We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You're never a couple of hours away from food...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You're never a couple of hours away from food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We've just returned our first Inghams holiday - a week in Chamonix. It's fair to say that previous reviews helped us make our decision to go here in late September (and risk a forecasted 70% chance of ran) rather than a nice beach holiday and we're both delighted. Waking up every day to a Mount Blanc view is something i'm still getting used to being without!

From the moment we arrived in the airport and hotel, the Inghams staff we're just so helpful and accommodating. It's also worth pointing out that in our mid 20's we were well below the average age of guests at the hotel, but this didn't matter - everyone is encouraged to meet before dinner and at the weekly pub quiz.

The food is absolutely amazing. If the same chef is present at that hotel in the winter, then you cannot go wrong. The only slight disappointment is the Friday barbecue in the summer (i'd have rather another night of full meal).

We also went to watch the local ice hockey team play, and again the staff were friendly enough to give us an express vip service so that we made it on time.

We would recommend this to anyone, and go back tomorrow! Oh and the weather was much nicer than forecasted!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 36 which had a nice view. Some guests were mentioning staying up high, but every r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    78
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pooley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We( two 68 year olds from Cumbria) stayed one week end of September 2011 and had 7 days unbroken sunshine. The hotel is superbly located with an open grass area in front giving uninterrupted views of Mont Blanc - stunning! The Inghams team at the hotel were superb throughout and the place was spotless. For the price paid we had marvelous food and good quality wine . Great to have the extra touches - packed lunch, afternoon tea with cakes made in house and then drinks(included) and canapes before the evening dinner.With the rotation in operation for the allocated dinner seating we were able to spend time with most of the assembled company over the week; some great sharing of walking experiences and often, with the wine flowing , we were still talking up to 10pm. Ideal situation for walks; at the time we went some of the lifts were shut and this needs researching in advance if this is of importance. For us there was plenty of scope for challenging walks with what was in operation. Great week and would certainly go back. This is as mountain hotels used to be; a bit well worn in fabric and furniture but a place of great atmosphere and conviviality. Well done to Inghams and their super team.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Although this hotel is a bit tired, everything else is super!

Room Tip: Do not book aroom with a view of Mont Blanc as all rooms have views of themountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M4zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Booked this following positive reviews and was not disappointed. Yes it looks, basic, a little tired but that keeps the price down and enables you to enjoy such spectacular scenery. I wish I had tried this type of holiday when my children were younger. Going in July enabled us to have lovely long walks, with the packed lunch provided on 5 of the days. The faces on the young ones going up on the lifts and then seeing the mountains gives a good alternative to the typical spanish holidays so often preferred by many. I saw children go out and come back exhausted and happy and after their evening meal go to bed, leaving their parents with time to themselves. The evening meals were wonderful together with the free wine. Staff being English presented no language problems and they were a lovely young crowd.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room at the top, the lift is one of those tiny ones so I preferred the stairs which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday and we were very pleased with the hotel. As others have said the food and wine are excellent and the view of the mountains from our room was stunning.We enjoyed meeting all the other guests at dinner and finding out what everyone had been doing that day. We liked Chamonix and made good use of the Multipass for the lifts etc. We used the train to get about and this was free to visitors.
All in all a great hotel with friendly , helpful staff - not forgetting our rep Joy who had lots of good information and helped us make the most of our .time there . The weather was excellent - much warmer than we thought it would be - this was a great bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Brighton in Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Having read the reviews here, we had high expectations, and we were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is outstanding and the wine just keeps on flowing.

When you couple that with the superb views and convenient location this is a brilliant little hotel. True the rooms could do with a touch of redecorating, but it warrants far more than 3 stars in my opinion.

Room Tip: You must go ro a room with a balcony overlooking Mount Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franchise_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I've stayed in the Sapiniere many, many times both in the summer and winter. The hotel is still owned by a local man (Patrick) but leased to ski companies and this set up is ideal for a perfect holiday - especially if you have young children. The hotel has a wonderful view of the tallest mountain in Europe and many times I have sat on my room balcony with a glass of wine and watched the dramatic hues of the sunset against the mountains. The food has always been great regardless of who's in the kitchen and the restaurant has great views too. If you want a safe and relaxing stay, with no urban noises, I'd throughly recommend La Sapiniere as a hotel worth considering... And you can ski right up to the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 are connected. Good if you've got young kids or teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing