We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Chamonix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Chamonix”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked Hotel Les Aiglons for a short break in Chamonix during our honeymoon. We drove from Geneva to Chamonix and the hotel was very easy to find off the main road. Having driven to Chamonix we initially struggled to find parking for the hotel. There was a public car park opposite the hotel which was constantly full so the hotel allowed us to leave our car in one of the few restaurant reserved parking spaces.
The hotel itself was modern with a great lobby space and outside restaurant and bar. The rooms were nice but maybe a little bit basic. The decor was very plain and when compared with the modern lobby this was a bit of a let down. There was also no air con in the room which meant that the room was boiling at night.
Having had this little moan, the hotel's location was perfect. Very close to town, the train to the Mer de Glace and of course, Mont Blanc! There is also the most spectacular view of Mont Blanc from the hotel pool and outside bar area - truely breathtaking!
I would stay here again but just wish that the rooms were a little bit more luxurious!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get a room facing Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_b_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    451
    139
    38
    16
See reviews for
219
520
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A 10 minute walk from chamonix center..absolutely no complaints with this hotel.

Stayed 1 night at this hotel.

Seems like the hotel is new and the rooms are very very new and/or well taken care off.

Front desk staff were excellent and friendly. Rooms are a comfortable size.

Didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel so can't comment.

Great choice of tv channels which was a relief for us as we stayed at another hotel nearby and had a very bad selection of channels during our 4 day stay in Chamonix..

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone. 2 thumbs up!

I booked this hotel through agoda.com

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Chamonix. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,
Vincent GALOCHE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent few days in the this hotel, http://www.aiglons.com/fr/, and we had an excellent time. The staff is extremely professional while very friendly. The restaurant is really good, refine and tasty food. The view on the Mont-Blanc when spending time in the swimming pool or eating on the terrace is stoning. We strongly recommend this modern furnished hotel, especially a room facing the Mont-Blanc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Mont-Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lajulieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Lajulie,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Chamonix and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a terrific stay at this hotel near the cable car. The staff were extremely helpful, spoke excellent English, helped us in every way we asked. We had massages at the spa which were very specialized (deep tissue sports massages) and very good. Our room had an excellent view of the mountains and we were just a short walk from the town center. Great value hotel. Yummy breakfast (especially the made to order crepes!!) too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your nice review!

It will be a great pleasure to share these comments with the entire team!

We do hope to welcome you back soon for a new relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Hôtel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhyl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in August and from the moment we walked into the reception area we knew we'd made the right choice, the hotel is of a very high standard, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Our balcony had the most stunning view of Mont Blanc. We didn't eat at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa was lovely as was the swimming pool but the pool area is fairly small and it was difficult to get a lounger there late afternoon. There is a free car park opposite the hotel but it was full most of the time. The hotel is very well situated for the local free busses and is only a short (5minute) walk to the town centre. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great position not far from the main road as you arrive in Chamonix so easy to find if you're on a late flight and it's an easy to walk to the main street for restaurants and bars. There's a free car park across from hotel and it's usually easy to get a spot on the street nearby if that's full. Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful and the rooms looking down the valley are worth paying extra for if, like us, you can't sleep with road noise. Breakfast has a good choice for a French hotel of this rating and a bonus for the summer are the outside tables in the sun with a view to die for. The public areas are trendy and the bar is a lovely cosy apres ski spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Like every year we travelled to the French Alps with our sportscars and stayed for one night at the Les Aiglons. The reception staff is really kind and helpful. The room is clean and has good equipement. I have had one to the street and was sleeping with open windows without problems - the traffic on the street was not really busy. The pool area was full of people around at 17 o'clock and is not so big. I did not use the various sauna. Breakfast buffet is very rich but you have to serve yourself - the waiters only remove the empty plates and glasses.

I can recommend to everybody and yes, we came again next year!

Room Tip: the room under the roof (3rd floor) are very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Patrick,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Les Aiglons Ressort and Spa.

I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback.
Be sure that your comments will be shared with the entire team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Aiglons Chamonix during a next trip in Alps.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing