We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel and general neighbourhood review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hotel and general neighbourhood review”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were 3 women travelling to Chamonix. We reached the hotel via Chamexpress car.The car dropped up in front of the hotel.This hotel is near about 15 minutes walk from the train station.The train station also is the place from where all the buses to different points of interest leave.

There are some very good budget restaurants and cake/bread shops near by within 5 minutes walk. We visited 'The Petite Kicthen' which is recommended by the trip advisor.This place is really very good as mentioned in the trip advisor.The train station is not at all intimidating like the one in Paris. We stayed in a studio apartment with kitchen facility. The room was very good with a stunning mountain view.You can buy groceries from nearby supermarket and cook your meal as the room is equipped with microwave, all utensils, fridge, dishwasher etc. They also provided breakfast, massage service etc. You can also leave your luggage with the hotel after you checkout free of cost. You can collect your luggage later during the day when you may be ready to more on to a new place during your journey.

People in Chamonix are very helpful.They will help you with directions.You will need to learn some basic french words because not everyone in this valley may know English.

Our room had bed for 2 people.The only thing that I feel could have been better was the third bed that was provided to us.Unfortunately it was not at all strong. We were afraid that it would break anytime at night.Unfortunately we were not able to communicate this to the hotel as we had a very tight itinerary.

But we would definitely visit this very hotel again because we liked all the other possibilities and facilities this hotel could offer.Plus it is budget friendly.

Chamonix is definitely a place to visit if you are going to France.It is a quiet place as compared to the cities. It is not at all intimidating option if you prefer vegetarian food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuckoo1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    117
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Strongly recommend.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are large and well equipped.

The views.... you don't need the TV because the view of the mountains and of the quiet but busy Chamonix is stunning.

Just got hometown the UK, most of this morning was spent on the huge balcony looking at the view, which had turned white overnight :)

Great place and right on the slopes

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I booked this on line for two nights and got a great deal. We arrived mid afternoon to be greeted by lovely staff. We were given an upgrade because they were not busy, from a studio to a one bedroom apartment. Wow!! It was a fantastic apartment!! We overlooked the mountains and as the rain clouds cleared we thought we were in heaven!! Stunning, stunning!! Our apartment was great. Very comfortable and cosy. Plenty of space. Great kitchen. Nice to be able to cook for ourselves for a couple of nights. We loved it there so much that after 2 nights in Annecy we went back to Les Balcons again for another two nights - taking our son who is studying for 4 months in Lyon. We all took the trip up on the Aiguille du Midi cable car - not to be missed. Would go back to stay again without any hesitation!!!! Wonderful!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staff is very helpful! Apartments spacious and with an unparalleled view! Every detail has been taken care for you( for example, detailed cutlery). Warm ambiance and cosy style. You can arrange to buy your groceries from the nearby supermarket and prepare your own food. You will have all the equipment necessary at your disposal.

Room Tip: Book the apartment for four. The one for 2 is too small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna-Stelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wonderful hotel, very helpful staff.
The apartment has a magnificent 1 Million view and a large balcony (Du Savoy :-)) for both, living room and bedroom.
The bathroom is large and elegant, the kitchen is equipped with everything you need, including
refrigerator, oven, dishes.
The Parking is in the basement so, your car is safe, waiting for you.

Beautiful place !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for three days in early October and on arrival were pleased to find that they had upgraded us to a one bedroom apartment. The views of the mountains from our large balcony were lovely and the accommodation provided everything we needed including a small but perfectly functional kitchen. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful, offering useful advice on where to go and what to see during our short stay. This is rated as four star accommodation and the standard of the décor was good; some of the furniture was looking a little tired but wood can dent easily and we saw this as being part of the hotel's overall Alpine charm. The swimming pool was a bonus. We'd definitely go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights.....the location would have to be the best as far as the views go.....we looked directly out over the town & the Mont Blanc!....we enjoyed watching the para gliders landing yesterday on the field below us!....we didn't have a car, but found it an easy walk into the town...about 5 minutes!....the apartment was adequate...bed firm but comfortable...pillows lumpy, need updating!....kitchen utensils & cookware adequate....we enjoyed being able to cook our meals....coffee maker should be supplied with filters...asked for a few from reception...I think a few little things could be improved on....ie; enough supplies such as toilet rolls, tissues, coffee, tea, sugar would be appreciated...we had to buy everything.....we are used to staying at places where these little things are supplied......the young man on reception helpful...printed out tickets for us....staff spoke English too, which is a help....actually we found most people in the shops spoke good English as well....Our French is limited, so it was lovely to be understood, & were very accommodating!......would stay here again.....

Room Tip: Ask for coffee filters.....extra pillows in lounge cupboards!....had to hunt!....ask for balcony fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou100957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#20 of 73 in Chamonix
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Property: Les Balcons Du Savoy
Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing