We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a charming family-run hotel, located relatively near Chamonix. You need a car to move around, and the hotel offers plenty of parking and is within easy reach from the motorway. No noise at all from the road as it passes at some distance, and higher, from the hotel.

The hotel has spectacular views of the mountain range. Rooms were small but well appointed and renovated with a classic mountain feel. The breakfast buffet is well worth it, and the meals are absolutely top quality as many others have remarked.

Staff is attentive to detail and very friendly / competent.

This is definitely one of the places to wholehartedly recommend to visitors.

Room Tip: Request a room with mountain views - the panorama is well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvprva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have just returned from a first ski visit to Chamonix with a group of friends. Our organizer had previously stayed at this family-run gem and so we stayed for a week to sample the downhill/cross-country ski, but also the tremendous hospitality of this hotel.
My wife and I had a 'mountain' style room: rustic, comfortable, warm, bright and easy place to spend time. The bedding was fresh and cosy and the hospitality was unparalleled in my visits to France. Our views on 2 sides were towards the stunning Aiguille du Midi and Les Houches.
The demi-pension was extremely good value, the menu varied and with lots of fresh options. Wifi was free and there was cable TV for those who go into withdrawal without a daily dose of BBC or ITV.
I note an earlier reviewer cribbing about the 1960s dining room interior design: I would offer that this hotel is comfortable, authentic (in a vernacular style) and well-placed (c100 meters) near the small rail line into Chamonix (9 minutes' journey time to the main station there). It serves as a base for ski and hiking the Mont Blanc Massif.
The wait staff are all connected to the family and their work is coordinated, efficient and skilled: providing a generous buffet breakfast in the mornings, cleaning and vacuuming around prior to the lunch and dinner guests' arrival (many of whom were non-resident), offering a tremendous menu complet option and all with a good humour and kind greeting.
My only negative observation was the lack of a vegetarian menu for guests who prefer that option, despite advance notice. It was an awkward recurring theme each evening until the maitre d'hotel intervened and ensured there was an equally positive dining experience on offer for my friends.
I would otherwise strongly recommend Hotel de l'Aiguille du Midi as a base for ski or hiking (see below re Chamonix itself as a resort).
There is a Jacuzzi and sauna which my party enjoyed and ample parking and ski-room facilities.

Addendum: Note that transport around the valley proper is disconnected and using a car to visit the area and get to the telecabines for skiing is an advantage. Cross country ski is more readily accessed with no lines or hassles. The Mairie of Chamonix really needs to work to ensure visitors can get about between sites with more ease and fewer long lines at the bus stops. Car parking can be a challenge on busy days and the bus links are not well thought through logistically. The lack of this facility is a major drawback with what would be a lovely town to keep going back to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We did not stay at this hotel as Chamonix was fully booked during the French school ski week. However, we came here to dine to celebrate my wifes's special birthday. We both opted for the Menu Aiguille. We have done some extended traveling and dining and we can honestly say that the Menu Aiguille was excellent! The detail to every course served was shown with great care and love. Many compliments to the Chef! We had eaten at various Michelin recommended restaurants in Chamonix and the Menu Aiguille was by far the best. Do not hesitate to reserve a table here either for lunch or dinner, you will not be disappointed! If you have a car, it is well worth coming here for such a pleasurable dining experience. The restaurant offers much better value than in Chamonix. The hotel is only 3 kms outside of Chamonix. There is plenty of hotel parking.

Thank you so much for the special birthday cake! It was a wonderful surprise and delicious.
As the other guests have mentioned, this is a hotel with over 100 hundred years of family tradition with a great staff. Although our Menu was a six-course meal, the portions were large and beautiful. To our surprise, because there was enough distance between the courses, we did not feel bloated after our wonderful meal. The dessert buffet was to die for! The restaurant also offers smaller menus which offers great value and for every budget and of course a la carte. Thank you family Farini and staff for making my wife's birthday dinner and mine, one not to be forgotten.

When we are in the Chamonix region again, we will definitely come here again, especially for the wonderful dining pleasure.

Again, many thanks!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wegeforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. Nicely decorated, cosy, clean but a bit small rooms. Very friendly staff. Hotel itself is not centrally located, therefore to go to Chamonix center or to the ski lifts one needs a car or to take public transportation. All in all, I recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Lovely family run hotel where the staff are really friendly and helpful. Great position - quiet yet so close to train and bus that with free transport card supplied at hotel that you don't need a car. There are plenty of walks to be done immediately from the hotel. Breakfast is magnificent - a huge variety of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, freshly squeezed orange, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, delicious French bread, variety of home-made jams, cakes and pastries. Such a good breakfast makes for a good day on the ski slopes or walking in the mountains. 4 or 5 course dinner is excellent too. The views of Les Bossons glacier and the Aiguille du Midi from many rooms in the hotel are incredible. For summer there is a pool and tennis court as well as table tennis and billiards. In the winter there is plenty of room to dry boots and clothes. We have had two marvellous stays at this hotel and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tengill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a great experience staying at the Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi. We were pleasantly shocked to find a clear view of the Les Bossons glacier from the hotel lobby. The room was charming and full of character. Our favorite part was the service at the restaurant; we had a delightful meal and enjoyed the waiter's wit and personality. It was very clear that the establishment was family run and we loved the atmosphere. We hope to return and stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshuamiller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Ok, so let me first say that if Trip Advisor would allow 6 stars I would be happy to accurately rate our stay here. This was the best Christmas holiday we've ever had.. mainly due to the hotel and staff of Hotel Aiguille du Midi.

Room was excellent and the view of Mont Blanc is amazing. Restaurant was fantastic and Christmas dinner was amazing (even Father Christmas made an appearance.)

But the thing that sets the hotel apart is the staff. Warm, friendly, welcome and more than helpful. Thank you Hotel Aiguille du Midi... A wonderful vacation.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank TeomnerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,156 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi

Address: 479 Chemin Napoleon | Les Bossons, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £120 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aiguille du Midi offers a spectacular setting for a holiday in the Alps – facing Mont-Blanc and the Glacier des Bossons, the largest ice cascade in Europe: authentic French cuisine, Spa and sauna, lounge areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Aiguille Du Midi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing