We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not more”
Review of Hotel La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Chaumiere
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok, but not more”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here two nights in august. The hotel is ok but quite basic. Inside it has a bit of the look and feel of a youth hostel. And, unfortunately, the best rooms with a view of Mont Blanc,for wich you pay a premium, are also on the road side of the hotel. Hence they comme with the noise of the road...and with no clim, you have no choice but to leave the windows open. The staff is very helpful and caring. For 20 euro more we stayed in a real 3 star in the hearth of Chamonix. I would recommend this option if you can afford the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierrelevoyageur87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    49
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
40
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a mountain climbing package so I can't really talk to the cost/value of the hotel.

I can say the staff here is excellent. They stored our extra gear while we were climbing, gave us a loaner umbrella when it was pouring down rain and made phone calls to restaurants when we needed reservations. They are all super friendly.

The rooms seem quite average. Do not get room 105, however. We stayed there for one night and it is tiny and the bathroom is ridiculously narrow. 106 and 113 were quite nice, however.

Dinner here is a bit expensive unless you order from the menu of the day. Breakfasts are nice and included with the stay. Regardless of the price, the food was all very good.

The location is about 7 - 10 minutes away from main town, by foot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the summer and enjoyed it! Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. We ate the "menu" in the restaurant for dinner for 18€, and it was delicious. Make sure you go early to eat, though (before 9 p.m.). The staff was very kind and often speaks English better than French! Do take your own shampoo and ask if you'd like a TV in your room (I'm not sure if they have TVs in some rooms or not). The Wifi connection in our room was great. I would highly recommend this place if you'd like some calm away from the main part of the city (a few minutes' drive away).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stopped here for one night on way to Italy 2 large dogs in tow. perfect location for dogs.. food was delicious and staff friendly bar had comfortable seating. Highly recommend dog owners to stop here. Enjoyed a beer in their garden looking at the fabulous mont blanc

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgregor-hulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is located about 800m south of the main town which is a short walk or even shorter bus trip. The hotel is 2 stories with all the rooms on the second floor. I only saw stair access to the rooms. We visited in the summer but it is obviously used heavily during the ski season as well. The rooms are small to reasonable sized and are very clean. We stayed on two separate occasions and the bathroom sizes varied. One was quite small the other was fine. The room itself was very clean and quite modern and is basic in fit out. The beds are comfortable and the bedding is clean. We had breakfast included with our stay which is an all you can eat buffet of very good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English as well. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 106 has a larger bathroom than room 113!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here 2 nights each side of doing Tmb. Located a bit outold town but an easy 10 minute stroll in. Rooms basic but spotless, food great and staff wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend. Jan T Conder Australia

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Fantastic little hotel a few minutes walk from CHX town center. The rooms are basic but are ovely decorated and clean. The bathroom was small and cold but spotless. The breakfast was generous. The resto does a nice menu. Staff was very friendly and competent. For the price this was a great find.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#41 of 73 in Chamonix
95 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#19 of 73 in Chamonix
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chaumiere

Property: Hotel La Chaumiere
Address: 322 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Chaumiere 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Lodge is a real mountain home offering a unique fusion of Scandinavian simplicity and functionality mixed with charming alpine style.La Chaumière is in an enviable location, within walking distance of the main shopping street, in the old town centre of Chamonix Mont-Blanc and just a stone's throw from the train and bus stop. When you stay at La Chaumière you are literally steps away from some of the world's finest mountaineering, skiing and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing