We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Refuge des Aiglons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
477 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed our time at the hotel. Positives: A little way from the main town, but walkable in 10-15 minutes. A very helpful and attentive staff. Great pool area. Good sized rooms. Good value for the money. Free parking across the street. Fairly good buffet breakfast (pay extra). Attractive sitting area and bar. L' Impossible was a great restaurant just a half block away. Ski lift only a block away. Negatives: Booked a standard room and was given a room over the main street. Very noisy until late evening. We left our balcony door open for cooling the room and the noise was bothersome. Would have liked the various room options listed on the booking site. Free parking was always filled so ended up paying for the parking garage .

Room Tip: Ask for mountain views and NOT rooms overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    428
    127
    34
    16
See reviews for
206
495
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordhisre, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Really nice hotel with good decor in public areas. Views to the Mont Blanc glacier while sitting in the jacuzzi!
Staff friendly and helpful and Helped us when out hire car wouldn't start!
Rooms basic but clean. Our room had balcony with door so we couldn't open the window at night, and there us no control for air con, so that wasn't ideal, however they did provide a fan. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Jellybean01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Having spent 1 night in Chamonix to Celebrate a personal anniversary we can say without a doubt the Hotel Les Aiglons was one of the highlights of our trip. The Staff could not have been friendlier, some of the best we have come across.

We received a few complimentary extras which was a lovely touch, we also had a Spa treatment which was absolutely wonderful. They seem to take a real pride in what they do here, so my advice is to indulge because you are in an extraordinary part of the world with stunning scenery as the backdrop. The hotel has a view unlike no other, it really is almost hypnotic and you will probably go into a trance staring into the abyss for long periods. Truly magical.

Breakfast was nice, the room extremely clean and everything was just perfect, I cannot think of a single negative (and we are fussy!). The Pool, Sauna etc. are great and very well maintained and clean. You won't want to leave!

We simply cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. C'est magnifique!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had a standard room at a good price having booked through TA well in advance. The receptionist was professional and welcoming. The room was spotless, modern and the bed was comfortable and a good size double. No air conditioning but you can open your door to your small balcony and fresh mountain air which is a much better option. What a view from the balcony looking onto Mont Blanc - totally stunning. The same view is available from the terrace where you can take a meal or drinks. Their cocktails were great and there was excellent service from the bar man. Good facilities - warm pool, jacuzzi and a great sauna and steam room at no additional cost. We had almost exclusive use. The hotel did take organised groups of travellers so the restaurant was very full at both dinner and breakfast so we used the local restaurants which are within a few minutes walk. We thought this a great hotel in a wonderful location - we plan to visit again and will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This hotel was really wonderful. The atmosphere was really relaxed and the staff were great. In house heated pool, sauna, steam room, massages & treatments. The view from the pool is the Aigille Du Midi - uninterupted. It's 3 min walk to the Du Midi cable car and 5 minutes walk to restaurants and shops in Chamonix. As Chamonix is quite vibrant, being 5 minutes from the center of it was a relief after a day of activities called for a good sleep. Breakfast in the restaurant (great food) starts nice and early so you can get on with your day.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing or Aigille Du Midi facing roo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steen_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoboken
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had a group of 10 people meet up here for our annual ski trip. Some of us don't ski so the spa inside the hotel was perfect. We signed up for a half board and the meals in the evening were lovely -- they also catered to our gluten-free and vegetarian friends. The breakfast was AMAZING. I loved all the choices. We were there 6 nights and didn't feel bored with the choices. The entire hotel is clean, sleek and well designed -- everything was very eco-oriented but also very nicely done (aesthetically pleasing). The only thing that looked dated was the brown shag carpet in the rooms -- this we just found amusing because it was a like a sore thumb when everything else was so modern. Never fear, the carpet was not old or dirty, I think it was a decorator's vision or something. The pool / jacuzzi area is small but very sufficient (it was never crowded) and its heated perfectly so you can comfortably enjoy the unbeatable views of Mont Blanc. just fabulous! I wish they served drinks at the pool area but they don't. :( There were also some sauna and steam room huts outside. The hotel is conveniently located - short walk to town. The staff was extremely nice and even called our US phone to let us know our room was ready early (we gave them our bags and went wandering into town) - rooms were ready by 11am! The bar/lounge was fun and comfortable. Our entire group would definitely go back again. The group consisted of married couples and singles. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I loved this place. The hotel is clean, slick and well designed. From our bedroom you could see the south face of Mont Blanc, which lit up in the alpine sun... simply stunning.
The bar is a fantastic easy and relaxed space to chill out in, with a really good wine list. The service was business like, yet friendly. Dining was as you would expect from a french resort restaurant... a good mixture of French and world dishes, well prepared and not too heavy... again... good service.
But.... the real mention here has to be the spa!!!! Imagine sitting in a jacuzzi looking up at the face of Mont Blanc! Wooden huts house steam and sauna rooms with a refreshing (particularly in winter) walk out in the open air to cool down. We loved lazing in the pool in the mountains.
All in all, a two minute walk to the centre of town... right on the doorstep of cable cars. We chose not to ski, instead we used a local guide Kingsley to take us snowshoeing! HIghly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a delux room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaMildmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Aiglons Resort & Spa with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing