We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ski location. Great apartment complex with pool and breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed here for a week's skiing with two young children. Location couldn't be better - right by the ski school, and, for the adults, a button lift taking you up to the gondola and all Chamonix's ski runs. Also just 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Apartment had two bedrooms, sitting room, well-equipped kitchenette, bathroom, loo and spacious hallway to stick all our kit. Loads of cupboard space. Kitchen and furniture looking a bit battered, but all nice and clean. Fantastic view out of the window on to Mont Blanc - great sunsets. Apartment building has lovely, big indoor pool and mini-spa, you can eat breakfast downstairs or order your baguettes, croissants to be delivered for you at breakfast time. My husband's back went, and the hotel arranged an osteopath for him. We'll be returning next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pogleswood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2009

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, location was great, five minute walk to town and next to some small slopes. Chamonix was covered in snow which made it even more beautiful. Staff were friendly, apratment was huge with two balconies facing the mountains. Very clean and cosy. Hotel was well maintained. Swimming pool closed when we visited - only downside.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayleybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here on a family ski holiday and it was absolutely perfect. Right next to the beginner slopes with the apartment facing the mountains and a lovely little pool inside the hotel for after skiing. The underground car park was really good too and I would recommend that anyone staying in Chamonix hires a car as there is a lot of trudging around if you want to ski on the other lifts.

The apartment was extremely comfortable generally, although the extra pull out beds in the living room may not be comfortable for adults.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank localUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I have just returned from spending a week at this hotel. Over the last ten years i've stayed at various 2/3 star hotels in skiing resorts across Europe. This year we decided to push the boat out and spend a little more on a 4 star hotel. Sadly we were disappointed that we could tell little difference from any of the 2/3 star hotels we have stayed at previously.

Starting with the negatives, the room was very small. Granted we were staying in a studio, however you could hardly stand up in parts of the room as the ceiling height was so low. The room was booked for 3 people however only 2 beds were present on arrival. The sofa bed was adequate but the pull out bed from underneath was simply a fold up camp bed. When the 3rd bed arrived this was also a fold up camp bed. Not great, not 4 star!

If you happen to be less than 5ft in height then you won't have a problem standing up in the bath. Any taller than this then a shower is just about impossible. The roof in the bathroom was far too low on one side which covered the bath. The shower didn't work properly anyway and hence we took our showers everyday in the swimming pool changing rooms. We were staying on the 5th floor and had to take the lift to the lower ground floor to use the shower. Again this really isn't acceptable from a 4 star hotel.

Now for the positives. The view is great over the Chamonix valley and the bottom of the Brevent slopes. The self catering facilities are more than adequate. The distance from the centre of town is fine. The hotel staff are always on hand to offer advice/book trips and are very helpful. The TV and DVD player are fairly new with a good choice of channels. The swimming pool and steam room are great to relax in after a day skiing.

I will recommend two restaurants in the resort. Tigre Tigre is a great value indian restaurant. The food was superb! Also Le Bartavel is just set back from the main street opposite the post office. We ended up spending three evenings in this place as it was just fantastic. It does a mixture of French/Italian food at reasonable prices. Excellant service and you don't pay too much over the odds for wine.

We enjoyed our week in Chamonix, the sking was fantastic, the restaurants surprisingly good value (even with the rubbish exchange rate) but the hotel just didn't live up to the 4 star hotel it claims to be.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul80London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Have stayed here a couple of times. The first time, I had a ground floor apartment with a beautiful view of the grassy area in front (with occasional paraglider landings) and Mont Blanc. Second time, off season, the apartment was at the side of the building, which seemed rather a pity as apartments at the front plainly weren't occupied. I think this had an effect on my overall experience.

Extremely nice staff, and conveniently situated- it's about 15 mins walk to the train station. Everything is clean and well looked after, including the very nice pool downstairs.

The downside, at least on my last visit, was the sparseness of the apartment. I felt like I was in a cavernous empty space. It also seemed very odd that there was all this empty space and yet the bed was an -uncomfortable- single sofa bed that had to be made up. This may have been an anomaly because I don't recall this being the case on my first visit.

But combined with the poor bed, a lack of comfortable chairs. I ended up thinking, I'd rather be in a tiny hotel room with some comfort rather than this giant space with nothing in it. Certainly on that visit, I felt the room didn't merit a 4* rating.

Perhaps the room location makes all the difference- certainly I have very pleasant memories of my first trip (2005), waking to a sunlight room with Mont Blanc in the foreground.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ejoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

This is the third time we stayed at these apartments. The location is fantastic but we have noticed a decline in cleanliness and maintenance this year. The internet, washing machine and childrens games room were all 'down' for the whole week we were there with not much explanation for the problem. The large three bedroom apartment is great but was not very clean and kitchen items were dirty. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liveitupnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

The purpose of my trip to Chamonix was a romantic getaway with the stunning Alps as scenery. With this hotel I got to accomplish all of that. In fact, we stayed in an apartment, so we had a spacious room; big living room with lcd tv and free dvds to order at the reception; small but fully equipped kitchen (fridge, oven, coffee maker, tea boiler, cutlery, plates, cleaning soap); modern wc facilities, great heating system and AMAZING views to the Mont Blanc. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool. It is 5 minute walking to the main streets of Chamonix, with easy access. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I found the stay was not expensive at all, and it was exactly what we were looking for: that is a place to stay, not only to sleep in, but to enjoy it, to cook there, to seat in the sofa in the living room with the big balcony facing the great views. I vividly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank joanadecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
861 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
311 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £93 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing