We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - we chose the menu confiance.”

Auberge du Bois Prin
Ranked #82 of 222 Restaurants in Chamonix
Price range: US$32 - US$123
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value - we chose the menu confiance.”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Clever combinations of raspberry and beetroots. Superb service. Great value (well, compared to Michelin rated restaurants in London). Will go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    25
    9
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprising high quality lunch”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We arrived at 2.15 pm for lunch. The kitchen was just closed but after consultation they accepted us. It is also a lovely hotel we spend a week about 10 years ago. The dining room is a beautiful place with an exceptional mountain view and beautiful terrace. We suggested to eat something small but no problem we got a full lunch. The food was absolutely superb. Cooking and presentation are a delicacy. When the bill came we thought there was a mistake. Top gastronomy for a humble price. Congratulations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing views, food, and service”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we couldn't have been happier. The views of Mont Blanc were the best in the city, the multi course tasting menu offered unique courses with excellent presentation and the waitstaff was friendly and attentive. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rica654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, but slightly disappointed by the service. Didn't live up to my expectations.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here in a large group, who all had the set menu. Overall the food was very good, but I felt a little underwhelmed. While the staff was very friendly, there were a number of slips throughout the meal that added up to an experience that was less than what I expected. First they took our food orders, but forgot to bring a wine menu or take drink orders. We asked for the wine package menu to go with our food, but were disappointed when this only turned out to be 2 glasses of wine, for a menu of that length it was not enough. They also forgot other drink orders. They neglected to explain the appetizer course, which ended up with half our group not eating the dish as intended. Nothing So bad, but just less then Expected.

For the appetizer I had foie gras, which was delicious, but I felt could have been presented better. For the main course I had sea bream, which was just OK. Nothing bad, but nothing exciting. It was not presented on the plate well, and the dish lacked texture. The desert was the best looking dish of the meal, and again was good but nothing I would return for.

For a formal dinner with wine the prices were good, so I would say you got good value, but the service could have been much much more attentive. The food was very good, but not very impressive. Overall, we had an ok dinner, but I would say this restaurant doesn't measure up to others in it's class.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, perfect food with some average service.”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Auberge du Bois Prin is a lovely hotel based 15 min walk from the centre of Chamonix. The restaurant is lovely. It has this charm of french chalet with modern twist. We had a lovely Menu Confiance with wines. Food was absolutely amazing. It was inspired by local products, fish and meat. Out of this world! :) Matching wines were excellent.
The only thing that was below food standard was a level of service. I'm terribly sorry to write as all the staff was really lovely and helpful but some situation I would not expect in a michelin restaurant. It looked like some members of the staff were very senior but some of them have never worked in any restaurant, not to mention michelin star restaurant. They really need to work to improve service but food is a well deserved star or maybe even two stars.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marcincupial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge du Bois Prin also viewed

Argentiere, Chamonix
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Auberge du Bois Prin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing