We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Quite conveniently located (near the Aiguille du Midi) and professionally run, but not really up to expectations: average rooms, average atmosphere, average services. The outdoor swimming pool was heated (in February) more or less just enough for the water not to freeze, but certainly not enough to deserve the term 'heated' or to be advertised at all in the winter season. Restaurant fine but rather pricey; we preferred to eat our in the town centre or around the Aiguille du Midi. Will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    432
    129
    34
    16
See reviews for
207
498
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We picked this place because it is within walking distance to the cable car, also free parking nearby which is a bit hard to find. When we arrive on a Saturday night the nearby free parking lot was full, however the reception immediately worked something out for us. Very good. The buffet breakfast (15 EUR) is one of the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. We will definitely stay there again. The only thing to improve is the air inside the room is not that fresh as the A/C is not adjustable... may be OK for winter seasons.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedBerks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

If anyone has a Glocals deal its worth every Euro !!! You get what it says with no quibble. If you only bought for one night go early on your check in day. There is so much to see and do I didn't have enough time, even though I stayed two nights !!! I so wished I had bought more vouchers !!! My room
had view's of the pool and Mont Blanc which was breath taking, seeing it so close for the first time. Free drink was very alcoholic although it tasted wonderfully like a fruit drink !!! I chose the white (free bottle) wine, which was very nice. Dinner was delicious (I had doe !!!) melt in the mouth. Only ate dinner the first night as had very late lunch the following day. Breakfast was huge with so so many choices, so please ignore the review where it's suggested you go out to eat. You'd pay more just for the coffee I drank !!! Train up to Glacier €27.50 is scary if you don't like heights like me, but having kept my eyes shut on the way up had them open on the way down and the views are wonderful. When staying at hotel you get a free bus and local train pass which is fab to just hop on and off. When taking train just be aware when it returns as it has a few long breaks on return journeys. Tourist office is soooo helpful. Swimming outside in heated pool with views of Mont Blanc is awesome !!! To sum up --- room was big - comfy bed - no noise - food great - staff all helpful and speaking English. Free parking opposite hotel although with voucher it's free in hotel car park. A fabulous restful weekend. Thank you to everyone who made that possible

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBJBBedBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Les Aiglons for three nights and very much enjoyed it. Everything was bright and clean and everywhere there were spectacular views of Mont Blanc. The staff, especially Miguel, were friendly and were very helpful to us in making the most of our stay in Chamonix. The location is excellent. We really enjoyed a delicious dinner one night and the wonderful breakfast every morning. We loved this hotel and Chamonix!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have balconies with mountain views, but some may be better than others. If a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrdrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed there one night in a Standard double room. The room is OK, simply furnished but pleasant, the beathroom small but nice. The WC is not wonderful... Service is very good. Private parking costs 10 euros per night! No other parking avilable at the hotel, but a parking place just in front of it.
Hotel is OK, good price but the decoration is closer to a Novotel or a Mercure.
The restaurant presents an excellent cuisine for a very good price.
This place is agood compromise if you want to stay in a comfortable place (offering good cuisine, bar lounge, swimming pool hammam and sauna) and not spend too much.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms 1st floor just above the restaurant... early morning you hear the chairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked Hotel Les Aiglons for a short break in Chamonix during our honeymoon. We drove from Geneva to Chamonix and the hotel was very easy to find off the main road. Having driven to Chamonix we initially struggled to find parking for the hotel. There was a public car park opposite the hotel which was constantly full so the hotel allowed us to leave our car in one of the few restaurant reserved parking spaces.
The hotel itself was modern with a great lobby space and outside restaurant and bar. The rooms were nice but maybe a little bit basic. The decor was very plain and when compared with the modern lobby this was a bit of a let down. There was also no air con in the room which meant that the room was boiling at night.
Having had this little moan, the hotel's location was perfect. Very close to town, the train to the Mer de Glace and of course, Mont Blanc! There is also the most spectacular view of Mont Blanc from the hotel pool and outside bar area - truely breathtaking!
I would stay here again but just wish that the rooms were a little bit more luxurious!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get a room facing Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_b_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
259 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

A 10 minute walk from chamonix center..absolutely no complaints with this hotel.

Stayed 1 night at this hotel.

Seems like the hotel is new and the rooms are very very new and/or well taken care off.

Front desk staff were excellent and friendly. Rooms are a comfortable size.

Didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel so can't comment.

Great choice of tv channels which was a relief for us as we stayed at another hotel nearby and had a very bad selection of channels during our 4 day stay in Chamonix..

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone. 2 thumbs up!

I booked this hotel through agoda.com

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Chamonix. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,
Vincent GALOCHE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing