We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good amenities and location, but not quite luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good amenities and location, but not quite luxury”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Bedrooms a little on the small side, but clean and comfortable.Food acceptable but nothing special. Good location near town centre directly opposite bus stops for free shuttles to ski areas.
Good spa facilities, plus saunas, jacuzzi, and swimming pool, although the latter is outdoor, and whilst heated, if it snows, water soon becomes too cold. Surprised at lack of 'nice' toiletries in bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    451
    139
    38
    16
See reviews for
219
520
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Very average hotel. We booked 3 rooms for our family for the WE of the 19/20 jan. So cold in one room that our kids had to ask for an electrical heater. Breakfast in the morning is simple .... and also very average. This hotel is apparently refurbished recently and rooms are OK but with nothing fancy. No minibar which is surprising for what is sold as a 4*. Connectivity is OK but there is a lack of outlets for plugs. The most annoying is this impression that everything is cold in this hotel and cheaply designed. Probably OK if we were in the heart of a main city in Europe but a bit disappointing if you re in Chamonix and look for some authenticity. One final detail which upset me. Only one toilet ... in the lobby area. Imagine the entire hotel going skiing in the morning. Thats where the queue starts.... Overall, if everything else is booked you do not have a bad deal but would advise to look for something a little bit more cozy for that price (220 EUR / night)

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

While staying at a different hotel, we came here to use the spa and for a couple's massage. First the spa itself is NOISY and CROWDED. Totally not relaxing or enjoyable. From loud people to kids running around, it was almost comical.

As for the massage, it was terrible. We each requested deep tissue, and the girls, while nice, barely put even the slightest bit of pressure on our skin. It was like they were simply rubbing oil on us, without any massaging involved at all. I glanced backwards once and noticed my girl glaring off into space, so I cleared my throat to wake her up. Just awful.

Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went for an early ski trip to Chamonix and we stayed here for 2 nights. It was the first weekend of December and the ski resorts nearby were still closed, so we went skiing in a farther ski resort. The hotel is across a ski lift, very practical for people going for ski. It is also a walking distance to the center of the village, where restaurants, bars, and shops are. It is very accessible. There is also a bus stop just across the road.

The hotel have a private parking (you need to consult the reception) for people bringing cars.

The room that we had was very small. The toilet, bathroom, terrace were all of limited space. You also have to watch out for your head while walking in some parts of it (low ceiling). The bed was very comfortable. There were complimentary coffee and tea supplies. You have to be careful when making noise as you get to hear what your neighbors are up to ;-)

One time, I catch the lady cleaner in front of our room and asked her to please make the room as we are going out at that point, it was early afternoon. She said yes. But then, we arrived at around 8pm and the room was not done. We were upset and called the reception to complain. Since there were no more house cleaners at that time, the receptionist came up fix the bed and changed the towels for us.

We spent few hours in the bar, in front of the fire place. It was nice and quiet.

Apart from it being so basic, staying in this hotel for a weekend is acceptable. Don't expect more.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacahuette2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Surprised that the rooms were so basic. The hotel photos are quite deceptive. At the very least I expected proper crockery for the tea & coffee facilities – not paper cups! I don’t feel this is a luxury, just minimum standards. Plenty of storage but as a ski resort hotel I would have expected more places to hang ski jackets and pants to dry instead we had to drape them over the armchair. And the rooms were so dark! Not nearly enough lighting. The scruffy shagpile carpet did not help either. It was difficult to tell if the carpet was clean or dirty but I get the feeling this was intentional! Artexed wall was cheap and nasty looking. A mini bar would have been nice but I guess as a 3-star this would be considered a luxury instead we had to make do storing cold drinks on the balcony. The bath robes and slippers were a nice touch. Room was nice and warm. Bathroom was fine expect the separate toilet was very strange. That’s the only positives about the room. The hotel location is excellent, 5 minutes from town and across the road from the bus stop. The locker room a great feature. I did not use the spa facilities as I did not like the thought of people watching me from the bar! The public areas were nice but I felt the restaurant let it down. Basic design, with a canteen feel. Just no overall warm feeling to the hotel. 15 euro PP for breakfast was in my opinion far too expensive when you have to get everything yourself including tea & coffee. I am not sure what the staff do but the guests should not have to ask every day for items to be topped up – plates, teapots, tea bags, eggs, egg holders, bread, cereal. Staff should keep an eye on this and top up automatically. When I mentioned this to staff he denied ever running out of things!!!! On the last day there was 5 or 6 tables waiting to be cleared away and I had to wait 10 minutes for a table. The whole breakfast setup was unacceptable but unfortunately necessary before hitting the slopes. So we did not dine in the hotel of an evening and did not have much communication with other staff except reception. One lady was particularly good. House keeping were very good. Overall poor value for money and on a par with IBIS hotels, but I guess that’s what you pay to stay in Chamonix at New Year. Just one more further point which nobody has mentioned about Chamonix itself… it’s a lovely little town and picturesque, but what is with all the dog muck? I couldn’t believe my eyes!!! Such a shame.

Room Tip: facing mont blanc - think these are superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liinsh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

A clean and contemporary hotel, we enjoyed a week here over Christmas. The standard rooms are small and the walls are quite thin - you can just about hear that people are talking in neighbouring rooms. The bathroom is modern with an excellent shower. The bed is comfortable with good quality linen. There is a TV with BBC 1 & 2 and free wifi.

The hotel offers breakfast which we found excellent compared to the local cafes. We like a cooked breakfast before hitting the slopes and the buffet on offer with eggs, bacon, sausage and hash browns was a real plus. At €15 it's not too expensive for what you get.

One of the huge benefits of this hotel is the location. Only a 5 minute walk from the town centre, it offers great access to the shops and restaurants. Most importantly however is the fact that is is only 50m from the main bus station in Chamonix that serves all the ski locations in the local area.

There is a ski locker room and a spa with hot tub, swimming pool, sauna and steam room. These are all free for guests and were not too busy after getting back at about 4 to 5pm.

While the staff are generally friendly and helpful, one particular employee was curt and almost rude on occasion. Don't let this put you off what is essentially a solid hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We booked this hotel online through Octopus.com. We got an amazing deal. Actually 50% of what the hotel webpage was asking for for the same dates. I was so looking forward to staying here. To my disappointed the photos on the webpage are far from what you get! It misleads the customer completely. Right now we are having breakfast and the buffet is ridiculous. If I had paid the price asked on the hotel webpage, I would be very mad right now!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duran79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing