We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is a great place for location,the easiest way to get to the main lift is to go to the back of the hotel,take a 2 min walk to the drag lift,once you get to the top you can board/ski half way down and you will see the main lift on the right hand side,it is a lot quicker than walking down the street then up a big hill,also the balcons in just off the main road where there is a plethora of places to eat.i would rather stay here than stay in a hotel room,there's 1 main bed room with two single beds and a front room with a couch,tv and table.the couch can be turned into 2 single mattresses,and the quilt and pillows are in a cupboard,the toilet is just in a small room and the bathroom has a big mirror and a bath with a shower in it.the staff are very helpful,if you need new towels just take the old ones to them.we were on the bottom floor near the pool,it still had a great view of Mont Blanc.the pool was good,maybe not of perfect temperature,but you wouldn't say it was cold.my friend who is doing a season stayed a couple of nights and he said there are better 4 stars in chamonix,but for 3 guys it was perfect and we also got a great deal so we had no complaints,you can also book for a massage in the hotel,I am not sure how much it is.i would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123abcBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    115
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
165
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The apartment was tiny though advertised as large enough for six people. If we had six people (two in the living room on the pull out sofa) we would have had to walk over each other!

The WiFi didnt work in our apartment -- when I called the desk to complain, they said "WiFi goes down when too many people access it. In any case it is free"

FREE? For EUR500 a day when you advertise wifi, you had better make sure it works! The staff are unhelpful and rarely even move from their chairs in the accounting area which is next to the reception. If you ask them for any advice or help, it's almost as if you are bothering them!

Our main bathroom was leaking so the water leaked out into the bedroom. We called the management (Ms. Elsa) to complain, and she popped in to have a look, promised to take care of it the next day as it was late that evening, and the next day... the towel to soak up the leak was still on the bedroom floor, so clearly she had done nothing about it!

The apartment is far from every ski slope except the Savoy and no one seems to have any idea of how to get around the town. The town center is a 10 min walk away and there is no food available right outside the apartment. The Chamonix town management does not bother to ice the sidewalks -- as a result getting to the bus in your ski boots and with your gear is a life-threatening exercise and much more dangerous than the actual skiing!

The ski rental that the hotel has tied up with is overpriced and in the town center -- not near where you are going skiing. You are much better off hiring your equipment at the store near your ski slope so that you can keep your equipment in the lockers there and not have to lug the skis and boots around everyday on the bus. But the hotel does not tell you that! They should send you to a rental that is easier on you rather than a rental they have tied up with.

For an apartment of this price, washers and dryers should be inside the apartment -- instead Balcons charges you EUR5 + EUR5 for use of the washer and dryer in their laundry room. Very basic toileteries in the bathroom (cheap shampoo satchets) for a EUR500/night apartment!

Tiny kitchen with tiny minibar sized fridge.

That said Chamonix is a lovely town -- just hard on skiiers esp beginners. And the Balcons du Savoy? A rip off for what they charge and the staff do nothing to make your life easier! The only two staff members who seem to care for the hotel guests are Antoine and Maria -- the rest are too busy doing their accounting work or surfing the internet in the office area!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spoleto, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We spent two nights at Les Balcons du Savoy in October 2013. The apartment was well appointed, tidy and comfortable. Access through the field below the hotel made getting to/from Chamonix town a very easy walk. The view from our balcony of the Mont Blanc was superb. The property also offered secure underground parking which was a bonus. We also went to the villages of Megeve & Saint-Gervais-les-Bains which are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great service. The reception is extremely helpful. Our son was sick and a guy at the reception desk helped us to find an english speaking doctor who check my son without any prior appointment. All staff members were very helpful and nice. 1st class! Now the bitter bits. The accommodation is not 4 star. If you compare it with LesArcs 1950 which is not as expensive as balcons, LesArcs is superior. The size of the bathroom and the kitchen was of a size of a lift in apartment block of flats from 50'. The kitchen could be better equipped but I would say it was adequate. The rooms were small (too small for the price we have paid). The rooms were not cleaned during a stay (for 6 days stay I would expect one change of sheets and towels and one cleaning). I was charged for the final cleaning. When you pay more than 600 Euro per night you do not expect that. That is cheap (mean for the US readers). The swimming pool and other facilities are great. Location is fantastic. You really have 5 minutes on foot to the center of Chamonix and maximum of 10 minutes to every top restaurant. Another thing was internet. Actually the proper sentence should be "there was no internet". If one advertises internet, you expect one. There was either none or the speed was not enough to download anything. Overall try to get rooms on high floors. The view is better. Overall the experience was good but the value for money was not.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We gambled on a trip here in low (Ski) season. We were fortunate enough to experience more than a 80cm of fresh powder over the three day break. We leased a car and were able to easily connect to Courmayeur, Italy for day one and then Les Houches, France nearby for the remaining days.

The apartment had a balcony with unrestricted views of the mountain range and ran the length of the apartment. The apartment comes with an undercover car parking space which leads directly into the boot room and into the residence. The residence is a short walk from the town centre and has a number of quaint restaurants scattered along the way. Buses from the centre run to the local ski fields.

The spa was being refurbished during our stay so I cannot comment on this, but there is one.

The location was fabulous and the setting idyllic. I would highly recommend this hotel if you wish for the full Alpes experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCumming1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Les Balcons Du Savoy was the perfect choice for my wife and I and the 2 other couples we were travelling with. Easy stroll through a field to the centre of Chamonix. The 2 bedroom apartments were spacious and well set out and decorated if in a slightly tired and a bit of a rustic manner. Underground secure car parking was an added bonus.The views of the Mont Blanc Massif were absolutely amazing. This a truly beautiful part of the world. It was our second visit and I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepMoving_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BISHOP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent two nights at Les Balcons du Savoy in the quiet off-season and the 1 BR apartment was well appointed, tidy, and perfect for getting over jet lag and relaxing before touring around the nearby Swiss Alps. Our son enjoyed sleeping in the trundle bed and our bedroom had very nice quality linens. The walk through the field below the property made getting to/from Chamonix town very easy. The view from our balcony of the Midi du Aguille was priceless, and the manager Inga was very helpful and kind. It was really nice to be able to self-cater with such a nice quality kitchen. I am looking forward to coming back one day.

Room Tip: Are there balconies with bad views here? Hard to imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#21 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Property: Les Balcons Du Savoy
Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing