We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“None Better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“None Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent the last week of the season in La Sapinere. I have to say that this was the best value for money of any ski trip that I have been on. Having organised trips for the past 30 odd years all others pale into insignificance with regards to the quality of service, friendliness of staff, quality (and amount ) of all meals and general ambiance. More like a family run enterprise than one chalet within a huge company. All the staff made the week memorable, from the manager Tommy to Helen, Charlotte, Charlie, Beth, James, Kirstie, Gareth, Luke and the main man Daniel(barman).

The food was excellent. Breakfast both hot and cold, afternoon high tea, canopies and aperitifs, dinner to die for. If you want to shed some weight, this chalet is not for you.

Although it was spring skiing, there was still plenty of variety on the three main ski areas in the Chamonix area. Also Courmayeur is covered in the ski pass and was well worth the visit during our stay.

If you want value for money and service with a smile, La Sapinere is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40, great view of Mont Blanc. 43 & 41 also have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    78
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhosneigir, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I can't speak highly enough of this place, really. As a rather difficult group of ten, we were treated to some of the best staff I've ever holidayed with. Every single member were pleasant, beyond helpful and catered to our every whim. I do agree that parts of the building itself need some work (during the last night you could hear many people attempting to leave for buses, but as most people don't get up at 5am this isn't usually a problem most nights!), however the service received absolutely made up for it. On the comment forms it asked if there was anyone that particularly deserved mentionning - I did name several of the staff including Gareth, Tommy, Beth and Dan for being outstanding, however I never found out the names of the catering staff and they all deserve a special mention as the meals were just superb, and even provided veggie sausages at breakfast! Well done, guys. Easily the best skiing trip I've ever been on and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_B1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhosneigr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Eight of us stayed here for the last week of the season.First thing we noticed was that the rep,Gareth was in fact Eddie Izzards twin.To his credit he put up with me for a whole week without cracking.All the staff were great fun and looked after us really well.My only issue was that we were in the old part of the hotel which has yet to be renovated,though Tommy,the manager did say they were addressing this during the summer.Tho whoever came up with the idea of laminate flooring on old floorboards needs shooting as the ceiling creaked like an extra from The Addams family every time the people above walked around which was a pain when I was trying to sleep.The deficiencies of the building are more than made up for by the quality of the staff.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you are thinking of booking a skiing holiday in Chamonix then look no further than La Sapiniere. This was without a doubt the best holiday I have ever been on. As a group of 10 people we were not sure how we would be welcomed as sometimes when arriving to places in big groups this can be off putting, but not at La Sapiniere. The staff at this hotel were the most incredible people I have ever met. Every whim was catered for and all this was done exceptionally and most importantly with a smile.

The entire team of staff at La Sapiniere were extremely conscientious and made sure that everyone enjoyed their stay so I would like to say a huge thank you to; Tommy, Gareth, Charlotte x2, Dan, Helen, Kirstie, James and Beth. When we arrived at the airport our coach was waiting and we departed nice and quickly from Geneva airport into Chamonix, whilst on board our coach Gareth, who was our Inghams rep at La Sapiniere introduced himself and began explaining all the procedures with regards to lift passes. Gareth then came around each group and you could purchase your lift passes there and then which was a great way of doing things. When we got to our hotel check in was simple and we were allowed to drop off our bags nice and quickly to start getting used to our new home for the week. The town of Chamonix was fantastic, lots of things to see and do and some great places to eat and drink.

The next thing that must take a huge mention was the food at La Sapiniere. Every morning you had the choice of a full cooked breakfast as well as a vast array of the continental breakfast which I have to say was fantastic. Then between 4.30pm-5.30pm afternoon tea was served and this was no ordinary afternoon tea, there was soup cold meats and cheeses a selection of breads, cakes, cookies and as much tea and coffee as you could drink (although tea and coffee was served all day). The evening meals deserve a special mention as these really were fantastic. Every evening your meal started off with aperitifs and canapes in the bar and then at 8pm you were called through to dinner and I have to say this was some of the best food I have ever eaten with such a great choice for everyone. You would never have thought that the head chef had left a few weeks ago so it just goes to show how well the team managed together.

Our room was very good, we had room number 43 which I must say had one of the best views of Mont Blanc I have ever seen. Our room was cleaned everyday by James and me and my boyfriend enjoyed reading our little facts that James left us each day. On the last day of our stay James had left us a postcard thanking us for our stay and this postcard will be a brilliant reminder of just how much we enjoyed our holiday. The entertainment put on by the staff was fantastic we had a bar crawl night on the Monday to allow us to get to know the town and the staff and it was fantastic, we also had a quiz on Thursday night which was brilliant fun so much so for us as our team won.

I have to say overall this was the most enjoyable holiday I have ever been on and I would encourage anyone who is thinking to going to Chamonix then this is definitely the place to stay. You will not be disappointed with your choice and I can definitely say that we will be 100% returning next year and hopefully for a few years to come.

Once again a massive thank you to all the staff at La Sapiniere, what ever you all go on to do I wish you all the best for the future.

Kim Metcalfe & Chris Rudd

Room Tip: We had room number 43 and it has the most incredible views. Any room on the front side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel was amazing and the staff where really helpful! The food was probably some of the best food I've ever had and after noon tea was the best!Great for skiing and lots to do in town although if you go when we went the Q For the grand montets was very big.

Room Tip: The higher room you get the better view but the more tiring it is to get to after a day of skiing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed for a week from 22March2014 on an Inghams holiday
Excellent flights , transfers and ski reps
Hotel great and food first class
All the staff so helpful
Accommodation very comfortable and spacious

Room Tip: Room 29 very nice with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUALA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We are regular skiers and have been over 15 times and this year was one of our best yet, thanks to the fantastic staff at Sapiniere. Gareth the rep gave us excellent service starting at the airport. Dan the barman was really good fun and helpful....and he made some very good cocktails. Helen, Charlotte x 2, Kirstie and Beth really went the extra mile and made our holiday so enjoyable. All the little things were noted and such a nice touch. We had Beth cleaning our room and she did an amazing job - we particularly liked the quotes left each day. The food was outstanding every day - you would never of known the head chef had left 2 weeks prior to our stay. A sign of good management and excellent kitchen staff. Hats off to you Tommy - you have an amazing team.

The hotel has fantastic views of Mont Blanc and is in a good location, although slightly tired looking was perfect for our needs.

Please Mr/s Inghams, can you negotiate with the staff to ensure they stay together and let us know where they are next season?!!

Rachel and James (Anderson)

Room Tip: Room 31 and 32 had lovely views on Mont Blanc and plenty of storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAnderson592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing