We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, excellent rooms, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday. We were able to spend two nights here, and we loved this place! Our apartment had a bedroom, toilet room, shower room, living room, and kitchen, and a huge balcony. and the views of the mountains were spectacular! The staff were friendly (I had to email them a couple of times prior to our arrival to sort out some details and they responded promptly and courteously) and spoke English to my husband, who knows no French. There was free, easy-to-use wireless internet, and free DVDs available from the reception for rainy days (there is a DVD player in the rooms). They provided maps of the town and we were able to purchase tickets to local attractions directly from the reception to avoid standing in lines. All in all, this place was amazing, and I really really hope to go back here someday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhamianinhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Les Balcons Du Savoy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

We had a superb time in this property, good view of the Mont Blanc from our room, had booked a 2 room apt with a kitchen, good location, about 10 mins walk from the main centre of the city, and 15 mins walk to the aguile du midi, will again go there but in the month of december to ski hopefully.

Sanjay Wadhwa ( Mumbai )

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

View from rooms simply stunning! Location could not be better. Literally on baby ski slope and 3 minute stroll to town centre. Cosy and warm. Pool and steam room great. Reception staff great at helping with restaurant recommendations and booking. Sleighs left in reception for children to use. Reception area cosy and homely. Little overpriced in winter season obviously due to location. Would saying that, not stay anywhere else in Chamonix!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjkmseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed for 5 nights with husband & 3 teenagers in a 2 bedroomed apartment on the second floor. View as everyone has commented on, was absolutely spectacular! The balconies are great. Apartments were a little dated and rundown. Kitchen was small but very well equipped and you can save a fortune by eating in.(and eating very well as we did ) The local supermarket, patisseries, lots of good food sources are a few minutes walk away. There is absolutely nothing supplied in the apartment so as soon as you arrive you must hit the supermarket!! (Perhaps it would be nice to have a few basics supplied when you arrive) You can borrow a fondue set from reception and cook your own which was fun! Our children also enjoyed the pool and games room. And of course the ski in, ski out access was convenient. The staff were helpful with lift tickets,lesson information etc!!
In summary, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again even if we were initially disappointed by the not 4 star apartments!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marshfamnswAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

1. The location is absolute if you want to be on the snow. The biggest bunny slope area in Chamonix is the savoy paddock (i.e., "champ du savoy" in French). This hotel is RIGHT ON the bunny slope, specifically at the bottom of it.

Note that there is even a MAGIC CARPET for youngsters. (Indeed the magic carpet is even FREE, supplied by the helpful politicians of Chamonix, you do NOT even need to get a lift ticket if your small children will be using only the magic carpet.) There is also a good sled mound, general snowman-making area, etc., all immediately below the balconies of the hotel.

Thus, one parent can sit on the balcony and video tape the other parent and the kids, no problem. For skilled skiers the normal lifts begin 50 yards away (ie, on the other side of the bunny slope).

2. The staff here are really exceptionally friendly and helpful - great stuff.

3. These are "apartments" -- they have a small equipped older kitchen. You do get all linen/towels. You have to do your OWN laundry and cleaning. (There's a vacuum.) The room is NOT cleaned every day. The sheets are NOT changed every day (they are changed once a week, if you stay a long time). Everyone pays a moderate (50 euros?) cleaning fee added on at the end of the stay for final clean up.

There is NO DINING ROOM, NO BREAKFAST ROOM whatsoever in the building. (You can order a kit breakfast in your room, but that's it.) There is no room service whatsoever. The hotel does not supply any food or drink whatsoever (other than the kit breakfasts you can order sent to your room.)

4. There are acres of underground parking, under this large building. The ramp down to the parking is even heated so it does not get icy. Ultra-convenient. Naturally you just park yourself. You move your own luggage. There is a collection of free, uh, old supermarket shopping trolleys you are welcome to use to move your luggage. Park out the front of the main entrance to the hotel while you check in, they will then give you the car park key.

5. Just like at a hotel, the front desk is manned 24 hours a day: you can arrive any time at all and check in normally, just like at a hotel. It's not like dealing with a gite. The staff were incredibly helpful with enquiries over email. The staff are wildly helpful here, it's nuts! Amazing staff!

6. The location in regards to the town, it is just outside of (say, four or five blocks away from) the main central pedestrianised bit of Chamonix. (When you arrive from the West, pass through the main town, go a few blocks further and turn left - there it is.) There are two good cheap ski rentals just on the main road (i.e. one block away) and then the good Japanese/noodle casual restaurant is another block along, and if you go another couple blocks you get to one end of the pedestrianised center of Chamonix.

So to be clear, if you want to feel like you are in the ABSOLUTE MIDDLE of town (ie, fall out of bed and start shopping / restauranting / cafeing / etc), then this is not for you. Conversely of course it is literally at the bottom of the skiing, on the bunny slope.

7. A very useful TIP: before you leave your house, throw a few essentials (INSTANT COFFEE, SUGAR, FLOUR, MILK, BUTTER, A TOILET ROLL) in a box and take it with you in the car. In this way you will be able to make a cup of coffee or a pancake while you are there at the Balcons du Savoy. Otherwise, you will spend your first two hours after arrival, going out, looking for a supermarket, and buying those items!

8. We stayed just two nights, there seems to be no problem whatsoever with short stays, even though it is more of an apartment than a hotel. It is a big structure with a hundred (more?) units/rooms.

9. There is an enormous (indoor only) swimming pool(s), sauna etc open 9AM to 9PM. There is a pile of free plastics sleds to play on the snow with, help yourself.

10. Seemingly completely free, easy to use wifi, everywhere. Things like the heating are sturdy and work perfectly. Hallway lights often not working, for some reason!

11. Finally note that this is a two star, maybe two and a half star, facility. Everything is clean, but it's just basic cheap 1970s-ish plumbing, kitchens etc with carpet squares. The name of the hotel has "four star" in it which is absurd, so don't be confused by this! It is a two or perhaps three star apart-hotel. Enjoy!!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed here with my wife and another young couple.We rented an apartment.The furniture is rather old and the maintenance of the hotel simply lacks-there were several light bullbs that were not working,a door handle was broken.The room was cleaned only once in our 7 days of staying here-we had to clean the room ourselves.
The good thing about the hotel was the view towards Aiguille du midi.The hotel is close to a ski slope for beginners.
This is a hotel where I wouldn't go unless the price reduces with 30%.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Les Balcons du Savoy in early Sept. Our ground floor apartment #005 was clean and comfortable. The english speaking staff was very helpful. We enjoyed being able to walk outside on to the lawn and watch the parasalier land nearby. What a gorgeous view of Mont Blanc and the parasailers from our unit! Parking is in the underground garage. This was good , tho our actual space was a tight and akward fit. The pool was clean and beautiful and right across the hall from our unit. Laundy facilities were down the hall the other direction. We bought food in town for breakfast , so did not eat the breakfast offered in the lobby area. This is great place to stay in Chamonix. In all we had a great experience. Lots and lots of fun things to so in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
845 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
0.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £94 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing