We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of January. The hotel was fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, they organised our lift passes, snowboard hire, and anything else we asked for.
The location is just across from the main bus stop in Chamonix Sud making getting to the slopes really easy. It's just a few minutes on foot to town so we couldn't have stayed in a more convenient place.
After a day riding we headed to the spa to the outdoor jacuzzi and sauna. Perfect.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    435
    130
    34
    16
See reviews for
209
501
40
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I can't say anything about the hotel nor the rooms but the spa offered a subpar experience. Super tiny locker rooms without any seats or a place to put your clothes on. The lockers are small so you shouldn't bring too much stuff with you. The spa had an outside hot tub, a small pool and 2 saunas (one regular & Turkish bath). The sauna was okay but the Turkish bath was a big disappointment: it was hardly warm inside (~40C), a part of ceramic tiles had fallen off and you could smell the sweat rather than eucalyptus. I didn't bother visiting the relaxation area where they had the extra services but I heard the free coffee there was good ;) I wouldn't recommend visiting this hotel just for the spa. The entry fee was 16€/person.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It comes as a surprise to me that this hotel got so many positive trip advisor reviews. Aside from its location next to the ski bus, the hotel isn't up to par with a 4-star Standard. I would give it maximum 2 stars. My first complaint is the shag carpets in the room. It was so hard to sleep, because of the dust from the carpets, which have probably been the same for 30 years. Secondly, there is no temperature control in the room and it was hot like a sauna, despite it being mid January. As there is no sliding door to the balcony, it's almost impossible to keep the balcony door open, unless one would like to sleep with no blinds. On that note, there isn't even a proper blackout blind and just an old drape which barely covers the full window. To all skiers out there, I wasn't impressed with the Ski Shop and opted to rent skis elsewhere down the road. In essence, i've travelled all over the world and this is probably one of the worst properties I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: I was facing the pool, as I thought this would eliminate road noise, but in fact this was a terrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for this view and for your frank comments.

They are very valuable and we urge us to always listen to our customers.

We sincerely seek your comfort and tranquility.

Please know that we are really sorry that your stay at Les Aiglons wasn’t what you were expected.

Your comments asking us lots of vigilance, we'd love to have the chance to welcome you again to make you love this beautiful place.


Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel on all counts. Rooms were modern and very clean and ours had a fabulous view over the mountains. Pool and spa were great and during the day were pretty much empty (but gets full once the skiers returned from the slopes). Food excellent. Breakfast had lots of very good quality food with lots of choice and dinner was excellent every night. We were half board bit the set menu was only 31 Euros for 3 courses which you will struggle to beat anywhere in Chamonix. Every single member of staff were polite (even when I attempted to use my very poor French) and even though they seemed to be training new staff they always tried their best.
Would definitely return to the hotel .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bmelly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent modern hotel. Room was great (if a little noisy on a Saturday night) and staff were fantastic, always friendly and keen to assist in any way possible. Restaurant was excellent with a great menu. Only visited the spa once, which was busy at the end of a day's skiing with families making the most of the pool and hot tub. Only downside was the cold and unwelcoming bar which was expensive and there were better (and cheaper) options to be found close by. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Get a room over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanm632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

One of the best hotel / good value for money i've been to.
Service is excellent, rooms are modern, comfortable and clean.
Restaurant is exceptional (especially at this price).
Location is also good (10-15 mins walk from the city centre)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A most charming and helpful reception to the hotel. We were shown the room before confirming our acceptance, which I found refreshing. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and having a balcony was delightful. Regrettably we did not dine in the restaurant and chose a rather unpleasant local eatery around the corner. One of the best nights sleep we have ever had in a hotel.

Breakfast was superb with a vast choice to suit every international taste. A first rate hotel on the edge of town with good access to all amenities - fabulous during the winter sports season and i expect would be equally as great at any other time of year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing