We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent a fantastic week at La Sapiniere, the staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for us especially Helen the manageress and the brilliant chef Mark Smith who cooked some wonderful 5* gourmet meals for us all week. My granddaughter Bella was especially impressed as she has to have gluten free food and Mark made her feel very welcome and special.

Well done to all. Shame the bus services and information regarding pistes open/closed were not forthcoming as we would like but all the residents were so helpful and friendly we had our own information center in house.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which was a 2 bedroom suite on the top floor with magnificent views of Mount Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

An excellent hotel with wonderful views of Mont Blanc. The package included full board with packed lunch, afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks, wine with evening meal. The staff were all very helpful and the location is a few hundred metres from the centre of Chamonix. Early in September is a great time to visit for walking in this wonderful area. Taken as a package with Inghams for just £490 for 7 nights and included UK flight, and transfer from Geneva.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiseowlTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here as part of an Ingham's end of season offer. This meant a particularly attractive price so the review needs to be read with this in mind. There were loads of positives to list:
Excellent staff, always helpful, smiling and enthusiastic, a good advertisement for the Company.
The Hotel is well placed ~5 minutes from Chamonix town and easy access to bus stops/station.
The free bus/train pass opened up all the valley and meant that it was always possible to find walks.
Good food and plenty of it, a pretty inexhaustible supply of wine too, all part of Ingham's Chalet Hotel option.
Staggering views of the Mont Blanc massif from bedroom windows.
WIFI was always available and decent quality too.
Just a few negatives, all noted by other reviewers:
The hotel has seen a lot of use but it was always kept clean by staff.
It would have been good to have eaten, at least something, a little French. Maybe Inghams don't want guests to be too adventurous but France isn't a high risk country.
Mealtimes were a bit strictly controlled, dinner was always at the same time. Again, I guess, not much choice with the Chalet Hotel option.
To echo an earlier comment, if you don't need 4 star ambience, La Sapiniere offers high quality service at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose a Mont Blanc view room, most have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location with most rooms looking out at the front across a grassy area towards the Mont Blanc mountains. Ony a few minutes walk into town too. As many have pointed out, parts of the hotel are a little tired and old-fashioned, but everything worked for us and we did not mind. The staff are really friendly, helpful and efficient. Perhaps it was because it was the last week of the summer season, but everyone seemed to be smiling!

Our room 27 was simple but spacious and the ensuite bathroom had been refurbished, but not the separate toilet room. Comfortable double bed with an additional single bed, and loads of storage and hanging space.

The food was very good in quality and quantity, with nice extras like packed lunches, fresh fruit, afternoon soup, tea and cakes, pre-dinner drinks and snacks, and a choice of wine with dinner all included. Self-service hot drinks were available all day.

The Inghams representative, Joy, was always available, friendly, knowledgeable and experienced. A big asset to the company.

Highly recommended hotel if you are not needing a four star ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at this chalet hotel, we were in room 30 on the top floor with stunning views of Mont Blanc range of mountains. the Inghams staff were all lovely and work so hard to give you a great holiday, The food and wine is delicious and plentiful Joy the tour manager is very Knowledgable and accompanies the groups on days out. We really enjoyed the tree countries tour. you must get a lift multipass and go on as many trains and gondalars as possible during your stay. Don't miss the Tranway de Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi, looking forward to our next break with Inghams.Tony and Judy.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing mountains 30, 27 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel needs a little touching up in places but in a way this adds to the great chalet feel .The food was excellent the service and staff were second to none polite professional and courteous.The view from my balcony of Mont Blanc was astonishing. The location within Chamonix of the chalet is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

For the price paid in such an expensive resort, this holiday was exceptionally good value for money. All staff were extremely friendly, hardworking and helpful and helped make the holiday a really great one. Joy, the Inghams rep, was particularly good - we've never seen a rep so often in a hotel before!

Food was in plentiful supply. In terms of catering for vegetarians, the hotel was very good - one of the best I have come across abroad for a very long time, so thank you Chef! My husband's only criticism with the food was that it could have been a little more adventurous for the (mostly) carnivorous clientele - he felt it was 'safe,' so as not to upset too many palates; however, the ample supply of wine did make up for this! In addition, the afternoon tea was superb - I spent countless afternoons over-eating on the outdoor terrace gazing at Mont Blanc! The packed lunches were also gratefully received and saved a fortune eating out!

Our room was on the top floor, in the corner at the end of the hotel, by the lift (number 42 - new part of the building) from where we had an absolutely stunning view of Mont Blanc and the surrounding mountains, not to mention the paragliders! The room itself was perfectly adequate, with a recently fitted modern bathroom - only the wardrobe could have done with updating (& a few more hangers). On the very hot days we were there, air-conditioning would have been perfect - particularly in the dining room, where you almost became stuck to your chair!

The location of La Sapiniere itself was quite handy for local buses (only 5-6 mins walk) and the train (10mins), so we could get about very easily to a wide range of places/walks/attractions etc... . Chamonix town centre itself could be reached within five minutes also. On the day you don't receive a packed lunch (Monday), there are a couple of patisseries nearby to buy food from quite inexpensively. For the evening meal, there are countless establishments varying hugely in price - you just need to look around carefully (there is a McDonald's if you are really stuck!).

Overall, we had a really fabulous holiday and would recommend this hotel to you, in terms of providing excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 42 in the corner on the third floor had a great view of Mont Blanc; it also had a refurbished b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank olivercat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing