We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are absolutely wonderful couldn't do enough for you.”
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just back from a great stay at the Sapiniere, the Food is great the staff are wonderful and couldnt do enough for you, a great example on the kitchen staffs night off we took pizza back to the hotel for the family to eat in the room,Helen and Charlie set a table in the dinning area so we could eat in comfort.
Great views from the rooms of the valley and mountains.
The rooms are very clean and everything worked.
We took our 2 daughters who are 1 & 3 and the staff really went out of there way to look after them.
I would recommend this hotel 100% the only negative comment I could make would be the Wifi didn't always work!other than that a great hotel and a great team.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wroe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great week spent at Hotel Sapinere. Fantastic food-cooked breakfast available at 5.30am on day of departure!, Great service from staff and Helen.
Room very comfortable and very warm and loads of hot water.
Good position for town and catching bus to Brevent.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was above bar, slight noise from people walking past but wifi in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkjules_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent week at la Sapiniere mainly thanks to the staff who were supremely friendly throughout and produced excellent food, made the trip thoroughly enjoyable. You can ski in/out of the hotel into the brevet ski area Or the bus stop is~10mins walk to other areas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad4177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

An Inghams Hotel that has lovely views of Mont Blanc and the nursery slopes below Brevent. Staff are a young team and were hard working and good natured all week and very sociable. Notable staff members were the excellent chef Mark, Barman Dan and Helen the assistant manager all of whom could not do enough for you and our star rating probably reflects this. However it is worth making a few constructive points that may help improve from very good to excellent. It is also worth bearing in mind that staff were new and only two weeks into their season and so we may have had the best of them so their challenge will be to maintain their upbeat disposition throughout the season and look for some positive solutions to guests constructive points such as: 1. Monitoring guests who may choose to arrive at breakfast later in order to take their breakfast order 2. Not enough chairs in the bar area for the number of guests. This could be easily remedied by having fixed sofa style bench seats around the outer bar area (below the windows) and then some single or double easy chairs and tables opposite them along with some more bar stools. 3. There are no bar receipts, just a guests signature for each purchase and guests are encouraged to settle bar bills in cash or pay a charge on credit cards. However I had a Euro account debit card for which there is no excuse in making a charge for and this prevented me settling my bill on the Thursday evening as I had to go and draw out cash. 4. Our room (3) was in the older section of the hotel and very noisy from guests children above and despite raising this it was not effectively dealt with. 5. Whilst we completed feedback forms on the Friday evening these would have been significantly different if left until the Sat morning as staff focus seems to switch to new arriving guests. 6. Staff making skype calls home in guest accommodation areas was a little irksome as you could either hear this through the walls in neighbouring bedrooms or in the bar area. As the staff have their own separate accommodation and an office I was a bit bewildered as to why this was not done in a more private setting.
7. Finally cleaning room 2 immediately next to ours giving us a rude awakening at 6:45am on the day we were leaving was ridiculously insensitive. When I popped my head out of the door and asked the two members of staff to stop the noise they gave a worthless apology as they carried on and were hoovering 15 mins later. As rooms do not have to be vacated until 11am it is unacceptable that because some guests had left early that rooms are cleaned before breakfast at the expense of other guests just to enable the staff to finish earlier. Other guests may not have been affected but for us these latter points cost the hotel our 5 star rating and 2/3 of our intended tip. In summary, we had a great time with our family skiing, enjoyed great food and attentive staff and with the above reservations would recommend your stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank R0cket-III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent a fantastic week at La Sapiniere, the staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for us especially Helen the manageress and the brilliant chef Mark Smith who cooked some wonderful 5* gourmet meals for us all week. My granddaughter Bella was especially impressed as she has to have gluten free food and Mark made her feel very welcome and special.

Well done to all. Shame the bus services and information regarding pistes open/closed were not forthcoming as we would like but all the residents were so helpful and friendly we had our own information center in house.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which was a 2 bedroom suite on the top floor with magnificent views of Mount Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

An excellent hotel with wonderful views of Mont Blanc. The package included full board with packed lunch, afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks, wine with evening meal. The staff were all very helpful and the location is a few hundred metres from the centre of Chamonix. Early in September is a great time to visit for walking in this wonderful area. Taken as a package with Inghams for just £490 for 7 nights and included UK flight, and transfer from Geneva.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiseowlTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here as part of an Ingham's end of season offer. This meant a particularly attractive price so the review needs to be read with this in mind. There were loads of positives to list:
Excellent staff, always helpful, smiling and enthusiastic, a good advertisement for the Company.
The Hotel is well placed ~5 minutes from Chamonix town and easy access to bus stops/station.
The free bus/train pass opened up all the valley and meant that it was always possible to find walks.
Good food and plenty of it, a pretty inexhaustible supply of wine too, all part of Ingham's Chalet Hotel option.
Staggering views of the Mont Blanc massif from bedroom windows.
WIFI was always available and decent quality too.
Just a few negatives, all noted by other reviewers:
The hotel has seen a lot of use but it was always kept clean by staff.
It would have been good to have eaten, at least something, a little French. Maybe Inghams don't want guests to be too adventurous but France isn't a high risk country.
Mealtimes were a bit strictly controlled, dinner was always at the same time. Again, I guess, not much choice with the Chalet Hotel option.
To echo an earlier comment, if you don't need 4 star ambience, La Sapiniere offers high quality service at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose a Mont Blanc view room, most have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing