We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would love to go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Would love to go again”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

as part of our last leg in the France trip spent 3 nights at this lovely aparthotel. the location of the property is great in that it is very close to the city centre, yet off the main hustle bustle. the views (do opt for the Mont Blanc view) were awesome. the staff was very friendly, the appliances in the kitchen were more than adequate. would surely stay here on my next visit. (the welcome and informtion kit was very helpful)

Room Tip: do take the rooms with the Mont Blanc View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gparija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    115
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
165
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

You cant beat the value or location in Chamonix, nor the views. Our apartment (5th floor studio), was clean and spacious. I have to agree with other reviewers that I shared the frustration of no mirrors outside the bathroom and no plug in the bathroom for a decent hair dryer - although I've found this to be a problem often in Europe so I was willing to overlook it. The staff was very friendly and helpful, I would highly recommend the Balcons.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I went here last week, the hotel is excellent - very well furnished, very well maintained, excellent staff, very friendly - they even let us check in three hours early. This hotel has the best view in Chamonix. We loved the place and wouldn't stay anywhere else if we went back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rima_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We loved this place. Les Balcons Du Savoy essentially offers self catering accomodation. We booked an appartment which had a main bedroom, Bathroom with seperate toilet, (always a good thing with a family), a second room with two single beds made from the couch and a small kitchen with all the neccessary crockery and cutlery, a kettle, refrigerator and convection microwave oven.

The room, and from what I can tell, all the rooms have a fantastic view of the little town and Mont Blanc. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. You can order breakfast which is well priced French standards, and consists of the normal continental breakfast.

Washing machines and Tumble dryers are avaiable in the basement, they cost 5 euro each to use, and in honesty have seen better days.

The hotel is not flash, but it does offer a comfortable home from home at a reasonable price. For famillies with rambunctious children it is ideal. There is a heated pool, (would have preffered it to be warmer), and a steam room that could have been hotter. Being early spring the hotel was not busy so maybe all works more efficiently then. The hotel offers free wifi. (Pronounced wify in France!)

The Hotel has a large free parking garage, and offers free ski storage if you are so inclined.

I still give this an excellent, but this depends on what you are looking for. If you want a self catering appartment, with space and place for the kids to run around, and a view to die for, then you will love this place. We will be back, somehow, sometime.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I booked this place well in advance,and checked out the apartments,which seemed good. But on arrival I found some previous person had been sick in the toilet,and was dried in and on the wall,not cleaned ,or had not been noticed!! No mirror to do your make.I booked this as it had a pool and steam room,the steam did not work for the 4 days,lost count of the times I asked for it to be fixed,the pool is very cold,some of the sockets did not work in flat,and no comfortable seats. The view is beautiful,and the place very central,the boys enjoyed the pool room,but it certainly needs some upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is well located for access to the pistes and town and when the weather is good the view is stunning (potentially one of the best located hotels in Chamonix for a view of Mont Blanc.) The facilities - pool and sauna make for a pleasant package and the wide selection of good restaurants in Chamonix make self catering very easy. The breakfast provided by the hotel is pretty basic and expensive for what it is - I also did not appreciate that no one was on hand to clear away from previous guests - I recommend preparing your own in your appt and taking advantage of the vienoisseries delivery service. I found the apartment rather functional and the lack of seating space in the living area (1 convertible sofa in an appt sleeping 8) somewhat limiting. Globally a pleasant stay in a well located residence - a shame the comfort in the apartments doesn't match the welcoming decor of the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildatheart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms too are really nice very spacious and well equipped apart from the double bed it was a pull out sofa bed and no mirrors so for us girls not good. Nowhere to blow and straighten our hair DISASTER! It was difficult but I did eventually get a mirror from reception! Also for 4* I expected a little service the bedding and the towels was never changed and if I had known that I would never booked,

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bongo3028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#21 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Property: Les Balcons Du Savoy
Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing