We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It comes as a surprise to me that this hotel got so many positive trip advisor reviews. Aside from its location next to the ski bus, the hotel isn't up to par with a 4-star Standard. I would give it maximum 2 stars. My first complaint is the shag carpets in the room. It was so hard to sleep, because of the dust from the carpets, which have probably been the same for 30 years. Secondly, there is no temperature control in the room and it was hot like a sauna, despite it being mid January. As there is no sliding door to the balcony, it's almost impossible to keep the balcony door open, unless one would like to sleep with no blinds. On that note, there isn't even a proper blackout blind and just an old drape which barely covers the full window. To all skiers out there, I wasn't impressed with the Ski Shop and opted to rent skis elsewhere down the road. In essence, i've travelled all over the world and this is probably one of the worst properties I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: I was facing the pool, as I thought this would eliminate road noise, but in fact this was a terrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for this view and for your frank comments.

They are very valuable and we urge us to always listen to our customers.

We sincerely seek your comfort and tranquility.

Please know that we are really sorry that your stay at Les Aiglons wasn’t what you were expected.

Your comments asking us lots of vigilance, we'd love to have the chance to welcome you again to make you love this beautiful place.


Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel on all counts. Rooms were modern and very clean and ours had a fabulous view over the mountains. Pool and spa were great and during the day were pretty much empty (but gets full once the skiers returned from the slopes). Food excellent. Breakfast had lots of very good quality food with lots of choice and dinner was excellent every night. We were half board bit the set menu was only 31 Euros for 3 courses which you will struggle to beat anywhere in Chamonix. Every single member of staff were polite (even when I attempted to use my very poor French) and even though they seemed to be training new staff they always tried their best.
Would definitely return to the hotel .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bmelly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent modern hotel. Room was great (if a little noisy on a Saturday night) and staff were fantastic, always friendly and keen to assist in any way possible. Restaurant was excellent with a great menu. Only visited the spa once, which was busy at the end of a day's skiing with families making the most of the pool and hot tub. Only downside was the cold and unwelcoming bar which was expensive and there were better (and cheaper) options to be found close by. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Get a room over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanm632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

One of the best hotel / good value for money i've been to.
Service is excellent, rooms are modern, comfortable and clean.
Restaurant is exceptional (especially at this price).
Location is also good (10-15 mins walk from the city centre)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A most charming and helpful reception to the hotel. We were shown the room before confirming our acceptance, which I found refreshing. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and having a balcony was delightful. Regrettably we did not dine in the restaurant and chose a rather unpleasant local eatery around the corner. One of the best nights sleep we have ever had in a hotel.

Breakfast was superb with a vast choice to suit every international taste. A first rate hotel on the edge of town with good access to all amenities - fabulous during the winter sports season and i expect would be equally as great at any other time of year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I only visited the spa, did not stay in the hotel.

The spa amenities were fantastic. The steam room was great, the outdoor pool is fantastic with the view of the mountains in the background, and the sauna was very nice. I also got a massage and it was just okay - nothing to write home about. But it was just what I wanted after 3 long days of skiing. They were able to fit my friend and I in same-day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Booked a junior suite for our family of four. Was a king size and a seperate room with 2 singles. Rooms were warm and carpeted. And bedding was off good quality. We were extremely happy they accepted pets at no extra charge and didn't blink at the fact I had two huge dogs. They came daily and hoovered the carpets. Although the walls were retro looking with the shag pile carpet it made the place feel cosy. The communal areas were super modern and welcoming.The only downside was the breakfast although they had a huge selection on offer. The continental was excellent but the cooked was not to my taste. The heated outdoor pool, jacuzzi, hammanam and sauna made my evening. I must say the hotel was super thoughtful to the families with children and made them feel welcome even accepting them in the spa with packages from age 6. I loved my stay so much I will be returning .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank misscassiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £72 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing