We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, food and location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, food and location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 14 staying , including my 2 year old, and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating- from filling my daughter's milk bottle to giving advice on the local area, nothing was too much trouble!
The gorgeous mountain views and sunny balcony was a huge positive, as was the standard of the food- good restaurant standard!
The only negative I would add is that parts of the chalet are a bit tired... But we found that the positives certainly compensated for that!
We had a lovely week and would certainly stay again!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    80
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Sapiniere is a little tired inside, however the standard of the food and service more than make up for this. The bedrooms have lovely views of Mount Blanc and some have sunny balconies. Its in a good position not to far from the centre of town, and not too far to walk for the ski bus. We had an excellent week thanks to all the staff and hotel manager for their efforts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having never had a winter break, been to the Alps, stayed in a Chalet style hotel or skied, the decision to take the whole family to La Sapiniere, Chamonix was not without it's concerns. Happily I can report that the whole experience exceeded expectations and has made us all the more determined to return.
The hotel could not be more conveniently located for the town, the slopes and transport. Whilst it is dated in decor it does not lack comfort or cleanliness. As for the food it was simply exceptional! Breakfasts filled you up nicely for the day ahead; at 4pm soup, cakes and tea/coffee welcomed you back from your day's activities; dinner time was a meal that always had variety, quantity and a professional quality that suggests the chef and his assistant are destined for great things.
As for the staff I can honestly say that they could not be faulted at all. They were always friendly, courteous, helpful and only too keen to make sure your needs were met. Thomas and Helen ran a tight ship but clearly have an excellent relationship with their staff. The chalet boys and girls were always immaculately presented and the standard of room cleaning beats what most hotels would provide. We were fortunate enough to have Charley D to look after ours! Put plainly the staff are a credit to themselves and Inghams.
Do not have any doubts about booking La Sapiniere....you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We have a weeks ski holiday each year, mainly in French alps, and this was definitely the best 3* we have stayed in.
The room was attractive and a good size with a long balcony and fabulous view of Mont Blanc. Good shower and bath but not much hot water that week, problem with plumbing which think is sorted now.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the service was of a very high professional standard. The rep, Gareth, hotel manager, Tommy, and assistant, Hannah, were all lovely.
The food was extremely good, better than many very expensive restaurants in the UK, and the wine was plentiful and served in bottles.
Seating is chalet style with other guests, which was great.
On departure a full breakfast with hot option was served from 5:30 and many of the staff were around at that time.
We would definitely return to La Sapiniere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful week in Chamonix where we were hosted by the excellent team at the Sapiniere Chalet Hotel. The hotel is in a great location being a short walk to the centre of town with very close access to ski hire shops and the Chamonix shuttle bus that takes you to Grand Montets and the other ski areas.

We were a group of 5 and had 1 double and 1 triple room. Our triple room was adequate - very small with basic furnishings, warm with a clean modern bathroom that looks to have been recently renovated. There was ample supply of hot water apart from the last night when the boiler broke (but this was quickly repaired and staff kept us informed on the status of repairs).

Overall La Sapiniere is a functional hotel that looks to have been extended on a few occasions beyond its original layout. Some areas of the hotel, including fixtures and fittings are a little tired and need redecoration but the bar space / living room and the dining room are very comfortable with wonderful views of Mont Blanc.

The absolute best thing about La Sapiniere was the wonderful team that hosted us during our holiday. Each and every member of the team were brilliant and they delivered a service beyond that of any other ski holiday I have been on. Everyone was friendly and helpful and delivered a level of service that was on a par with many top hotels that I have stayed in previously around the world. Special mention has to be made about the quality of the meals that we had during our week. Titch and Johnny from the kitchen were introduced to us at the end of the week and they received a well deserved round of applause from all the guests. The variety and standard of food that they delivered during the week was AMAZING. Special mention to Dan who ran the bar at the hotel. He was an absolute legend who delivered drinks efficiently with a smile, always had time for a chat and entertained us on a couple of nights with his musical skills.

To summarise - the hotel is a little tired but is well located with great views of Mont Blanc. Any disappointment you have with the condition or lack of facilities at the hotel (no sauna, hot-tub) is more than compensated for by the brilliant service we received from Tommy and the wonderful team he has looking after the guests. Well done to all involved

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a brilliant stay at this resort. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned to a great standard every day! Lovely views from the room, great location to slopes and the town of Chamonix. This resort caters for all ages and the staff can't do enough to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Would definitely recommend and would love to come back here next year. Food was outstanding, great choice of menu each night and if there is something you don't like they are more than happy to make you something else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our stay from March 15-22, 2014, was blessed with wall-to-wall sunshine and the snow was superb.

I shared room 32 with my sister's partner and we loved our stay. The room was well away from public areas so we had a peaceful time and no trouble getting to sleep after our long days of ski-ing.

Comfortable beds, nice bathroom (with bath – lovely) and a balcony view of Mont Blanc and the nursery slopes. Great access to Brevent bubble lift, buses to other areas. Not a great problem but we opted to 'stay local' except for visits to Grand Motets and Aguille du Midi, which were enjoyable.

Tommy the hotel manager and Gareth the Inghams rep were excellent, as were their entire team.

Nice touch from Kirstie, who cleaned our room – every day her ‘report card’ contained an interesting fact, which always gave us a smile.

Meals were excellent, not just in terms of quality but also the atmosphere. The dining room was always buzzing and the staff were attentive, efficient and friendly without being intrusive.

Town of Chamonix is great for a post-ski, pre-meal stroll – nice atmosphere which can only come from a truly historic town.

If you’re thinking of going there we would recommend La Sapiniere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing