We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Don't Hesitate to Book!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
hoboken
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place - Don't Hesitate to Book!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had a group of 10 people meet up here for our annual ski trip. Some of us don't ski so the spa inside the hotel was perfect. We signed up for a half board and the meals in the evening were lovely -- they also catered to our gluten-free and vegetarian friends. The breakfast was AMAZING. I loved all the choices. We were there 6 nights and didn't feel bored with the choices. The entire hotel is clean, sleek and well designed -- everything was very eco-oriented but also very nicely done (aesthetically pleasing). The only thing that looked dated was the brown shag carpet in the rooms -- this we just found amusing because it was a like a sore thumb when everything else was so modern. Never fear, the carpet was not old or dirty, I think it was a decorator's vision or something. The pool / jacuzzi area is small but very sufficient (it was never crowded) and its heated perfectly so you can comfortably enjoy the unbeatable views of Mont Blanc. just fabulous! I wish they served drinks at the pool area but they don't. :( There were also some sauna and steam room huts outside. The hotel is conveniently located - short walk to town. The staff was extremely nice and even called our US phone to let us know our room was ready early (we gave them our bags and went wandering into town) - rooms were ready by 11am! The bar/lounge was fun and comfortable. Our entire group would definitely go back again. The group consisted of married couples and singles. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    435
    130
    34
    16
See reviews for
209
501
40
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I loved this place. The hotel is clean, slick and well designed. From our bedroom you could see the south face of Mont Blanc, which lit up in the alpine sun... simply stunning.
The bar is a fantastic easy and relaxed space to chill out in, with a really good wine list. The service was business like, yet friendly. Dining was as you would expect from a french resort restaurant... a good mixture of French and world dishes, well prepared and not too heavy... again... good service.
But.... the real mention here has to be the spa!!!! Imagine sitting in a jacuzzi looking up at the face of Mont Blanc! Wooden huts house steam and sauna rooms with a refreshing (particularly in winter) walk out in the open air to cool down. We loved lazing in the pool in the mountains.
All in all, a two minute walk to the centre of town... right on the doorstep of cable cars. We chose not to ski, instead we used a local guide Kingsley to take us snowshoeing! HIghly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a delux room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaMildmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We are nearing the end of our seven day stay here and are so enthusiastic that we are writing the review even before we leave. For a three star rating, this hotel is unbelievable. The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The views are possibly the best from any hotel in Cham (as the locals call it). The restaurant Le 'A' is only just below Michelin one star standard (the ice cream is possibly the best we have sampled anywhere). On top of all this, there is the Deep Nature Spa with hamann, sauna, and all you could wish for.

As a wheelchair user, I would point out that the disabled facilities are simply excellent and the staff even reserved a particularly wide space in the garage for us upon arrival. The room, the bed, and the toilet were all perfectly suited even for a hoist user like me.

We will definitely be returning. Hope it is not too popular by then.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of Glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertWChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights to enjoy Chamonix / Mont Blanc and really couldn't have picked a better place. The hotel looks to have been recently remodeled and is very modern and comfortable. There is a heated pool + jacuzzi with spectacular mountain views which I can only complain about to say that neither was warm enough! But honestly that was my biggest complaint about this place which is telling :)

The room was large, very modern, comfortable and many of the rooms have balconies with beautiful mountain views.

The hotel staff was impeccable and was super helpful in helping us come with hikes / other trip ideas during our visit.

Breakfast was wonderful and was included in our room price (as was parking, though this was a special rate that we booked through the hotel's website).

The location of the hotel is a little bit on the outskirts of town with a 5 minute walk down the road to the Augille du Midi telecabine, and a further 3-5 minutes into the heart of town and by no means was it a problem.

This hotel is close to the Augille du Midi which is great for the summer, but it is a bit further from the other lifts, so I can't speak to how convenient the location might be in the winter for those who are looking to ski.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Comfy bed, clean, sizeable room, balcony, best TV with 5 english channels. Location good being quiet and six mins walk to centre of main street and supermarket. Underground carpark also a bonus

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattgreengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed only one night in Chamonix. The hotel is very nice, clean e the view of Mont Blanc from the room and the swimming pool is spectacular. The hotel guests can use Jacuzzi, pool, sauna and steam. The only think we did not like was the carpet in the room. Breakfast was good. A private parking is available or, in alternative, there is a public parking just outside the hotel. Staff is very friendly. Chamonix is a beautiful place and would definitely stay again in this hotel for a longer break.
Just outside the hotel we had dinner in L'impossible Restaurant. Excellent quality food, italian recipes. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I booked and paid for this hotel prior to being informed that the ski area was closing for the season some days earlier than advertised, and consequently there would be no skiing on my ski trip to Chamonix. Disappointing to say the least. I contacted the hotel and though it contravened their policy, I was able to get a full refund on my room, deposit included.

This type of service is hard to come by. I will rebook with them when next in Chamonix for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing