We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel has a great position overlooking the Mont Blanc range. The staff are excellent and are so helpful we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel could do with a bit of 'doing up' in certain areas but our room 44 was ideal for our requirements. We also were in the wing with a lift which was so handy.The food is extremely good and plenty of it, no one will ever be hungry. The packed lunches are very good too and welcome if on a walk with no cafe nearby. We took the trip to Lake Annecy and also the three countries trip and they were well run and so enjoyable. Many thanks to all the girls and boys and to our rep Joy.

Room Tip: choose one in the wing with the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 924sheila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Terrific hotel located in the best position to view Mont Blanc. The young staff are very good catering for everyone. The rooms are adequate and clean, room views excellent and food very good. Plenty of walking to be done and of course shopping. Make sure you go mid June onwards to get the benefit of all the lifts being open, and some restaurants close early June.

Room Tip: All rooms seam to have a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shawsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel gets 5 stars even though the rooms are a little dated and in need of some TLC. They are clean which is the main thing and the maids are very comical. The food is fabulous and the attention to detail is second to none. The cakes are soups at 4.30pm are also superb. The views from the dining room are also stunning. The staff are also excellent. Joy the rep was also brilliant. Very helpful. I would stay here again in a flash. Just don't expect the rooms to be Ritz or The Savoy standard.

Room Tip: Good view from Room 31 but hope they have sorted out the plumbing in the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateThorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is a real gem, with excellent food and amazing staff.

Yes the rooms are dated, but they are kept clean. I was in one of the original rooms (room 6), which had character, a comfortable double bed, a large bathroom and very good wifi reception. Oh, and when the clouds allowed, an amazing view of Mont Blanc. (The wardrobes were in the bathroom, which seemed a bit odd at first, but wasn't really an issue.)

The hotel is well situated, (only about five minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix) with a lovely meadow on the other side of the road and a good starting place for walks.

On most mornings there was a breakfast buffet with the option of a full English, pancakes or porridge. Five days out of seven there was a free packed lunch with choice of baguette filling, crisps, fruit juice drink and yummy flapjack. The hotel then served afternoon tea from 4:30pm to 5:30 pm (with cake, quiche and even soup). Finally the evening meals (available six evenings out of seven), where each course was skillfully prepared. To say we ate well would be an understatement.

We all had a wonderful time in the best value hotel in Chamonix.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a Mont Blanc view, as not all rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalkingMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Returned on 29-5-13 we had a great time thanks to the friendly staff and inghams rep joy, We had snow rain and even a little sun. Excellent location surrounded by mountains.The hotel was a little dated and tired, but the staff made up for it, they were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and you got to meet other holiday makers as you were put on different tables each dinner time.
For a small hotel the menu was varied and plentiful and also included wine with evening meals!
Joy the inghams rep was very informative and great fun,which makes a nice change from some of our previous inghams reps.
For a 3 star hotel we got 5 star service from the friendly helpful staff, that is what made it a memorable holiday, well done Sophie and team.

Room Tip: Great views from most rooms,we had a triple room which had twin beds and a separate room with a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Returned on 29-5-2013 had great time even with snow falling in late May. Hotel in superb position with mountains all around, when we could see them. Staff absolutely wonderful from the time we arrived, so friendly and helpful, full of information if you had queries. We were personally spoken to by each member of staff every day. Meals were of 5star quality, one evening we did not like the menu choices so were offered 2 other options. Each evening you sit with different people for dinner which was very interesting. Joy our Inghams rep was the best we have had , on many holidays. A great sense of humour, worked far more hours than a normal day, she really goes out of her way to make this holiday special. Yes part of the hotel is a little dated but clean and welcoming. This minor comment no way should put anyone off of booking. We recommend a visit.

Room Tip: we had room 44 a treble room with 3rd bed in alcove.Great view and lift to floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

An ok hotel that defiantly needs much improvement before I would return.

Staff, A great bunch of people who are really courteous and polite. Did a fantastic job of housekeeping and really helpful. Especially Joy and Sofie.

The Room we stayed in (27) was ok. Old and tired decor, it defiantly needs a new coat of paint all round. Beds were very comfy though. No TV or tea making facilities in room, so you have to go down to the bar to make a cuppa whenever you need.
You can only get Wi-Fi in the downstairs in the lounge/bar area and it will keep signing you out every 30-45 minutes. I have never stayed in a hotel before that kicks you off so soon and frequently!

Food,( I think the hotel may have changed chefs since the early 2012/13 reviews) Not awful but not so good either. Very typical English fare with no imagination used at all. The closest we got to a French style dish all week was Duck with Orange Sauce which I would have been ashamed to serve to anyone especially in France.
Also when the weather outside is 10c or colder I don’t want salad as a menu option each day!

Most of the food we did get was edible but when visiting a foreign country you should at least to be served something at least trying to be local or of the area. Not a Beef Stovie!! (a SCOTTISH Delicacy)

Menus are set by Inghams and not the chefs in the hotel, I did feel sorry for them having to cook such poor and unimaginative menus. Shame on you Inghams.

Breakfast a good example. There are numerous wonderful butchers in Chamonix but got served cheap own brand sausages. Such a waste of the local availability. Croissant were all squashed into a bowl so if you where one of the last down for breakfast you had flat ones.
The Chefs here need better menus with more typical French dishes.

The Bar in the hotel is quite pricey, much cheaper to go to the Super-U and buy it there.
€4 for a pint of Amstel in the bar or 6 bottles from town for less than €6

Chamonix is a fantastic place to stay but for the money we paid I would expect alot more.
I will come back to Chamonix, but I would never stay with Inghams again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing