We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We gave this place a shot without ever having been to the area before. The receptionists were courteous and professional and spoke very good English, much better than my French. We had the breakfast buffet and would recommend it. There was plenty to choose from, both hot and cold; bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh breads, fresh fruit, cheeses, coffee, teas, juices, spreads and more. We walked from the train station with roller board suitcases and found it an easy walk. The room was clean, good sized for two people, included a balcony. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom and WC were very clean.The only downside might have been the lighting but we didn't spend much time in the room. The city has excellent shopping and recreational opportunities. It's hard to leave when you like a place as much as we did this place. But it's good to leave when you want more instead of feeling like it's time to move on.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    447
    136
    36
    16
See reviews for
214
516
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel is excellent with very good facilities such as heated pool, spa, sauna, steam room. The food at the hotel restaurant is amazing and the wine list equally good. I highly recommend dinner there. The breakfast buffet is very good with much to choose from. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional and we would like to extend our thanks to the barman, Ludwig, for delightful service. The hotel is clean and lives up to its environmentally conscious credentials. The rooms have all you need with comfortable beds and balconies that provide the most amazing views of Chamonix and Mont Blanc. A further advantage of the hotel is its location - it is not far from the cable cars and near the centre of Chamonix.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with the view of Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillersofGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, with a fresh style. Enjoyed the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Service was very good and friendly. A must do if you like something a little out of the ordinary.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheScandinavianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We travelled with Inghams and had half board for eleven nights in June. The staff were excellent, very friendly and prepared to help.
We stayed in a superior room on the third floor and while it was adequate a few inexpensive improvements would make longer stay clients much more comfortable. The lighting was completely inadequate to the point where it was impossible to read in bed without leaning towards the bedside light three feet away. The flex on the standard lamp, the only other light in the room was too short to reach the desk and the light output ridiculous.
The room provided only one armchair and one dining type chair.
The room was very quiet with the doors closed. the door to the balcony appeared triple glazed.
On the whole the food is good and the restaurant staff very friendly and pleasant. However, the hotel sometimes caters for large groups on an overnight stay. This can have an negative impact on the availability of breakfast the following morning. On one occasion we arrived at breakfast at 7.30 to find that there were no plates, bowls, bread, juice and various other foods left. It was as though a plague of locusts had gone through. Unfortunately staffing appeared to be inadequate and half hour later some items were still wating replacement. The evening meal was very good and a plus was the hotel's willingless to serve tap water with the meal.
The hotel is very clean and the pool and spa facilities excellent. We still had an excellent holiday in Chamonix. There was no shortage of things to do in the valley with great walking, convenient free bus and train services close by for visitors and wonderful lifts to extraordinary vistas.
The hotel is genuinely a three star with a few inconveniences but not enough to stop anyone enjoying their stay. Yes we would probably go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in February 2012 for a week of snowboarding for our honeymoon.

It is a gorgeous hotel with such great facilities - including the heated outdoor pool and sauna which just feels so elegant and cool!

We were treated to a free bottle of champagne on arrival which was a lovely surprise.

The food was good (we stayed half board) though the menu is a little restrictivetive for people eating there every night (though there is a daily special for each course which is different every day).

The room was fine - nothing to write home about - not quite as modern and cool as the rest of the hotel, but not at all a reason to go put off the hotel.

The cellar houses a free ski and board locker room for all guests, and I believe there was also a free car park.

Overall, I feel that the hotel was outstanding value for money, a great location with great facilities, nice rooms with balconies - it felt to me like a decent bargain for what we paid (check out lots of different tour operators - one was charging almost double what we paid for this hotel on the same week!)

whilst In chamonix, be sure to have some apres at chambre neuf - a brilliant bar.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingOfTheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you drive, this is a good hotel to be at as there are free parking lots across the road opposite the hotel. It has a nice of Aiguille du Midi, Mont Blanc and Glacier des Bossons. Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel room was basic and clean as expected from a Best Western. Additional perks were its spa facilities (steam room, sauna, heated pool and jacuzzi were all free). The hotel restaurant was decent with good selection for dinner. It is also very close (5 min walk) to the cable car station for Aiguille du Midi and about 15 min walk into the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Aiguille du Midi and Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YSLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed in a superior room and, for the price, it delivered; it was clean, functional and well maintained. Our balcony also had a view of Mont Blanc (trees blocked it somewhat ). The central location of the hotel is just great and it benefits from a pool. The food is also pretty good, there is just about enough variation in the breakfast menu to satisfy the visitor staying for a week. However, the level of staffing for the breakfast service is minimal and sometimes the tables were not set and crockery was not replenished quickly enough. We were also fortunate to attend a garden party with food and drink (with wonderful weather thrown in) provided by the hotel - it was wonderful and we really enjoyed it! So, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing