We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with buses to the slopes right outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was a nice hotel with good facilities & clean rooms. The staff were great & very helpful. The bus stop to the slopes is located right outside the hotel which makes it very handy. The town's main street is 5-10 minute walk. I'd recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spartacus_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

The view is really nice as you seat for breakfast close to the window. The staff really polite. The rooms quite narrow and the internal design (although recently renovated) not really fitting to the environment . It 's nice for a short stay and really close to the main center of the village but for the price charged , someone would expect something better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our third trip to Chamonix our of ski season. We went in August for 4 nights. This hotel was nice, clean and modern. The room was a reasonable size although the balcony small, you couldn't fit a chair on it.

The pool area was nice but could have done with a few more chairs, people had to make do with sitting on the grass outside the pool area but that was not really a hardship. The water itself was warm but still refreshing particularly after hiking up and down mountains.
The only down side was that the weather was hot during our stay which was a problem when in the bedroom, no air conditioning meant the nights were hot. It was also an issue in the restaurant which really was hot in the evening. You had to book in advance if you wanted to eat on the terrace but demand for that was not high.
The half board option meant that there were some meals on the menu included whilst others had a surcharge although not significant. Food quality was good.

The location was good for the cable car to the Mont Blanc side and 10-15 mins walk to Planpraz. The walk into the centre of town was less than 10 mins. The free bus travel helped in getting up and down the valley if walking through town was to be too time consuming.
I've stayed at Savoy Du Balcons and Excelsior and would pick this one ahead of those for Summer travel.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: One with a balcony you can sit out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Les Aiglons for 4 nights and skiied 3 days in Chamonix. We had never been there before. We arrived at the hotel late at night and were a bit uncertain about our choice. The next morning, Lara, gave us excellent advice on skiing. That evening, Miguel gave us a fantastic restaurant recommendation - exactly what we had described we were looking for. The ski recommendation from Lara for the next day and Marjorie's restaurant recommendation were excellent as well. The hotel room was spacious - some parts were a bit tired, but the rest of the hotel facilities were great. The location is great. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room looking south. Great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Booked the Hotel Aiglons for a ski trip with colleagues. The reservation staff were great all the way through the booking process helping out faultlessly with booking changes, last minute requests etc. The hotel is clean and the rooms a good size which is not common for a ski hotel. Breakfast in the morning is good although the staff could be better at relaying the tables to get people in and seated faster. There was a sama band in the bar in the evenings and they were just great! Bar service veryyyyy slow...only one girl on apres ski and she was doing the bar, running to the kitchen to do coffees etc and still trying to do the bar. i would definatelty stay here again though. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days as part of a mini trip after our wedding for some skiing and to visit Chamonix. We took a mountain drop off transfer from Geneva only took 1 hr excellent and it dropped us straight to the hotel. Pros for the hotel - lovely view of the mountains (but you need to request it), the staff were very helpful, the ski lockers are very good and the ski bus stop is right beside the hotel. The hotel is also 5-10 mins walk from the town centre so excellent location. Cons for the hotel - small rooms (even superior delux!) basic furnishings, no heating/ aircon control visable in the room, over priced food, expensive for what you get !
Overall good trip but disappointing room. 3 star hotel definitely

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Just stayed in this hotel for a four day, long weekend. Very disappointing. Overall the hotel decor is soulless and very depressing. For the first two nights, our room overlooked a car park and bowling alley which meant two very noisy, sleepless nights. Rooms are pretty small. We were moved two nights later to a room overlooking the swimming pool which was an improvement from a noise point of view - although the room had a sloping roof which meant the room felt even smaller - but for this luxury we had to pay a 20 E supplement. The breakfast is okay - but all cheap products - cereal and fruits very basic. The manager is also very officious in his desire to get your room number. Although why anyone would try to get a free breakfast here would make for a very dim master criminal.... This hotel might be just about okay if you are there purely to ski and don't intend to spend anytime back at base - but if planning to spend some time relaxing and want a pleasant atmosphere in which to do it - I am sure there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure at the back where much quieter - overlooking the pool without a sloping roof .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hansonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £104 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing