drive away) but this is a benefit - quiet village with a good selection of restaurants, fantastic views of Mont Blanc and direct access to the Grand Montets lift.
The hotel had a small swimming pool (about 10m) and an outdoor hot whirl pool - the kids loved both. There is also a small but well equiped gym plus sauna and steam room.
The reception area had a free to use PC and also books with details of restaurants and places to visit. Chamonix in summer is fantastic for walking and the hotel has lots of info on where the good walks are - you definitely need to get a multi day lift pass (around €200 for 3 days for the family) as the variety of walks accessible from the top and mid points on the lifts is vast.
We'd definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — Fantastic location and high quality hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AndrewT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Had a very comfortable week indeed in this very relaxed and tastefully decorated hotel. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and enjoyed the substantial buffet breakfast and, on two evenings, a limited but well-presented evening meal. It's a very well located hotel with a beautiful outlook and very close to the main village, bus stop, restaurants etc. Our balcony looked out on to Mont Blanc and the (superior but sensibly-priced) room included bathrobes, mini-bar etc.
We would certainly return.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Very warm at night!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pengowls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We just returned from a trip to Paris and Chamonix area with our family of six. We had two adults and four children so finding the perfect spot took some time. Hotel Grand Montets is perfect. They have all you need for a family. We had two triple rooms at the end of a hallway. That way we could go back and forth across the hallway with our family. It was like having a large suite. The extra bed is up a small staircase above the bathroom. That worked well and our smaller children loved sleeping up there. They had an indoor heated pool and outdoor hot tub that were big hits. The room also included the breakfast which for six people from the US was worth a lot to us. This hotel is not in Chamonix but the distance is very short via rental car. It was nice not to the in the heart of the Chamonix crowds for the evening. The weather was wonderfully pleasant during the summer. The hotel is wonderfully updated inside and did not seem worn at all. The front desk clerk named Kathryn from Germany was delightful and helped us so much locate things we needed in town. I would recommend this as a wonderful choice of hotel for a family or couple.

  • Liked — the ability to fit our family of six so well
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for some skiing in March. I chose it as a result of the other reviews here and was not dissapointed!

We had a suite, which was wonderful, and the pictures on the website do not not do it justice. It was split over 2 floors - sitting area, bathroom, dining table, wardrobes and balcony downstairs and bedroom with corner jacuzzi bath and separate toilet upstairs.

Well located - 2 mins walk to Grand Montets lifts.

Beautifully decorated - not luxurious but warm, quirky and traditional.

VERY welcoming - this struck us more than anything - as we walked in, something about the decoration and the attitude of the staff make you feel like you have stayed many times before.

We will be back!

  • Liked — The welcome
  • Disliked — Hard to think of anything!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We stayed at Les Grands Montets for 5 nights and everything met my expectations. This is a lovely, rustic hotel with friendly staff and a great location. We paid a little bit extra for a mountain spirit room as these are the recently renovated rooms. breakfast was great and the reception staff made our bookings for local restaurants - we did not go in to Chamonix to eat in the evenings though if we had been staying longer than 5 nights we probably would have. The skiing was good though you have to use the bus to get to the various ski areas - that was the only down side. I imagine this hotel will be idyllic in the summer months too.

  • Liked — the charming, rustic style
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

This hotel is fairly quiet and cosy and very well located just opposite the Grand Montets ski lift.

The rooms are very clean but overall, if you want to be picky then the paintwork could do with touching up and the bathrooms in some of the rooms are very 1970's and also quite small. Hairdryer in all bathrooms. No proper wardrobe in room just a large cupboard and no drawers.

There's a small, open-plan lounge and bar area with an open fire at night and also a snooker table and TV - no English TV channels though. Small gym - lovely indoor pool:sauna:steam room and an outside jacuzzi.

Breakfast was very good - a lot of choice - the usual ham; boiled eggs, croissants/breads, cheeses, etc - all of good quality.

As the hotel does not do an evening meal your only option is to walk up to the village (5 mins) or catch a bus into Chamonix (free with the Chamonix pass - 20 min. ride). We ate at La Flambee and Le Rusticana in Argentiere and the food was excellent. It is a very good idea to book a restaurant at least the night before as they do get very busy.

For ski school the Ecole Ski Francais has an office just underneath the cable car, opposite the hotel, and there are one or two ski hire shops around the bottom of the cable car area.

We also skied at Le Flegere and Le Tour which is probably better than Argentiere for green/blue runs. Transport to these ski areas is free on the Chamonix pass and the buses go very frequently from outside the bottom of the cable car.

There's good shopping in Chamonix if you have a non-skiing day!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby bathroom!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
4.8 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,089 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Montana
Hotel Le Montana
#4 of 4 in Argentiere
82 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
4.4 mi away
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Les Balcons Du Savoy
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Grands Montets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Grands Montets

Property: Hotel Les Grands Montets
Address: 340 Chemin des Arberons | Argentière, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Grands Montets 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming luxury hotel in Argentiere, at the top end of the Chamonix valley, is an enchanting place facing Mont-Blanc. It's only a few steps away from the famous Grands-Montets ski resort, as well as from some of the most beautiful Summer hiking paths. Whether you are visiting Chamonix for the first time or you have stayed with us before, we will do our very best to provide an impeccable service and ensure you have a fabulous stay in a warm and relaxing atmosphere in a 4 stars hotel in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Les Grands Montets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Grands Montets Hotel
Les Grands Montets Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing