We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay with family Farini”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely stay with family Farini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Sincere thanks to M & Mde Farini and family for looking after my wife and I during our short stay. Comfortable room with a great view up to Mont Blanc and the Bosson Glacier + the 1924 Olympic Ski Jump. Relaxing bar with lovely snacks to choose from and superb food from the restaurant. Parking easy and super access into Cham and onto Autoroute Blanche. Look forward to visiting in the warmer months to enjoy the gardens pool and tennis court. Many thanks Family Farini.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
56
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

As you can see from the other reviews this was a real treat of a place to stay. The hotel has been in the same family for six generations and each member takes real pride in their work. From the friendly helpful greeting on arrival to the professional help on departure we really couldn't fault any of it. Our room was clean and comfortable with beautiful views of the mountains and we liked the red/white traditional alpine style used in the curtains and cushions. We didn't have a kettle in the room as this is a British thing so we bought our own, forewarned by Trip Adviser!
The very best thing about this hotel was the food. Each morning we had a buffet of cheeses, meats, cereals,breads, six types of cakes and fresh orange juice you made yourself with the oranges by the side of the machine. Back from the skiing it was relaxing to sit on the terrace with a drink from the bar and always a generous titbit of food to accompany it. Best of all was the evening meal which was a delight. There was a good selection on the menu and invariably we always had too much, tempted by the local cheeses trolley and the display of 12 different desserts.
Would definitely go back again but you do need a car which suited us as we wanted to try out the different ski areas.

Room Tip: Ask for the south side with mountain views. Top floors may be a problem even though there is a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimalme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a fantastic hotel to stay in Chamonix. We stayed as part of a long ski weekend and it was such a delight. The hotel has such a warm and friendly atmosphere, Carla and the rest of the family were always on hand to provide advice and assistance - we could even buy our lift passes from reception. The amenities are of a good standard, a great location looking out to the Bosson glacier. The rooms are clean and well furnished, the restaurant is excellent and very good value. would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a charming family-run hotel, located relatively near Chamonix. You need a car to move around, and the hotel offers plenty of parking and is within easy reach from the motorway. No noise at all from the road as it passes at some distance, and higher, from the hotel.

The hotel has spectacular views of the mountain range. Rooms were small but well appointed and renovated with a classic mountain feel. The breakfast buffet is well worth it, and the meals are absolutely top quality as many others have remarked.

Staff is attentive to detail and very friendly / competent.

This is definitely one of the places to wholehartedly recommend to visitors.

Room Tip: Request a room with mountain views - the panorama is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvprva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroke City NI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have just returned from a first ski visit to Chamonix with a group of friends. Our organizer had previously stayed at this family-run gem and so we stayed for a week to sample the downhill/cross-country ski, but also the tremendous hospitality of this hotel.
My wife and I had a 'mountain' style room: rustic, comfortable, warm, bright and easy place to spend time. The bedding was fresh and cosy and the hospitality was unparalleled in my visits to France. Our views on 2 sides were towards the stunning Aiguille du Midi and Les Houches.
The demi-pension was extremely good value, the menu varied and with lots of fresh options. Wifi was free and there was cable TV for those who go into withdrawal without a daily dose of BBC or ITV.
I note an earlier reviewer cribbing about the 1960s dining room interior design: I would offer that this hotel is comfortable, authentic (in a vernacular style) and well-placed (c100 meters) near the small rail line into Chamonix (9 minutes' journey time to the main station there). It serves as a base for ski and hiking the Mont Blanc Massif.
The wait staff are all connected to the family and their work is coordinated, efficient and skilled: providing a generous buffet breakfast in the mornings, cleaning and vacuuming around prior to the lunch and dinner guests' arrival (many of whom were non-resident), offering a tremendous menu complet option and all with a good humour and kind greeting.
My only negative observation was the lack of a vegetarian menu for guests who prefer that option, despite advance notice. It was an awkward recurring theme each evening until the maitre d'hotel intervened and ensured there was an equally positive dining experience on offer for my friends.
I would otherwise strongly recommend Hotel de l'Aiguille du Midi as a base for ski or hiking (see below re Chamonix itself as a resort).
There is a Jacuzzi and sauna which my party enjoyed and ample parking and ski-room facilities.

Addendum: Note that transport around the valley proper is disconnected and using a car to visit the area and get to the telecabines for skiing is an advantage. Cross country ski is more readily accessed with no lines or hassles. The Mairie of Chamonix really needs to work to ensure visitors can get about between sites with more ease and fewer long lines at the bus stops. Car parking can be a challenge on busy days and the bus links are not well thought through logistically. The lack of this facility is a major drawback with what would be a lovely town to keep going back to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We did not stay at this hotel as Chamonix was fully booked during the French school ski week. However, we came here to dine to celebrate my wifes's special birthday. We both opted for the Menu Aiguille. We have done some extended traveling and dining and we can honestly say that the Menu Aiguille was excellent! The detail to every course served was shown with great care and love. Many compliments to the Chef! We had eaten at various Michelin recommended restaurants in Chamonix and the Menu Aiguille was by far the best. Do not hesitate to reserve a table here either for lunch or dinner, you will not be disappointed! If you have a car, it is well worth coming here for such a pleasurable dining experience. The restaurant offers much better value than in Chamonix. The hotel is only 3 kms outside of Chamonix. There is plenty of hotel parking.

Thank you so much for the special birthday cake! It was a wonderful surprise and delicious.
As the other guests have mentioned, this is a hotel with over 100 hundred years of family tradition with a great staff. Although our Menu was a six-course meal, the portions were large and beautiful. To our surprise, because there was enough distance between the courses, we did not feel bloated after our wonderful meal. The dessert buffet was to die for! The restaurant also offers smaller menus which offers great value and for every budget and of course a la carte. Thank you family Farini and staff for making my wife's birthday dinner and mine, one not to be forgotten.

When we are in the Chamonix region again, we will definitely come here again, especially for the wonderful dining pleasure.

Again, many thanks!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegeforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
358 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. Nicely decorated, cosy, clean but a bit small rooms. Very friendly staff. Hotel itself is not centrally located, therefore to go to Chamonix center or to the ski lifts one needs a car or to take public transportation. All in all, I recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi

Property: Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Address: 479 Chemin Napoleon | Les Bossons, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aiguille du Midi offers a spectacular setting for a holiday in the Alps – facing Mont-Blanc and the Glacier des Bossons, the largest ice cascade in Europe: authentic French cuisine, Spa and sauna, lounge areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Aiguille Du Midi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing